Huntington Ingalls Industries Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Huntington Ingalls Industries Engineer Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 83 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Huntington Ingalls Industries CEO Mike Petters
Mike Petters
48 Ratings
  1. "Career in engineering at Newport News Shipbuildong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries

    Pros

    Incedibly diverse opportunities for engineers, from plant operations to manufacturing, ship and submarine design, testing, nuclear power, R&D, and more. There is something for anyone having the energy and fortitude to excel in their current tasks and reach for that next thing. There are few things as satisfying as seeing the enormous aircraft carrier or submarine that you helped create sail off to help and protect our country.

    Cons

    The core business is government (Navy) contracting which is good for many things (stability, diverse and technically challenging work, among others), but it also brings heavy layers of bureaucracy. This is tends to drive business model toward innate sluggishness and inefficiency which can sometimes be frustrating to hard charging employees. However, I have found, from over 30 years of employment, that there is plenty of opportunities to stay engaged and be sufficiently rewarded.

    Continue reading
    Huntington Ingalls Industries2016-08-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "HR runs the company and had no clue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Modeling & Simulation Systems Engineer in Newport News, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working on submarines and aircraft carriers is amazing. Coworkers are fun. Lots to learn.

    Cons

    Benefits get worse every year and more expensive. No raises or tuition assistance until 2017. HR is there to protect the company and not only do they not look out for employees, they will actively ignore management requests for promotions. Interns with one summer worth of experience are offered better salaries (in some cases $8k more) than employees that have the same academic credentials and 3+ years experience. Not sure why it's so hard for the company to figure out why employees are leaving and talent is hard to keep. HR is broken. The famous Apprentice school is worthless if your goal is to be an engineer, none of your experience counts and neither does the time prior to your degree.

    Continue reading
    Huntington Ingalls Industries2016-06-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "quality analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer in Pascagoula, MS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good working environment, good people. Steady work

    Cons

    Very high stress level all over the place

    Continue reading
    Huntington Ingalls Industries2016-05-19
  4. "Good work but lots of gov't red tape"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Newport News Shipbuilding - Mechanical Engineer II in New Castle, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mostly friendly work environment. Impressive scope of daily tasks and seeing military watercraft being constructed, knowing that in some way you are apart of building a force to protect the country. Pretty easy to transfer internally to try new things. Management wasn't too bad.

    Cons

    A lot of paperwork to do simple tasks. Union shop so you'll wait hours for someone to turn a wrench, it will probably be done wrong so you'll have to document, get the work area repaired and re-worked.

    Continue reading
    Huntington Ingalls Industries2015-12-28
  5. "An ok place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nuclear Engineer in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay and benefits were pretty good, and the work schedule was somewhat flexible. I worked in a building away from the yard, so parking was good.

    Cons

    The commute is awful from just about anywhere, but that's also Hampton Roads in general. The biggest turn off for me was the constant antagonism between the various departments and also the trades. It seemed like nobody ever wanted to work together. There was also a lot of antagonism with the Navy, the only customer. There's no diversity in their business, so if the Navy ever slows down its work (like currently) then layoffs happen.

    Continue reading
    Huntington Ingalls Industries2015-12-03
  6. "In the DOE background investigation phase. So far so good, just a very slow process."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Engineer II in West Milton, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very professional and fast process from initial contact scheduling an interview to receiving an offer. Scheduled an interview on a Friday, had the interview the following Thursday and received an offer (by phone) the Tuesday of next week. Received the written offer the following week with all the paperwork to be filled out. Initial background check completed 4 weeks after the offer was accepted. Scheduled Physical and drug screen a month from then and waiting for DOE background investigation to be completed

    Cons

    I've been informed the DOE background investigation is currently taking approximately 4-6 months to be completed which is the only negative thing I can speak of so far. However I was informed of this during the interview process and upon accepting the offer, so I have nothing really to complain about. I am just hoping it is on the shorter end of that time frame.

    Continue reading
    Huntington Ingalls Industries2015-11-12
  7. "Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer II in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries

    Pros

    Company has good benefits and a good work environment.

    Cons

    Tied to government contracts and when contracts of government money runs out so does work.

    Continue reading
    Huntington Ingalls Industries2015-11-03
  8. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Systems Test Engineer in Newport News, VA

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, room for growth

    Cons

    Contract based company, leads to layoffs

    Continue reading
    Huntington Ingalls Industries2015-10-28
  9. "Layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Newport News, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flex time, vacation, and friendly people

    Cons

    Dramatic benefits cut, no raise/promotions for two years, no tuition, took a holiday away.

    Continue reading
    Huntington Ingalls Industries2015-09-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Newport News, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you are in the right department, the work can be good. Good employee atmosphere. The 401k match is quite good.

    Cons

    Huntington Ingalls generally does not offer engineers an innovative and engaging career. Rather our skills degrade as most of the work is not even remotely engineering related. Until recently that glaring shortcoming was overcome by an education assistance program that was 2nd to none (15k a year), steady pay raises, and great job security. However management has decided to get rid of the education assistance program, suspend raises for 2 years, and lay off a significant portion of its workforce.

    Continue reading
    Huntington Ingalls Industries2015-07-31
Found 83 reviews