Hunter Industries "profit sharing" Reviews | Glassdoor

Hunter Industries Employee Reviews about "profit sharing"

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Hunter Industries President Greg Hunter
Greg Hunter
76 Ratings
Pros
  • "Profit Sharing and decent co-workers(in 25 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance is important and you're not asked or expected to work extraordinary hours(in 10 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "profit sharing"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Warehouse Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hunter Industries full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and some really good people to work with.

    Cons

    The pay is not great but profit sharing more than makes up for it.

    Continue reading
    Hunter Industries2018-10-24
  2. "Great benefits but horrendous managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Clermont, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hunter Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits – company pays the bulk of health insurance premiums, good 401K match, gym reimbursement, and annual profit share bonus. Work-life balance is also very good and they are understanding when anyone has a family emergency.

    Cons

    Leadership at the Florida location is mediocre at best. The team is compromised of ‘yes-men’ who were promoted due to seniority rather than talent. This means that each and every one of them has at least one employee in their teams actually doing all the work they should be able to do. The fact that Senninger’s president is never in the office to see how the company operates in the day-to-day means management gets away with taking credit for their employees' work and ideas. Plus, as a result of having such mediocre management, challenging the status quo is often frowned upon. The go-to answer for any suggestions for improvement that may involve management actually learning something new is “that’s how we have always done it.”

    Continue reading
    Hunter Industries2020-02-14
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "If you want long time employment...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in San Marcos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hunter Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy to work here, no pressures

    Cons

    Wages are kept low. They give profit sharing, but it varies

    Continue reading
    Hunter Industries2019-10-02

    Hunter Industries Response

    December 24, 2019Senior Manager of Global Talent Management

    Thank you for making time to share your thoughts about working at Hunter. We're happy you're enjoying your experience with us, that's important to us! Compensation ranges are analyzed frequently to make sure we're paying fair market value for all roles wherever we have employees and our overall benefits package is one of the best out there - be sure to check in with the HR Service Center to take advantage of all the perks we have to offer!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "They've lost it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Marcos, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hunter Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice fitness center. Profit sharing.

    Cons

    They spend a lot of money on marketing campaigns and social media to portray a diverse and innovative image, but their culture and management practices are weak. Their Finance, IT and HR executives just don't get it and seem to micromanage and stoke drama in their teams. Many leaders seem to have succeeded by ingratiating themselves to the Hunter family, who seem to be blind to what is actually going on in the ranks. I didn't realize how truly unhappy I was at Hunter until I left.

    Continue reading
    Hunter Industries2019-09-13
  6. Helpful (5)

    "All a Charade."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Distribution in San Marcos, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hunter Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive benefits, profit-sharing (advertised as "annual" but actually calculated based on 11-months pay), surprisingly successful business (considering the poor leadership and prevalent waste of resources)

    Cons

    Mediocre leadership (promoted due to seniority and not talent), retaliatory environment (those that speak up are let go). HR does not operate to support and grow talent but rather to get rid of people not kissing up to management. Company is years behind in terms of developing a problem solving organization. Some business processes are highly inefficient and corresponding leadership is flat out ignorant on their existence and certainly on how to improve them.

    Continue reading
    Hunter Industries2019-07-31
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Fake People, Decent Wage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hunter Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits-Plant Shut Down and Profit Share, Some Good People and Culture

    Cons

    Elitist, Hierarchy, Cliques of White Privileged People, Trust Fund CEO/Family, Entitlement due to people being there for so many years

    Continue reading
    Hunter Industries2019-07-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hunter Industries full-time

    Pros

    -Great atmosphere. Negative, complaining and abusive people don't last long -Profit Sharing -Fitness center -Family owned -Environmentally conscious -Healthy work/life balance in most departments

    Cons

    -Depending on the department, growth opportunities can be limited -Pay is average -Health benefits package is mediocre

    Hunter Industries2018-09-18
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Golden Cage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Marcos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hunter Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, great offices, state-of-the-art gym with trainers and classes, private park, sustainable efforts, fun environment, profit sharing, Christmas break.

    Cons

    Career advancement can be complicated in certain departments. Lower pay scale.

    Continue reading
    Hunter Industries2017-12-12
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hunter Industries full-time

    Pros

    - Great culture. Employees are happy to the point of arousing suspicion. I had never been at a company with employees that smile so much before working at Hunter. - President/CEO honestly seems to genuinely care about employees. - Gym on campus (San Marcos HQ). - Excellent holiday party. - Profit sharing. - Excellent 401(k) program.

    Cons

    - I didn't feel that salaries were quite as competitive as they should be. Profit sharing is considered part of one's salary, which shouldn't be the case.

    Continue reading
    Hunter Industries2017-05-30
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Headed in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Technician in San Marcos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hunter Industries full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    For several years there were many mid-level management issues which have mostly been resolved and the company is once again headed in the right direction. Friendly environment, good benefits, profit sharing. However, the best things is probably their commitment to continued education, Hunter has a very generous tuition reimbursement plan, and has even partnered with Ashford University to pay for your entire degree program if you attend their University.

    Cons

    Wages tend to be low, which can be difficult in an area with an extremely high cost of living. Profit sharing helps with some of it, but the rest of the year can be a struggle financially, employees stressed about bills will not perform as well at work. Also, the switch from the fantastic Kaiser health plan, to the expensive (in terms of out-of-pocket expenses) and often worthless Sharp health plan doesn't aid the low wages.

    Continue reading
    Hunter Industries2016-02-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 27 reviews