Huntington Ingalls Industries Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Huntington Ingalls Industries Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Huntington Ingalls Industries CEO Mike Petters
Mike Petters
10 Ratings
  1. "Happy Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Pascagoula, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I’ve spent most of my life working at Ingalls and I feel fortunate to be able to provide for my family and build great ships for our military.

    Cons

    Parking is the biggest issue

    Advice to Management

    Good Communication is key!

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2018-06-01
  2. "Fulfilling work in a bureaucratic giant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industrial Engineering Manager in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Contributing to the country’s defense, friendly and competent teammates, the opportunity to help improve things.

    Cons

    Huge bureaucratic company with all the frustration and difficulties in making change it entails

    Advice to Management

    Work on trying to be more agile and push decision making further down the chain of command. Less reward to those who say things are “not their job”

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-06-16
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Engineering Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Manager in Pascagoula, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Wages are at or above market value

    Cons

    too many rice bowls and favoritism

    Advice to Management

    hire, reward, and promote based on capability vice family and friends

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2017-10-10
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Ups and Downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People work here forever and never leave so it is like family for most. We build the most awesome ships in the world

    Cons

    No possibility of growth or upward movement. They hire for higher level positions from outside the company and leave large amounts of people competing for scraps. No pay raise in 2 years.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your internal candidate potentials like you treat external. Pay us like you would pay them, allow us to advance our carriers without having to leave the company first. Show your existing employees you care about them as much as the millennials you hope to attract.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2017-06-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "If You're Only Looking for a Career Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager in Broomfield, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits if you don't get too attached to your job on a long term basis.

    Cons

    "Invisible Upper Management" Not an employee friendly company, only interested in the bottom line - profit. Management considers employees "disposable" at any given moment.

    Advice to Management

    You acquisitioned the company I worked for 11+ years. Instead of growing your subsidiary, you scaled the business to the bare bone and restructured it for nuclear and let many of us jobless...Lesson Learned...if it ain't broke, don't try to fix it.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2017-01-31
  6. "Manager 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager I in Des Allemands, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    No cons that I could see

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2016-11-16
  7. "Personally it has been very good. However acknowledging the challenges for others."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager II in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stability of a job regardless of what that job turns into as the company's needs change. Surface attempts to make it better.

    Cons

    Stagnation of compensation. Tepid leadership as a whole. Risk adverse versus adventurous. Strangling of the new thing whilst throwing resources at dying processes.

    Advice to Management

    Get flexible and competitive

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2016-10-12
  8. "Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People and family atmosphere: The people at HII are great. They are always supportive and helpful, but they are very professional as well.

    Cons

    Policy communication could be better. You don't always know what is going on or where the company plans to expand and grow.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the hiring the quality people and managers that you have been doing, but you need to improve communication especially with regard to growth or loss of business.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2016-06-25
  9. "management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Pascagoula, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good pay and benefits, stable workload

    Cons

    need more degreed managers, high number of non degreed managers that really aren't competent in regards to managing costs, budgets, people, etc.

    Advice to Management

    permute QUALIFIED individuals, not your buddies.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2015-10-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Pascagoula, MS

    I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits. Liked working there.

    Cons

    Quite a few layoffs. Top heavy in management. Older workforce in the offices so not a lot of new ideas coming in.

    Advice to Management

    Younger people staying just long enough to get experience to find better jobs elsewhere. Won't be long with the older workforce that you won't have people to take their places. Need to work on retention.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2015-09-28
Found 15 reviews