KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Humana

Is this your company?

Humana

Add a Review

Humana Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 328 of over 4K reviews

4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Humana President and CEO Bruce  D. Broussard
Bruce D. Broussard
1,886 Ratings
Pros
  • "The Work from home option is wonderful(in 636 reviews)

  • "Work life balance , develop employees(in 242 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Health Insurance has high premium for employees(in 122 reviews)

  • "upper management did not always have a great attitude or patience when it came to virtual trainings(in 101 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Humana and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome employer

      Jan 16, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Charlestown, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance , develop employees

      Cons

      None, great place to work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent

      Jan 13, 2021 - Software Engineer in Green Bay, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work/life balance, employee benefits, and development opportunities

      Cons

      Huge organization which makes networking with the right people difficult at times

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great firm

      Jan 9, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very nice work ethics and good work life balance.

      Cons

      No structure set to grow accordingly. And employees have to choose their own path and motivate themselves to grow career wise

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great organization to work

      Jan 7, 2021 - Technology Lead (US) in Louisville, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, Changing with times, innovative, Challenging

      Cons

      Changing environment, Growth opportunities, Work life balance

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I have mixed feelings.

      Feb 12, 2016 - Personal Health Coach (PHC) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been extremely fortunate to have been placed on two teams that are outstanding and supportive. I have also been blessed with two outstanding Coaches and Clinical Operations Managers. I work from home, I can look ugly if I want, the worst part of the commute is a cat in the hallway. When I turn off the computer at the end of the day, work is done and that is wonderful for me. PTO is generous, my coach is flexible in working with me with school, elderly family members and my own health as long as productivity is met. Work/life balance is encouraged. Lots of health and wellness incentives.

      Cons

      I don't have many cons. But, the worst would be this: about 6 months after I started there was a distinct culture shift from quality to quantity. Upper management can deny it all they want, but that's what it is. Every position on my side of the telephonic business is having their feet held to the fire to meet incredibly high member "connects" every day, week and month. Not only that, there are elements withing those calls that are being measured as well like talk time for the day and referrals to other departments. So, if my talk time is way up and my number of contacts is down, I may have spent too much time on the phone with the members. Or if I reached a high number of members and my talk time was low my quality may come into question and my calls may be scrutinized. So, saying this you are probably thinking that I am working in customer service and need to stop whining, right?? NO! I work with members regarding their health needs, encouraging health goals, answering questions and providing resources if needed. Yeah. The goal for my day would certainly be attainable IF every person I called answered the phone. I have a coworker that made 45 calls to get only 11 successful connects for the day. They all have to be documented too btw. This doesn't include any anomalies in charts that need to be addressed and passed up the chain either. I can go on but I won't. Bottom line is quality will fall if quantity continues to be the push. All things cycle. I hope this kidney stone passes soon because it hurts like hades!

      Continue reading
      162 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Definite Pros and Cons

      Nov 16, 2020 - Senior Actuarial Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked for Humana for over 3 years, initially starting as an actuarial intern then progressing through the titles via the Actuarial Development Program. During that time I would say the main selling points were as follows: the culture, work life balance, the Actuarial Study Program, and Rotational Program. The actuarial leadership team makes a very hard attempt to not only expose you to a variety of areas, but also ensure that you have the opportunity to properly network amongst your peers at a variety of different leadership levels. Compared to the study programs I have seen, theirs is very rich and has incredibly fair guidelines. I am very thankful that I came across this company very early on in my career - for it kicked off my career as an actuary.

      Cons

      Rotational Program - yes this is a PRO as well as a CON. First of all participation in the program is required (aka non-optional), so if you are in a role that you love and you are selected by leadership to rotate, you have to do so. Secondly, while the purpose of the rotational program is to expose you to a variety of areas, that doesn't always seem to be what happens. Not only is the program extremely political amongst leadership - but some departments will keep strong talent to themselves and rotate that talent internally as opposed to opening up those positions to everyone in the company. And you have very little say about where you end up. So your best bet is to network yourself like crazy with leadership and the rotational committee to ensure you are given a decent posting. Non-Competitive Salaries - This is a very common problem in many insurance companies. Unless you are a "favorite" it does not pay to be loyal and become a "lifer." I have seen employees leave for a much higher salary, do a year at a competitor where they passed no exams, then return to Humana at that heightened salary. Personally I'd rather they simply offer more competitive salaries than make their talent quit and return to attain competitive pay. Lack of Ability to Permanently Work From Home (Pre COVID 19)- While some departments are flexible in allowing team members to work from home after an initial trial period of working in the office, not all are open to this arrangement - which in turn limits not only the opportunities available to you, but it also makes it easier to depart the company once your accreditations are complete. In this day and age, it is very easy to find a company that will support you as fully remote associate so if anything this restriction is hurting the company more than helping it. Inability to Get Promoted Without ASA Credentials - Again this is something I have seen in several insurance companies however over the past decade or so it has been a policy that has evolved in other companies but not yet Humana. The truth of the matter is if you do not attain your ASA, then regardless of the quality of your work you cannot be promoted or be compensated accordingly. It is an unfortunate rule that has been enforced for years that shows no indication of changing. Your skillset is still highly valued, but until those accreditations are attained at a minimum, you will not payed or promoted accordingly.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Wonderful place to work

      Dec 10, 2020 - Culture and Engagement Professional II in Louisville, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work/life balance Competitive pay and benefits Room for growth

      Cons

      Culture isn't strong across all departments. Some groups are better than others.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      A Great Company

      Jan 7, 2021 - Project Manager II in Louisville, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Top Level Leadership is Excellent Benefits (PTO, Work/Life Balance) Growth Opportunities

      Cons

      Large Organization (some areas you are not a priority) Health Insurance has high premium for employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Benefits

      Dec 5, 2020 - Inbound Customer Service Representative in San Juan, PR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits and personal growth. Lots of resources.

      Cons

      Management and cero work life balance.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      CAREPLUS HP IN DORAL - RUN AWAY FROM THIS PLACE

      Dec 29, 2020 - Grievance and Appeals Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work at home during Covid-19

      Cons

      Understaffed and overworked employees. Leadership will not step in to assist. They throw more and more work on employees with unrealistic timeframes. No compassion, NO WORK LIFE BALANCE AT ALLLLL.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 328 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Humana Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Humana? Share Your Experiences

    or