Huntington Ingalls Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

Huntington Ingalls Industries Reviews

Updated Jul 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 456 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Huntington Ingalls Industries CEO Mike Petters
Mike Petters
214 Ratings
  1. "Good Starter Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nuclear Engineer in Newport News, VA

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment with limited production pressure.

    Cons

    Interfacing with management is very lacking.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-06-11
  2. "Its a stable job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Pascagoula, MS
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      low stress and 2 weeks off for Christmas

      Cons

      boring and traffic is terrible

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-05-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "No idea what they’re doing in TSD"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Not many other than they are a large company with boat loads of money. Pun intended.

      Cons

      Acquiring companies they have no business acquiring. They have no understanding of those customers or the employees that support them. For the most part their leadership is bloated and extremely incompetent.

      Advice to Management

      Senior leadership should be at minimum receive leadership training and I mean real training not the internal kind. I would also consider cleaning house in many areas.

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-06-22
    • "HII-TSD"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Field Service Analyst 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      They treat their employees with utmost respect

      Cons

      Short term contract which could end if government customer does not renew option year.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the communication with the employees.

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-05-13
    • "Plenty of business - no job growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Analyst 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Benefits and 401k Paid Holidays Job Longevity

      Cons

      No advancement Fake interviews Retaliation is alive and well

      Advice to Management

      It's ok to listen to the people performing the work. You should also set a growth development plan for each employee.

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-05-16
    • "It’s decent they keep you working"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Master Trades Person III in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Steady work A lot of overtime Travel when work stops Certainly are there for the select people

      Cons

      Bad pay Advancement is hard No sick pay Benefits are lacking

      Advice to Management

      Pay your deck workers more Obviously everyone wants more pay But why stay here we the next company will give you dollars more an hour for the same work

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-05-13
    • "Good company, but needs to reconsider how we operated when we were a cash cow for Tenneco."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager, Contract Administration III in Newport News, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Solid company, job security, and the employees generally want to do well and take incredible pride in the ships we build.

      Cons

      The influx of new employees that feel entitled to mid level and senior level positions just because they finished a key project. It takes years to earn those positions. Stay in your lane, keep your head down, and good things will come. Parking is difficult but young employees and the new leadership do not quite understand the right of passage it is to EARN a parking spot. Taking that away is nearly equivalent to taking...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Get rid of the bottom 10% every year to increase peer competition and to drive performance in a more favorable way.

      Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-04-27
    • "Good employer, no competition to keep them in check"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Finance 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Everyone knows everybody, and it has a small-town feel; good pay for cheap area

        Cons

        There are not any similar companies near Ingalls in Pascagoula, so employees do not have high standards for how they should be treated and paid

        Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-05-09
      • "Great place to start a career"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Helpful employees that want to see you advance

        Cons

        Such a large company that communication can be an issue

        Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-04-17
      • "Good for long term career"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Steady work in a good industry

        Cons

        Sometimes communication isn't what it should be

        Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-04-15
      Found 456 reviews