Huntington Ingalls Industries Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Huntington Ingalls Industries Engineer Reviews

Updated Jun 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 80 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Huntington Ingalls Industries CEO Mike Petters
Mike Petters
48 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Pascagoula, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Have opportunities to move up and get involved any type of projects you like.

    Cons

    On the job training is not the best.

    Advice to Management

    Train more then one person to do a job.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-03-03
  2. "Fulfilling work in a bureaucratic giant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industrial Engineering Manager in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Contributing to the country’s defense, friendly and competent teammates, the opportunity to help improve things.

    Cons

    Huge bureaucratic company with all the frustration and difficulties in making change it entails

    Advice to Management

    Work on trying to be more agile and push decision making further down the chain of command. Less reward to those who say things are “not their job”

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-06-16
  3. "Good Starter Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nuclear Engineer in Newport News, VA

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment with limited production pressure.

    Cons

    Interfacing with management is very lacking.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-06-11
  4. "Its a stable job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Pascagoula, MS
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      low stress and 2 weeks off for Christmas

      Cons

      boring and traffic is terrible

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-05-23
    • "Great Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Engineering Technician III 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Fast Paced, lot of OT

      Cons

      PARKING, Parking, Parking, Parking, Parking

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-02-19
    • "Love this place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      Current Employee - Engineering Technician I 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time

      Pros

      Great benefits, and tremendous room for growth.

      Cons

      Sometimes you have overtime work, but you get paid extra

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-02-09
    • "Great management and atmosphere."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Engineer Technician in Newport News, VA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Quick hire with applicable experience. Available overtime. Job security. Good benefits. Room for advancement.

      Cons

      Very low income compared to other companies for given experience. Awful parking.

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-02-12
    • "Good company for new hires"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Nuclear Engineer in Newport News, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Stability, benefits are good, requires minimal effort to succeed

      Cons

      Pay is terrible at NNS. Management is poor. No growth opportunities (in my experience, NNS does not value technical or problem solving abilities). If you are technical or want to do engineering work, do not work here.

      Advice to Management

      My direct management was continually incompetent. Good people, but should never have been in a technical role and/or leadership role.

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-02-10
    • "G2 is a great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Columbia, MD

      I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Competitive salaries, prime contracts, flexibility.

      Cons

      Just bought by HII, we'll need to see how things go.

      Advice to Management

      Too many negative changes to benefits may cause an exodus, tread lightly.

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-01-16
    • "Newly hired military veteran"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Engineering Technician III in Newport News, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Benefit package, PTO, paid holidays

      Cons

      It's an industrial shipyard environment with many old structures.

      Advice to Management

      The parking situation is a work in progress and we see that.

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-01-26
    Found 80 reviews