Huntington Ingalls Industries Electrician Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Electrician

Huntington Ingalls Industries Electrician Reviews

Updated Jan 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Huntington Ingalls Industries CEO Mike Petters
Mike Petters
9 Ratings
  1. "marine electrician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marine Electrician in Pascagoula, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    stady work,growing oportunuty,and great benfits..

    Cons

    aprendice trining,inglish and spanish classes,

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2017-01-10
  2. "My shipbuilding experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrician in Suffolk, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Knowledge, Team, Salary, Benefits, Training

    Cons

    There was really no down sides. Enjoyed the work both as a Electrician and a supervisor

    Advice to Management

    Always support your team.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-01-27
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Overrated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Apprentice Electrician in Pascagoula, MS
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good base pay, good experience

      Cons

      Parking, lazy workers, little overtime depending on crew. And did I mention parking? Takes an hour to leave work sometimes.

      Advice to Management

      Manage lazy workers better

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2017-10-17
    • "Working as X31 Electrician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - X31 Electrician 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great pay guaranteed 40 hours depending on how good of a worker you are you don't have you foreman over your shoulder.

      Cons

      cant always get overtime foreman doesn't take your advice most of the time and realizes your way was better after they mess up co-workers can be lazy or break cables by not listening to instructions you might get stuck never doing any electric work so when you leave the shipyard or get layed off you can't say you've done actual electric work on the ships.

      Advice to Management

      everyone who is going to be pulling fiber cables need to be trained on how to correctly pull them as to not bend them. there needs to be something to make pulling big cables like 300s and 400s easier.

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2016-11-23
    • "Best training"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Electrician in Pascagoula, MS
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time

      Pros

      A career builder for someone who is just starting out

      Cons

      Nothing negative great place to work

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2016-10-14
    • "Dangerous Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Electrician in Pascagoula, MS
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      The pay is ok at best at least it's pretty steady until you get laid off but it's a good chance they will call you back if you still have a phone

      Cons

      I don't know where to start really I know that company's aren't perfect but this one's the worst I've ever been on why am I currently working here I working on that

      Advice to Management

      Treat your craft workers better they're not just numbers. Its extremely hot and hard work. We are the people that actually builds the ships

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2016-06-25
    • "Good place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Marine Electrician in Newport News, VA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Plenty of work in the future

      Cons

      Schedule can change whenever the company needs

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2016-01-28
    • "Electrician class A"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Marine Electrician in South Pascagoula, MS
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries for less than a year

      Pros

      The company offer an excellent retirement package, great pay scale, and benefits.

      Cons

      It is very hot in the summer or cold in the winter on the ships and a long walk to and from the work site to the parking lot.

      Advice to Management

      It would be a positive for the employees if their would be added a second shuttle bus to carry the workers to their work site.

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2015-09-21
    • "Competitive to other companies"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Marine Electrician in Pascagoula, MS
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good benefits good pension the 401K

      Cons

      Not my ideal place for electrical work mainly inside compartments full of smoke pulling wire working in Dusty wire Waze

      Advice to Management

      None

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2015-06-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "Top heavy and stressful."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Apprentice Electrician in Pascagoula, MS
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Decent Pay. Good experience on paper. Some people are great to work for while some will make your life a living hell. Union will sometimes fight for you.

      Cons

      Long walks to job sites. Extreme physical stress to knees, hips, and shoulders. (Many people end uo having surgery those areas.) Craft employees expected to haul heavy toolboxes and equipment up stair towers. Little to no communication between craft and higher management. Stressful deadlines pushed hard on craft employees. Administration does whatever is in there best interest.. not the employees. Safety is disregarded...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Reduce the top heavy administration and pay craft better if you want to have them work in such horrible conditions. Get rid of people in craft who don't actually do work. Fix the apprenticeship and set it up for apprentices to actually learn on the job with a teacher.. not some random workers who could care less. Stop throwing apprentices to the wolves. communicate with your employees without intimidation. Get rid of...

      Show More
      Huntington Ingalls Industries2015-01-09
    Found 15 reviews