Hunter Douglas Reviews | Glassdoor

Hunter Douglas Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Hunter Douglas CEO Ralph Sonnenberg
Ralph Sonnenberg
20 Ratings
  1. "Customer Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in West Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hunter Douglas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Room for advancement & a great management team.

    Cons

    During busy season there is mandatory OT

    Hunter Douglas2018-06-15
  2. "District Sales Manager-The worst year of my career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Sales Manager 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hunter Douglas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company car and paid gas

    Cons

    Micromanaged by manager. Blatant favoritism for peers. Was never recognized for top performance. I was told when I walked in the door by the person I replaced, that if the manager doesn’t like you he will make your life miserable. He made sure to live up to that. He even scrutinized the food I ate on road trips, when I turned in my expense reports. I could not get out of here fast enough.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of your old school management. They have killed your culture!!!

    Hunter Douglas2019-06-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Typical large corporate company, low employee morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering in Broomfield, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hunter Douglas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay is good for office employees. Onsite free fitness center. If you keep your head down and don’t ruffle any feathers, you can work here for a long time.

    Cons

    Hunter Douglas recently went through major management and structure changes. Now the company is all about making (lots) of money while looking for ways to cut spending by any means. Production equipment and processes are extremely outdated and are in constant need of repair. Here, you are just another “corporate employee”, nothing more. Morale is generally low; for office employees AND production employees.

    Advice to Management

    Office AND production employees need to genuinely feel engaged and needed, not looked down upon. There are many poor performing employees and managers that need to “move on”. This would greatly help morale.

    Hunter Douglas2019-02-19
  4. "meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Hunter Douglas

    Pros

    Nice central Location, free parking

    Cons

    tender egos, lack of growth opportunities

    Hunter Douglas2018-08-29
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Could be great, but not now!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pearl River, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hunter Douglas full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Beautiful office space, company financially sound and wonderful product innovation. Many company lunches fresh fruit/snacks daily for employees. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Poor communication throughout many departments, poor planning /coordinating/training in relation to all new upcoming growth. Veteran managers and veteran employees not positively accepting upcoming changes or making sound decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Not all veteran employees are appropriate leaders, Promote those that can lead and are skilled to lead or look outside the company for those than can. Make those tough employee issue related calls sooner rather than later. Hold those accountable for their actions, one bad employee is not worth bringing down an entire department.

    Hunter Douglas2018-03-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fabrication and samples"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fabrication Operator in Broomfield, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hunter Douglas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, team atmosphere, a lot to learn as so many different divisions. 401k match up to 15%. Proper breaks

    Cons

    Too much management and most of them didn’t earn the position. You def have to be in “the good boys club”

    Advice to Management

    It doesn’t matter what I say as they will always be ran like this

    Hunter Douglas2017-11-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hunter Douglas full-time

    Pros

    Great benefit package and bonus

    Cons

    Not enough recognition for long time employees

    Hunter Douglas2017-11-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Not a great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Broomfield, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hunter Douglas full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    nice co-workers, great benefits, a lot of health support

    Cons

    bad management, no chance of advacement

    Advice to Management

    Please review who is managing and improve the working environment. It is poison right now.

    Hunter Douglas2017-02-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product & Brand Manager in Broomfield, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hunter Douglas full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and employee discounts. Very collaborative environment.

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for advancement. Long hours...not much work/life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. Communicate changes.

    Hunter Douglas2017-01-11
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Could be good, but not right now."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hunter Douglas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits are on par with a company of this size. End of year bonuses. Flexible work schedule (for office personnel). On site gym.

    Cons

    Terrible management and HR department. Its amazing what some people can get away with and still be employed there while good employees suffer. “Good old boys” managers need to move on (please!).

    Advice to Management

    Revamp HR! Get people in there that can be trusted and will actually help employees. Get rid of the “bad eggs” and the “good old boys”. Everyone knows who they are, do something about it!

    Hunter Douglas2017-02-13
Found 49 reviews