Huntington Learning Centers Reviews

Updated May 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
64%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Huntington Learning Centers CEO  Eileen Huntington (no image)
Eileen Huntington
168 Ratings
Pros
  • "They offer flexible hours to educators and pair you with motivated students(in 54 reviews)

  • "Got to have a flexible schedule and work 1-on-1 with the students which is exactly what I wanted to do(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay for staff without teacher certification(in 67 reviews)

  • "hard to get more hours, needed to find another part time(in 44 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Huntington Learning Centers and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Place to work

      May 10, 2021 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      working with students & seeing them succeed!

      Cons

      The hours are long so it is hard to have a work-life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Part Time Job

      May 12, 2021 - SAT/ACT Tutor in Rockford, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Co-workers Good Part-Time Job

      Cons

      Students no shows Old teaching manuals

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Positive experience

      May 12, 2021 - Teacher in Libertyville, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Curriculum / lessons are easy to follow / instruct and it is a pleasure to work with the students

      Cons

      Managers often have struggles when it comes to scheduling

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Organized and Loyal Employer

      May 5, 2021 - Tutor in Harrisburg, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible with scheduling and organized.

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Working at Huntington Learning Center

      Mar 13, 2021 - Academic Tutor in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At least at the center where I am at, you are genuinely cared for. The center really cares about the students' learning as well (which it should). I have only good things to say about Huntington, and am blessed to have been employed there. When I start working full time with previous career again, I will make sure to tutor evenings and weekends, as I want to stay apart of the Huntington family and not lose them <3

      Cons

      Not as many hours available due to COVID, however, they will give you as many as possible. Very nice.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Tutoring Service

      Mar 31, 2021 - English Tutor in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The curricula is automatically decided based on a pre test that the student takes. Much of the job consists of understanding and explaining the material when the student gets a question wrong.

      Cons

      There is a slight learning curve to using the software and getting the prescribed books from the shelves (the computer tells you which books to get). It should be fine for people who are used to technology, but if you are not the software might be intimidating (especially the Act tutoring program, which differs from the regular curricula).

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      I Company that cares about it students and its tutors

      Apr 21, 2021 - Tutor in Marietta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gives the tutors the opportunity to work one on one with students and the resources to tailor individual lesson plans for each student.

      Cons

      Hours can be inconsistent, with some days being very long while other are very short.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Job

      Apr 18, 2021 - SAT/ACT Math Tutor in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The staff is all very pleasant and friendly to be around. They’re always there to help you and the students. I feel fortunate that this was one of my first jobs.

      Cons

      Signing in and out for your work hours is not automatic. I felt really bad when I forgot to sign in.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Nice place to work!

      Apr 28, 2021 - Tutor in Frisco, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was a very flexible job.

      Cons

      Not much room to advance.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      HLC managing director

      Apr 28, 2021 - Managing Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with students, teaching, paid time off

      Cons

      Too many responsibilities, stressful, hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 740 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Huntington Learning Centers Job Seekers

    SAT/ACT English Test Prep
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Huntington Learning Centers? Share Your Experiences

    or