Huntsman Corp "middle management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Huntsman Corp Employee Reviews about "middle management"

Updated 30 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Huntsman Corp CEO Peter R. Huntsman
Peter R. Huntsman
132 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The IT lower to middle management levels are very poor in the Houston Texas site(in 9 reviews)

  • "Thing going down hill pretty fast in recent years, a lot more stress from upper management, letting people go without reason(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "middle management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Racist and lazy company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Port Neches, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Huntsman Corp full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    decent benefit and pay. Office is very nice.

    Cons

    Unless you are whites, the middle management level is full of racists and only promote/hire white people. Do nothing culture - if you try to improve the process/quality/efficiency, you are an enemy of lots of do-nothing mentality people, including your own manager. Incompetent management - lazy and do-nothing. Your skills and talent will be wasted in this company.

    Advice to Management

    Set up KPIs. Need to hold middle level managers accountable. Change your racist culture. Give minorities and people of color some opportunities to develop.

    Huntsman Corp2019-04-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Poor IT Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Huntsman Corp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good folks to work with on projects on the ground.

    Cons

    The IT lower to middle management levels are very poor in the Houston Texas site. They believe that since they have been there the longest, then there is job security and failing projects are okay. A common saying there - If it hasn't already been done a certain way here, don't look for new ways to work, and don’t expect other ways of work to ever happen. Very low morale, and no real sense of accomplishment... on projects. It’s sad to say, but don’t expect to bring anything to the table new, as just get the work done if even its wrong and not industry standards to appease the project sponsor (IT mgmt.) The so-called management there is unknowledgeable of new technology and need sever training on soft skills. Unfortunately, and most of these so-called leaders and managers haven't ever been in a real project, or led a project (but have a Project Manager title:-) Very bad hours as you have time zones to consider on projects, etc but can only work 40 hours a week but are excepted to work full 8 hours in the office only, and then cover the timezone mtg's as well. No work life balance on projects.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you're going to promote junior Leads to Project Managers. Then make sure they are knowledgeable about all stages in projects, listen to seasoned staff and contractors, and stop wearing their little ego’s on the shoulders that they are so proud of there. Make sure they are accountable for their results, and not ploy through contractors because they dot know how to run a project or lead staff! Be aware, IF NOT,... then this site is not a good place to work for in IT (Houston Texas)!

    Show More
    Huntsman Corp2019-03-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Huntsman Polyurethanes is all talk but no action."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Huntsman Corp for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Huntsman provides its employees with great insurance, safe working conditions as well as a nice work environment. Upper management always seemed to know what the priorities of the company were and worked at informing their employees of these priorities.

    Cons

    Salary is below average compared to averages at other large polyurethane companies for technicians, chemists and engineers. Middle management has no "real" authority in regards to pay raises, firing employees, and hiring employees. Employees in technical roles are not overly valued and getting promoted in the company in nearly impossible. Lastly the technology provided is outdated in regards to both lab equipment... as well as computer equipment.

    Show More
    Huntsman Corp2013-04-26
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Coordinator in Sydney

    I worked at Huntsman Corp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and super is 13% staff benefits access to training safety culture focus

    Cons

    long hours lazy middle management

    Huntsman Corp2019-07-30
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Sad to see things have not changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Hartlepool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Huntsman Corp

    Pros

    The wage is the only pro I can think of but no amount of money can buy your life

    Cons

    I worked in the Pigments Customer Service dept answered I can honestly say this was one of the worst years of my life. Ian still scarred by the experience now. I have never worked in a more fearful, bullying, backstabbing environment and the stress of working here took over every aspect of my life. The focus was that all staff should conform to the 'perfect employee'. Diversity and individualism meant was not... welcome and if your face did not fit you became a target or a joke. Middle management were absolutely juvenile and although I know changes have been made here reading the reviews on here demonstrates that little has changed This should be a fantastic place to work but isn't

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Embrace diversity. You pride yourselves on recruiting talent from all over the world but then you want them all to be exactly the same Support people don't bully them Create a team environment where people actually enjoy coming into work and being with each other. This means accepting people's flaws and working with them instead of putting pressure on them to be perfect

