Huntington Ingalls Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

Huntington Ingalls Industries Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 450 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Huntington Ingalls Industries CEO Mike Petters
Mike Petters
211 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, travel friends new places(in 44 reviews)

  • "Good benefits,mangment,safe environment(in 36 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's an industrial shipyard environment with many old structures(in 18 reviews)

  • "parking, poor upper management, low or no opportunity to grow(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "HII-TSD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They treat their employees with utmost respect

    Cons

    Short term contract which could end if government customer does not renew option year.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the communication with the employees.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-05-13
  2. "Fulfilling work in a bureaucratic giant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industrial Engineering Manager in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Contributing to the country’s defense, friendly and competent teammates, the opportunity to help improve things.

    Cons

    Huge bureaucratic company with all the frustration and difficulties in making change it entails

    Advice to Management

    Work on trying to be more agile and push decision making further down the chain of command. Less reward to those who say things are “not their job”

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-06-16
  3. "Better Know Someone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Joiner in Pascagoula, MS

    I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time

    Pros

    Salary, weekends off or work the OT

    Cons

    Parking, hours, minimal holidays off. Union reps are somewhat of a joke. It's very hot, it's very cold

    Advice to Management

    Stop with the intimidation tactics.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-06-17
  4. "Its ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nuclear Machinist Mate in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, good benefits too.

    Cons

    Management has unrealistic expectations. Hourly employees are treated like lesser beings.

    Advice to Management

    Relate to your people and stop ruling with an iron fist. Find someway to get rid of the Union. They are garbage.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-06-15
  5. "What you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FITTER/WELDER 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    holidays, overtime, family medical leave, vacation, 2 week Christmas vacation and bonus, Union

    Cons

    Job Security, 5 write ups and your out any supervisor from any department can write you up without explanation not to mention safety enforcers protocol regularly

    Advice to Management

    make it more diverse when hiring for different crafts

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-05-28
  6. "Great company, but its structure need to be revamped."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Control Planner in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for! I enjoyed my time while employed by HII.

    Cons

    -Slow progression. People mostly get promoted based on their years of experience rather than their skill-set. By the end of my 3 years there I had a bigger workload and more prestigious responsibilities than Production Control Planner & Scheduler 2s and 3s, but I wasn’t eligible for a promotion because I did not put in enough years of experience. -Not open to change. The response to why things are done a certain way...

    Show More
    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-05-29
  7. "Good Starter Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nuclear Engineer in Newport News, VA

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment with limited production pressure.

    Cons

    Interfacing with management is very lacking.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-06-11
  8. "Its a stable job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Pascagoula, MS
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      low stress and 2 weeks off for Christmas

      Cons

      boring and traffic is terrible

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-05-23
    • "Plenty of business - no job growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Analyst 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Benefits and 401k Paid Holidays Job Longevity

      Cons

      No advancement Fake interviews Retaliation is alive and well

      Advice to Management

      It's ok to listen to the people performing the work. You should also set a growth development plan for each employee.

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-05-16
    • "It’s decent they keep you working"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Master Trades Person III in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Steady work A lot of overtime Travel when work stops Certainly are there for the select people

      Cons

      Bad pay Advancement is hard No sick pay Benefits are lacking

      Advice to Management

      Pay your deck workers more Obviously everyone wants more pay But why stay here we the next company will give you dollars more an hour for the same work

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-05-13
    Found 450 reviews