Huntington Ingalls Industries "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Huntington Ingalls Industries Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Jul 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 456 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Huntington Ingalls Industries CEO Mike Petters
Mike Petters
214 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, travel friends new places(in 45 reviews)

  • "Good benefits,mangment,safe environment(in 37 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's an industrial shipyard environment with many old structures(in 18 reviews)

  • "It was frustrating to be with a company where upper management would acknowledge inefficiencies, but wouldn’t seriously consider making changes(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Its ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nuclear Machinist Mate in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, good benefits too.

    Cons

    Management has unrealistic expectations. Hourly employees are treated like lesser beings.

    Advice to Management

    Relate to your people and stop ruling with an iron fist. Find someway to get rid of the Union. They are garbage.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-06-15
  2. "Great management and atmosphere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer Technician in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quick hire with applicable experience. Available overtime. Job security. Good benefits. Room for advancement.

    Cons

    Very low income compared to other companies for given experience. Awful parking.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2019-02-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Master Tradesperson 3"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Master Tradesperson III 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Higher than average pay, good benefits (although relatively costly if you want anything decent), steady hours and a good work/life balance.

    Cons

    **First and foremost, I'll back up what another reviewer said. The conditions vary IMMENSELY depending on what section of the company your work for. That having been said:** You only accumulate 4-6 hours per MONTH of paid time off. Jesus Christ. Seriously? No management whatsoever. The managers or supervisors are NOT "leaders" by any conventional sense. I am subcontracted, and am forced to abide by not only HII's...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When I got hired, you had a huge emphasis on "If you see something, say something", so when somebody does say something, you may want to listen. My "leaders" are telling me to do illegal things weekly.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2018-08-31
  4. "Painter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industrial Painter in Pascagoula, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits,mangment,safe environment.They take care of there workers

    Cons

    The walk to and from the job site

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2017-10-10
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Shipfitter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shipfitter in Pascagoula, MS
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and pay. Just don't get injured, not use in yard hospital, esp. Placed on workers comp. They say and plaster posters all over about workers comp fraud. But they are the FRAUDSTERS ! the yard will fire you on workers comp. And none of the bought out , paid off attorneys in Mississippi, nor any Federal agency, D O.L., under W.C. or F.M.L.A. will do anything but drag their feet and side with shipyard ! Many...

    Show More

    Cons

    They post and display like they care about employees. They hire and keep bad employees while good ones carry load, repair their garbage, management is on good ole boy merit system. Union is in - house, and like local lawyers, part of INGALLS team. D.O.L. aides and abets in the yards crushing and grinding injured/wronged employees. And the parking is hellacious, lasts over hour, and vehicles are regularly damaged seriously.

    Advice to Management

    Do as you say. Support and assist those injured making YOUR PAYCHECKS. Not fire and leave to pain & inevitable financial ruin ! Look at RE-FITS! WHOSE FIXING, And who's causing/costing. And WHO enables/continues allowing process and employees at fault. Enforce lift limits, against supervision.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2017-08-03
  6. "Senior Instructional Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Instructional Drsigner in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, well run organization

    Cons

    Contract Work. Once the contract ends you may be let go if no new work comes along.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2017-06-07
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Not great place for open minded people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Newport News, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great pay -A lot of overtime -Good benefits

    Cons

    - Mangers who do know how to do their jobs - working with majority raciest white people - The overtime pay is less then what you get an hour - People do not like changes -Competition amongst different teams in same department -They make you stupid over time

    Advice to Management

    Find mangers who know what they are doing. In my department my manger does not know anything about software development, but yet is in chaser of development. Find people who know what they are doing, do not hire an Mechanical engineer for a software engineer position. There are many of computer science majors who can do that job right.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2017-04-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Decent place if you just want a decent paycheck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Newport News, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedules, stability (steady paycheck), good benefits

    Cons

    -Management -Real engineering work opportunities are hard to find here. I estimate > 80% of engineering will never actually do any engineering work here. -Your opinion or what you want to do has no relevance.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2017-02-22
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Nuclear engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. great environment to work and people are very nice I worked there for over 10 years.

    Cons

    Bad parking. There's a lot of preferential treatment within the company that limits some people's promotion.

    Advice to Management

    Most managers have an open door policy and are fairly level-headed. However we have not received a pay raise in over 2 years.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2017-01-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "If You're Only Looking for a Career Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager in Broomfield, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Huntington Ingalls Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits if you don't get too attached to your job on a long term basis.

    Cons

    "Invisible Upper Management" Not an employee friendly company, only interested in the bottom line - profit. Management considers employees "disposable" at any given moment.

    Advice to Management

    You acquisitioned the company I worked for 11+ years. Instead of growing your subsidiary, you scaled the business to the bare bone and restructured it for nuclear and let many of us jobless...Lesson Learned...if it ain't broke, don't try to fix it.

    Huntington Ingalls Industries2017-01-31
Found 456 reviews