Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs Reviews | Glassdoor

Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 227 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Steve Jackson
70 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours, great job for high school/college(in 12 reviews)

  • "Great work environment if you love the fast paced flow(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "drivers make less than minimum wage while out on delivery(in 12 reviews)

  • "Extremely low pay for a manager(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Delivery Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Amarillo, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Wonderful atmosphere! Loved driving for them and loved the customers.

    Cons

    None at all! They were a pleasure to work with.

    Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs2019-05-02
  2. "Easy work for good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    tip money, very relaxed work,

    Cons

    repetitive. work that can get boring

    Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs2019-04-02
  3. "Good coworkers and good times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew in Kalamazoo, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great food, good people, great environment

    Cons

    lack of benefits, time off, room for growth in company.

    Advice to Management

    Growth for employees

    Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs2019-04-02
  4. "Best first job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs part-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    everyone has been like family to me at the franchise I am employed by.

    Cons

    low paying, wear-and-tear on my vehicle.

    Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs2019-03-11
  5. "Great for college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Awesome working around school schedule

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs2019-03-05
  6. "About average fast food job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member in Tallahassee, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    low stress, easy, flexible hours.

    Cons

    boring and leads nowhere. What do you expect,, it's fast food?

    Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs2019-03-17
  7. "Employees are undervalued and underpaid."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Pickerington, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Entry-level employees were fun to work with. Easy-to-learn position. Employee food discount. Product is good quality.

    Cons

    Company does a poor job of making employees feel valued and appreciated. Minimum wage, no raises and company keeps most of delivery fees. Little to no chance of advancement. Wear and tear on your own personal vehicle. Management discourages and shames employees who get sick and call off. They would rather have someone come in with the flu, rather than stay home and get better.

    Advice to Management

    I realize that you probably can’t afford to pay people $15 an hour to make and deliver pizzas, but you can certainly do better than minimum wage.

    Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs2019-03-06
  8. "Decent place starting out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insider in Grosse Pointe, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Some cool co-workers sometimes Discounted food

    Cons

    Low pay Managers didn't want to work themselves The manager doesn't care about availability Favoritism Very Hot and sweaty

    Advice to Management

    Don't put someone on the schedule when they communicate that they can't. Actually work and don't force everything just on your employees. Get the AC fixed. In the summer it is way too hot and too many people for the rush.

    Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs2019-02-25
  9. "Great place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Newnan, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work like cleaning dishes, answering phone calls and taking orders from friendly, local customers in Newnan.

    Cons

    Pay, low chance of moving forward, favors certain employees

    Advice to Management

    If you show mastery in all areas of the store you have a chance to promote to shift lead or assistant manager.

    Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs2019-02-08
  10. "Easy job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Free food, easy work, good money

    Cons

    Used a lot of gas, frequent car maintenance

    Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs2019-02-06
Found 227 reviews