Huntsman Cancer Institute "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Huntsman Cancer Institute Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Feb 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Huntsman Cancer Institute Chief Executive Officer Mary Beckerle (no image)
Mary Beckerle
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "Being an employee of the University comes with some great benefits(in 8 reviews)

  • "Really good benefits for long-term employees, possible to get a lot of vacation days, great resources working at a University, intelligent colleagues(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "fairly stressful, at times high turnover,(in 3 reviews)

  • "Parking is expensive and difficult to get but public transit is good enough that you can get there easily without a car(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Huntsman can be a great place to work or do research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntsman Cancer Institute full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Open environment and great benefits

    Cons

    Sometimes managers can be hit or miss. The orgnaization in general is a great place to work.

    Continue reading
    Huntsman Cancer Institute2020-02-06
  2. "Wonderful Cause"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Design Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntsman Cancer Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We are all working for a wonderful cause. Being an employee of the University comes with some great benefits.

    Cons

    There is no career path for an IT professional. Parking is expensive and poor. Salaries will be lower because you are working for a non-profit state-run organization. The work is challenging because you don't have a lot of funding or resources, but have a lot of needs. Politics is difficult because all senior management are very well educated, so there is a lot of entitlement going on.

    Continue reading
    Huntsman Cancer Institute2019-02-12
  3. "You have to really want to work here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntsman Cancer Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The facilities are great. Benefits package is excellent. Good food options at the cafeterias.

    Cons

    Chronically understaffed (noted by multiple outside sources including the FDA). Not valued by managers or doctors. Poor career progression opportunities. Unsustainable workloads (part of staffing issue). Blamed by management for things that are not our responsibilities often. Managers are constantly trying to implement new strategies that are ineffective and waste time. Parking is terrible as well.

    Continue reading
    Huntsman Cancer Institute2017-08-07
  4. "Graphic Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Layton, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntsman Cancer Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company and people to work with. A great cause to work for. Beautiful building and location. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Not progressive and find it hard to move up in the company. Compensation is not competitive. Can be emotionally draining.

    Continue reading
    Huntsman Cancer Institute2016-07-21
  5. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Huntsman Cancer Institute full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, great benefits for health and retirement, Pilates and yoga classes, able to help patients

    Cons

    nothing comes to my mind as a huge negative

    Huntsman Cancer Institute2016-03-09
  6. "Team Lead CRC, CCRP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Team Lead, Clinical Research Coordinator in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Huntsman Cancer Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, Cared for my patients, and became very close with my patients. Worked with very knowledgable and top quality physician in Oncology.

    Cons

    When you speak with a manager you feel like the manager is important, when you speak with a leader you feel like you are important. The managers should made themselves important, and you less then them. The physician's were true leaders. No room for advancement unless you had some kind of educational background, even in music. Even though i had over 13 years experience in the filed, i was paid less than most CRC's in the department.

    Continue reading
    Huntsman Cancer Institute2016-02-25
  7. "Inspiring place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Huntsman Cancer Institute

    Pros

    Great benefits, great workplace, nice people, great restaurant upstairs. Oodles of beautiful women work here...

    Cons

    Limited parking options. A bit out of the way to get to work.

    Huntsman Cancer Institute2014-01-29
  8. "False sense of commitment to employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OSS in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Huntsman Cancer Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great benefits, decent wages, beautiful workplace

    Cons

    terrible treatment of employees and staff

    Continue reading
    Huntsman Cancer Institute2012-08-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews