Huntington Ingalls Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

Huntington Ingalls Industries Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 467 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Huntington Ingalls Industries CEO Mike Petters
Mike Petters
218 Ratings
  1. "Not Bad for a Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Scientist in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good world Life Balance, Low Stress, Good work atmostphere

    Cons

    Pay could be better, Slow work, not much room for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Better Pay.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-08-28
  2. "Ingalls is where I learned to fit pipe in thier apprentice program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pipefitter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ingalls has good salaries and and great apprentice programs

    Cons

    The shipyard can be very hot

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-08-23
  3. "Foreman Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Foreman in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -The benefits are pretty good -The pay is better than most places -They took a chance on me fresh off the street -Company gave me a trade

    Cons

    -They don’t let you properly manage your business (AOR) -It’s still a Good Ole Club -The company promotes unqualified candidates because they are buddies

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate the “little people” who actually build the ships and the under-appreciated foremen who lead the frontline

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-08-21
  4. "Great job once qualified"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Radiological Control Technician in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The money we make doing our job is limitless. You can work as much overtime as you want 7 days a week.

    Cons

    The RCTQS school is located in Portsmouth so commuting back and forth was a inconvenience for people who lived on the peninsula.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-08-19
  5. "Welder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marine Welder in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    pay and benefits and co workers

    Cons

    heat and heights and tight spaces

    Advice to Management

    hydration program

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-08-14
  6. "It's a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nuclear Engineer 

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time

    Pros

    It's a fasted paced fulfilling workplace.

    Cons

    Parking is really bad and traffic is terrible.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-08-08
  7. "Overall, a good company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Technician 

    I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Education Assistance. Very Good Benefits.

    Cons

    Not a lot of professional development support. Very large company, easy to feel like a cog in a large machine

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-08-02
  8. "Too big"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Operations 

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Find some good co-workers to grow with.

    Cons

    The company will swallow you whole, no culture.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-07-29
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Golden Handcuffs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrician in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pay is highly competitive compared to many other places of employment throughout the Hampton Roads area. Immense room for growth and opportunity, and plenty of doors open to get into a management position. Tuition reimbursement is great, night school opportunities as well. Many positions require no experience in order to get your foot in the door, and will even provide training to make it happen.

    Cons

    Your experience is barely relevant or applicable outside of the shipyard gates. Many supervisors will run you into the ground. You age faster inside the shipyard, I’m 27 years old but after 6 years of working here, my joints and internal organs are definitely pushing 60. You don’t receive certifications for your skills and there are no career paths ever established for high-potential employees. If you want to make a... lateral transition in your career, from one trade to another, you can’t. You have to quit, lose all seniority, and then re-apply. There is no consideration for 2nd shift employees in almost any form. Oh, also parking is like trying to pour 50 gallons of water into a sippy-cup. Any parking lots that could have been made for employees are monetized for pay-to-park, and operated by private parties. But don’t ever be late or else it’s your own fault! I could go on, but I’ll refrain. It’s not a bad place to work depending on your supervisor/shift/trade. It’s like playing Russian roulette with your career! Good luck!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Nobody’s going to read this anyways, I just want to see salaries for other positions. :)

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-07-24
  10. "Good with the bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Engineer 

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexing ability Time, Good training staff

    Cons

    Commuting , Long shifts ,work hours.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-07-24
Found 467 reviews