KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Huntington Learning Centers

Is this your company?

Huntington Learning Centers

Add a Review

Huntington Learning Centers Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Sep 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 66 of over 783 reviews

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Huntington Learning Centers CEO  Eileen Huntington (no image)
Eileen Huntington
177 Ratings
Pros
  • "They offer flexible hours to educators and pair you with motivated students(in 54 reviews)

  • "Got to have a flexible schedule and work 1-on-1 with the students which is exactly what I wanted to do(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay for staff without teacher certification(in 67 reviews)

  • "hard to get more hours, needed to find another part time(in 44 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Huntington Learning Centers and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "part time"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to teach

      Sep 18, 2019 - Exam Prep Teacher in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible scheduling. Wonderful students. Supportive staff. Great training. Paid training.

      Cons

      No benefits because all teachers are part time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Teacher Position

      Sep 23, 2020 - Teacher in Plymouth, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Some of the teachers + students are a real joy to work with.

      Cons

      -Absolutely pitiful compensation. Compensation is about half of what competing learning centers offer in the same area. The expectations for every teacher are obnoxious given how bad the compensation is. -Training/Management offers very little in terms of how to effectively work with students who have learning disabilities. -Curriculum is whack and often starts students at a completely irrelevant point relative to what they are currently working on in school. Forced to use their provided curriculum, which has several weak points. The curriculum can often frustrate students, leading them to saying things such as "why am I working on elementary school math, I'm in high school?" -The onus is put solely on the teacher, and it seems students have zero responsibility when it comes to entering the learning center ready to learn. This can often lead to conflict with management. -No upward mobility in the company at all. Do not come here if you want something that could develop into a career. This is either a part-time college gig, or a job you work after you have retired.

      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Opportunity to have the opportunity to see kids dreams come to reality!

      Nov 24, 2019 - Director in Pearland, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Huntington is the place were kids' fears are overcome. They learn they can do anything when they put worth effort and the right teacher. Huntington's academic program is easy to manage, line upon line and give excellent results-- when followed. As with anything when teachers vary too much from the curriculum and or program the students suffer.

      Cons

      Truly, the "ONLY" negative.... the days/hours the center is open. A Tutorial Center is open during the hours kids are out of school. This means for teachers and staff working nights and weekends. The part-time staff it's great. They can work as much or as little as they want. Full-time staff, after a while its becomes difficult.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      decent part time job opportunitiws

      Jan 20, 2020 - Tutor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great environment with friendly coworkers

      Cons

      hard to get more hours, needed to find another part time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not worth the pain

      Nov 22, 2019 - Assistant Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with students and helping them learn

      Cons

      Cons are literally every other part of the job: the franchisee owner doesn't let you work over 36 hours so they can keep you at part time, they constantly change your job description and give you duties that have nothing to do with your job so they can take more off their own plate, all while grossly underpaying you and giving absolutely 0 benefits. The most stressful and toxic work environment i have ever been a part of.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Huntington Learning Centers Response

      Vice President of Finance

      We are sincerely disappointed to hear about your experience. If there is any additional and specific feedback to provide, please contact our corporate representative at HawkinsDS@hlcmail.com.

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good for part-time workers

      Dec 10, 2019 - Math Instructor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are very nice there. It is good for part-time workers, students or people don't want to have resume gap.

      Cons

      Pay is not very good and the hours is also limited.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A great opportunity for part time work as a teacher

      Jul 10, 2019 - Teacher in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The ability and independence to set one's on schedule constitute a great advantage for an extra source of income as part time work.

      Cons

      One's schedule and projected income can be affected by students attendance.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fun place to work

      Aug 13, 2019 - Tutor in Beaverton, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Make your own schedule. Work within your realm of knowledge.

      Cons

      Not always part time, more like quarter time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good for students, bad for employees

      Nov 30, 2018 - Assistant Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The program does help students to significantly increase their scores.

      Cons

      I never saw this as a part time teacher but As the assistant director my boss and the owner treated me horribly (parent and child) to the point where I nearly quit on the spot every day for 2 weeks. I wasn’t given the training I was promised and was chastised for not knowing everything about the company within the first several months. My boss made mistakes and blamed them on me. They said terrible things about teachers and students behind their backs. they kept asking me to schedule teachers outside of their availability regularly because of over enrollment. They also paid me incorrectly and insist that what they did was in line with wage and hour laws. There have been about 6 AD’s at this franchise in the past 2 or 3 years according to my boss. They started telling me about previous people who they fired on my first day. This was not a healthy work environment

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The Problem Is the Profit Motive

      May 27, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Any pros were due entirely to the individuals who work in center. Teaching staff, esp those with advanced degrees, were generally able to adjust teaching styles and outdated curricula as needed to ensure students benefited from programs. Full-time staff worked hard and with the best intentions. The work environment was mostly positive, though would have been better if full-time staff members weren't each burdened with the workload of 2-3 employees, and if part-time staff had more consistent schedules and fair compensation. (Overworked and devalued employees are unhappy employees.) These benefits alone would be enough to bump my review to 2 or even 3 stars, but this review is for the company, not the staff, and...

      Cons

      Cons were due largely to the company itself. The profit motive is supposed to keep the customer happy by encouraging HLC to provide the best product possible ("give each student the best education possible," to quote the mission statement). In reality, it results in a worse product. Here are a few examples: 1. Pay for tutors is insultingly low. Most applicants who accept a tutoring position (and many decline, btw) do so while continuing to look for better-paying, more consistent work. Raises are few and far between and the scheduling inconsistent (10 hours one week, 4 the next), leaving tutors little incentive to stay even if they enjoy the work. This leads to high turnover, which leads to a lack of consistency for students. A student may bond and progress well with a specific tutor, only to have that tutor leave a third of the way through their program. The student ends up with a revolving door of tutors who have varying teaching styles and personalities, not all of which are conducive to their academic development. And while centers do retain some good tutors (mostly retirees who just want a side gig and don't rely on the income to live), the best ones usually leave as soon as they can. 2. HLC continues to use extremely outdated curricula (every reading passage about computers is unintentionally hilarious) because updating it would cost too much money. A good tutor can generally work with what they're given, but what they're given is still embarrassingly out-of-date and often contains inaccurate and, in some cases, offensive information. (Tutors: If the passage is about indigenous peoples, it's best to just skip it.) 3. HLC wants student programs to be as long, and therefore profitable, as possible. To make this happen, they start students with a grueling series of tests and interpret the results to make the students look further behind than they are. Then they design programs that place students in curricula far below their abilities, ostensibly to build "confidence." Sometimes the student does need to build confidence, but not for 30 hours, and on the parents' end, shelling out, say, $1500 for work their child never needed is just not a good investment. If HLC were a non-profit, the "product" would be better. The academic improvements I saw in many students when I worked at HLC were not the result of company policy or the HLC program, but of talented staff who cared about students and knew how to make the best of inadequate resources. Full-time staff have the option of either cognitive dissonancing themselves out of the moral quandaries HLC creates and throwing themselves wholeheartedly into the cult, or quietly disregarding the worst parts of company policy while continuing to seek better, more fulfilling work. During my time at the company, I saw both.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 66 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Huntington Learning Centers Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Huntington Learning Centers? Share Your Experiences

    or