Humana "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Humana Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Humana CEO Bruce  D. Broussard
Bruce D. Broussard
1,451 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (48)

    "Good company for those that love to go above and beyond"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data and Reporting Professional in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Humana full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    As of 2019, pay and benefits are very competitive. Very supportive leadership in regards to work/life balance. Work at home opportunities for many positions. Lots of team work and cross functional teams. Self improvement and learning is encouraged and supported. Satisfaction with helping others.

    Cons

    (could be good for those that love challenges and problem solving): Highly regulated industry and lots of complexity in Humana's continuously evolving ecosystem. Occasionally, tight deadlines with expectations to producing accurate results.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be afraid to offer positions to remote employees outside of your state.

    Humana2019-03-04
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Director, Quality Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wic-a-te-wah, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Humana full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Positive work life balance, Excellent leadership, Competitive salary, and Autonomous work environment

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities for my clinical director role (at the time)

    Humana2019-10-28
  3. "Company's systems and processes are obsolete"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategic Account Executive in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Humana full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, decent salaries, work life balance and alternate work arrangements

    Cons

    many silos, and duplication of effort. Many leaders are clueless. Constant restructuring

    Humana2019-11-20
  4. "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Scrum Master in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Humana for less than a year

    Pros

    1: Work life balance 2: WFH options available to full time employees 3: Great culture and nice people to work with 4: Working towards innovation 5: 100% Job satisfaction

    Cons

    Not any cons that I think of right now

    Humana2019-11-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Okay company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Process Manager in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Humana

    Pros

    Great benefits and work/life balance

    Cons

    Too much secrecy across departments. Not willing to share knowledges and too protective of their own team.

    Advice to Management

    Be open about sharing knowledges

    Humana2019-10-29
  6. "Not enough patients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Care Manager 

    I have been working at Humana part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Make your own schedule. Work/Life balance.

    Cons

    Not enough patients in 1 region.

    Advice to Management

    pay for mileage

    Humana2019-10-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategy Advancement Professional 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Humana full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home, company truly does promote a good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Upper leadership cannot make up their minds about anything.

    Advice to Management

    Upper leadership needs to be better at picking a direction and moving towards it. They are all over their place with decisions, which makes it hard to accomplish anything.

    Humana2019-09-19
  8. "Pretty cool internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - IT Intern 

    I worked at Humana for less than a year

    Pros

    I learned a lot with my project and didn't feel like I was doing busy work

    Cons

    It's health care, not that fun but the work life balance is a plus

    Humana2019-09-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Humana Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Professional 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Humana full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    work-life balance teamwork promotion opportunities remote work opportunity leadership

    Cons

    turnover reorganization expensive benefits outdated processes/ policies top-heavy organization

    Humana2019-09-04
  10. "Humana 8yrs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Finance Lead in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Humana full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance and salary

    Cons

    Large company with lots of employees

    Humana2019-08-16
Found 287 reviews