Hume Lake Christian Camps Reviews | Glassdoor

Hume Lake Christian Camps Reviews

Updated May 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Hume Lake Christian Camps CEO Dathan Brown
Dathan Brown
1 Ratings
  1. "Amazing First Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Hume Lake Christian Camps

      Pros

      Great First Job, Amazing Benefits

      Cons

      Hour and a half away from civilization

      Hume Lake Christian Camps2019-05-07
    • "Excellent Workplace!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Lead Hostess in Hume, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Hume Lake Christian Camps full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      On site housing, full benefits, free meals when on the clock, non judgemental environment

      Cons

      1 Hour away from nearest city, lots of snow and ice during the winter

      Hume Lake Christian Camps2019-01-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "Maintenance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Hume Lake Christian Camps full-time

      Pros

      You get a chance to see many different faces from many different churches. The beauty of the place. Management are nice overall.

      Cons

      Terrible housing if your a guy. If the idea of sleeping with 10 guys in one tiny cramped trailer doesn't scare you then go for it. Nothing that helps you get to know people. Very sexist practices against guys. 20 minute walk to breakfast if your a guy.

      Advice to Management

      Give guys and girls equal treatment. Have some get to know you events. At least move Mansville closer to the breakfast hall.

      Hume Lake Christian Camps2017-12-15
    • "Snack Shop Short-Order Cook"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Hume Lake Christian Camps full-time

      Pros

      Leadership is almost always fair and reasonable Environment couldn't be anymore stellar and beautiful Free meal occasionally

      Cons

      Shift hours can get to you Always on your feet Cohesion between team members must remain positive otherwise tasks fulfilled by dependency might suffer

      Advice to Management

      Build up team dynamic

      Hume Lake Christian Camps2017-04-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great Company!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Hume Lake Christian Camps part-time

      Pros

      Staff felt like a family, great environment

      Cons

      Charge quite a bit for summer housing & food for staff

      Hume Lake Christian Camps2017-03-14
    • Helpful (3)

      "Generally good, but not great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Hume Lake Christian Camps

      Pros

      Great community to live in. You get to see the impact of your ministry hands on.

      Cons

      Poor communication and inequity among the staff. Some slightly sexist practices that aren't acknowledged. Hard to move up.

      Hume Lake Christian Camps2016-07-04
    • "Rewarding summer job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - High Adventure Guide 
      Recommends

      I worked at Hume Lake Christian Camps part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Lifelong friendships - some of my closest friends I met at Hume. Access to the beautiful sequoias! Lots of fun to be had in the national park. You really get to go deeper in your relationship with God. A large part of your experience depends on what job you have. I was a High adventure guide so it was a physically and emotionally demanding job. I was able to make connections with campers and youth pastors!

      Cons

      Very long hours with extremely low pay (less than minimum wage for summer staff). Housing situation is less than ideal, but you get used to it and it's for a short amount of time. The food situation gets old quick.

      Advice to Management

      Give summer staff more opportunity to make connections with other departments.

      Hume Lake Christian Camps2015-07-09
    • "One of the best places on earth to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Hume Lake Christian Camps full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Working as part of a large team together for the furthering of the Gospel, it's not just a job but a mission field conveniently packaged in a camp environment. You get to work with great people in a beautiful area and actually get paid for it!!! Great health, sick leave and vacation benefits as well as year-round access to some of the greatest Christian speakers to be found!

      Cons

      It is 1.5 hours from the nearest city of any size, so you have to plan your shopping trips very carefully. There is no just "going down the street" to pick up something you forgot to pick up! Also, be aware that winter weather can GREATLY effect travel plans.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work guys and gals!!!

      Hume Lake Christian Camps2015-01-21
    • Helpful (2)

      "Worked multiple summers."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hume, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Hume Lake Christian Camps full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      It was a great opportunity to learn how a large-scale ministry operates. You can make great connections with churches and youth pastors. This is the perfect place to learn how to serve well.

      Cons

      Very low pay and long hours. There were times when I felt taken advantage of and told that it was "ministry." Not the greatest organization to work for it you can't say 'no' and if you hold a varying opinion from the general population.

      Hume Lake Christian Camps2014-10-16
    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cook in Hume, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Hume Lake Christian Camps full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      They take great care of their employees. Lots of opportunity to grow and learn

      Cons

      I have nothing bad to say

      Hume Lake Christian Camps2014-03-12
    Found 15 reviews