Cover image for Huntington Learning Centers
Logo

Huntington Learning Centers

Engaged Employer

Huntington Learning Centers

Add a Review

Huntington Learning Centers Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 971 of over 988 reviews
3.7
66% Recommend to a Friend
75% Approve of CEO

Found 971 of over 988 reviews

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Huntington Learning Centers CEO  Eileen Huntington (no image)
Eileen Huntington
218 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,937

976 Comments

Teachers

199.9K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/teachers/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Huntington Learning Centers~7937
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Pay is low for the amount of work that you have to complete in the center.(in 125 reviews)
  • "Management is poor.(in 40 reviews)
  • "No benefits and sometimes students cancel last mintue.(in 30 reviews)
  • "Not enough training provided(in 27 reviews)
  • "Very poorly managed with an emphasis on how much money they could squeeze out of every student instead of their success.(in 17 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Huntington Learning Centers and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Mission oriented company

    Nov 3, 2022 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of curricular resources and support from full time staff

    Cons

    The schedule can vary at times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Meaningful Work

    Nov 25, 2022 - Center Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Providing meaningful tutoring and education that is helpful for students.

    Cons

    Long hours, but generally you can negotiate to make it manageable and benefit all full-time staff.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Huntington Learning Centers team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fantastic atmosphere

    Nov 26, 2022 - Math Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company clearly stands for giving kids the best education possible and does what it can to make that a reality.

    Cons

    Although the structure is there, I've heard not all locations follow the structure.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Depends on executive director

    Nov 15, 2022 - Assistant Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of room for growth Wonderful program Loved my team

    Cons

    I was only part of a team of 2 and didn’t enjoy working with my executive director

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Environment, Could Use Better Pay

    Nov 8, 2022 - Tutor in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great environment with great coworkers. It's realky nice to only work with the students and never deal with the parents.

    Cons

    Could pay better - it's not a lot.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A great place to work!

    Oct 18, 2022 - Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My boss is supportive and helps me to learn and grow. The work is not very difficult and keeps you on your toes. You just need to be flexible and creative at times, which can be challenging, but fun. The majority of the kids are great to work with.

    Cons

    Some students can be tough to work with, but those are not too common.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Low-stress, Flexible Job

    Oct 19, 2022 - Teacher in Rochester, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Low-stress, good company culture, opportunities for higher hourly pay (ie: if you have a college degree, teaching certificate, etc.) Opportunities to work in-person and virtually; Choose your hours

    Cons

    Maybe not sustainable for a long-term job. Good for students and people who want to make extra money on the side.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Small Company

    May 27, 2022 - Assistant Director in Worthington, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Has an actual impact on children / future college students. Good start into the work force. Good experience for a job. You learn multiple skills - AE Evaluations, scheduling, leadership, marketing, sales, customer service, continued education, etc.

    Cons

    You wear a lot of different hats, can be good on somedays or a lot on other days. If you aren't big on marketing this may not be a good fit.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great people to work for

    Oct 26, 2022 - Academic Tutor in Lakeland, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Training is offered Everyday is different Great coworkers and Managers

    Cons

    Pay wasn’t great and no benefits

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    An Outdated but Fulfilling Job

    Oct 15, 2022 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Huntington is extremely flexible with its hours which means you can have a second job if you like or focus on your personal life and hobbies outside of work. The kids are always a joy to work with and my starting pay isn't bad. I got a small raise in a short amount of time compared to other jobs I've had and I even have wiggle room to be creative with the space.

    Cons

    The curriculum is EXTREMELY outdated. I've found slurs, outdated terminology, and vocabulary that even I don't recognize, and I have a degree in literature. Non-fiction stories that no longer are up to date such as Pluto being a planet, another story that has been proven false, and racism within some of the core readers (including math) that had me scrambling to make any corrections a learning experience. The business practice also feels old. Granted, I'm only speaking on behalf of the center I work at, but it's weird to me that the business is built around educating kids and preparing them for the future but the books are outdated and there's very little room to allow kids to be kids. Luckily my employer has allowed me to decorate the center, but I feel more pressured to just do things one way and not expand on what kids need to really feel listened to and engaged and I think that's a major downfall for the business overall. Kids aren't cattle and they shouldn't be treated like machines with little breaks or room to express themselves creatively. Lastly, the hours. I get it's a tutoring job and the amount an hour is great, but with the business practice, it feels as if you can't grow in the business and work longer to bring that money in without somehow hurting the business. It's weird and feels like they're asking for a lot of money from the families but then the money is distributed in a way that tries to pay the teachers well but then cuts back their time to be able to afford 4 hours of work at let's say $20 an hour at 3-4 days a week. It's like they value money over actually wanting to pay their teachers well and have the kids succeed in a modern facility.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 971 Reviews
</>Embed

Huntington Learning Centers Reviews FAQs

Huntington Learning Centers has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 988 reviews left anonymously by employees. 66% of employees would recommend working at Huntington Learning Centers to a friend and 52% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Huntington Learning Centers employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Huntington Learning Centers. This rating has improved by 9% over the last 12 months.

66% of Huntington Learning Centers employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Huntington Learning Centers 3.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 2.9 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Huntington Learning Centers to be workplace, work life balance, coworkers and the cons to be career development, benefits, management.

Popular Careers with Huntington Learning Centers Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Huntington Learning Centers? Share Your Experiences

Huntington Learning Centers logo

Huntington Learning Centers

or

Reviews by Job Title

Huntington Learning Centers Photos

+ Add Photo
Huntington Learning Centers photo of: Eileen Huntington at photo shoot with students
Huntington Learning Centers photo of: 2017 Toy Drive - Donations for NYC Administration for Children’s Services
Huntington Learning Centers photo of: Fall Sunshine Lunch Kick-Off - Celebrating over 170 years of employee tenure!
Huntington Learning Centers photo of: Congratulations Maureen T - 40 years with Huntington!!
Huntington Learning Centers photo of: Jennifer F celebrates 20 years with Huntington!
Huntington Learning Centers photo of: Congratulations to our 15 year anniversary crew!
Huntington Learning Centers photo of: Celebrating 5 years with Huntington!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Huntington Learning Centers Job Seekers Also Viewed

C2 Education Logo
C2 Education

3.2

808 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 988 Huntington Learning Centers reviews submitted anonymously by Huntington Learning Centers employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Huntington Learning Centers is right for you.