    Huntsman Corp2017-04-29
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Review about Pigments Customer Service team in Wynyard, UK. Good company, good role, not-so-good team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Administrator in Stockton-on-Tees, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Huntsman Corp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great company to work with, looks good on your CV - The Customer Service department will hire you at entry level so it's a good start to your career - They invest a lot in your training so you are not thrown at the deep end. - There are opportunities to move up but there are masses of office politics that you have to play up to in order to get the opportunities; meaning that the promotion does not always go to... the most prepared/experienced/skilled candidate but the candidate that fits in more with the cliquey-gossipy culture.

    Show More

    Cons

    -The Customer Service team lacks communication and a real team feeling. - A lot of gossiping in the Customer Service team: jealousy and general misery. - A high turnover in this team however because this is an entry-level job, this is to be expected. - There is a 'blame' culture where if something goes wrong nobody owns up to it, everyone blames each other and middle management are more preoccupied with finding... the culprit and reprimand them than getting issues sorted.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Work more to build a team at the Customer Service department and on their communication.

    Huntsman Corp2017-02-27
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Absent upper management and lack of direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Manager in Guadalajara, Jalisco
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Huntsman Corp full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    First, let me tell you that there is no such thing as "Huntsman Corp" regarding the working atmosphere. Your impressions will be very different if you work for Textile Effects, Advanced Materials or any other division. They will also be very different if you work in Mexico, U.S.A. or Thailand. So, for the sake of clarity my oppinions refer to the Textile Effects division in general, and to the Atotonilquillo... facilities in particular. Pros: good salary, car plan for managers, a chance to get experience before going somewhere else.

    Show More

    Cons

    Plant is 60 km away from the main city (where most engineers live), so commuting time is an issue. Forget work-life balance. You are expected to work for long hours. The facility is old. Renewal of critical equipment is hindered by excessive bureaucracy; don't expect this to change soon. Every two years or so a new management fad comes in (six sigma, operational excellence, lean, 5's, you name it) and this takes its... toll on your productivity. Horrible working environment with backstabbing, toxic people and incompetent leadership in middle-management. No coaching or feedback, aside from annual performance reviews forcing you to fit into a preset normal distribution. If you are a top performer and can work on yourown, there are chances that you will be ignored by your busy boss. Few chances for growth and development: you may stay for 15 or more years in the same position. Terrible, nonefficient production planning. No support from the local H.R. department - if you're in trouble with your working buddies, you're on your own. If you complain about an incompetent manager blocking everybody else's job, then sit and wait: nothing will happen. High levels of stress because there is no common direction to follow and everyone is putting out fires instead of working together with a common objective. Most valuable people has been fired or is retired, leading to a lack of know-how. In the old Ciba times we all new whom to ask, we had experts, we had knowledgable people, we had support from Basel, but this is gone now. Indifference from upper management: in seven years, the CEO never visited the site.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My feeling is that the upper management never listened to our concerns, and I don't think this is going to change in the near future. I must say that I once had a very good direct manager. Unfortunately, this was only for a short time, when I had already made the decision to leave.

    Huntsman Corp2015-11-19
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Uncertainty requirements"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Huntsman Corp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The salary scheme does meet to the market standard.

    Cons

    The progress on the re-org is continuing with unknown status. Negative mindset with no confidence towards the whole organization. No career roadmap for individual, except for selective associates who are in bosses' "good shoes". Lack of Leadership and Teamwork. Middle management manipulates their subordinates. No guidance is given, especially in crucial situations. Inflexible thoughts and guidelines. Low... self esteem working as either contractors or associates.

    Show More
    Huntsman Corp2014-04-25
  9. Helpful (3)

    "It's just another day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manufacturing 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Huntsman Corp

    Pros

    Good working environment; people are treated with decency. Offices are generally nice. Nice job of reshaping the company is generating great (unrealized?) potential.

    Cons

    Middle management is weak resulting in indecisiveness. Communication is also very weak. Career development is very poor, people apparently can only fill one role. Leadership is non-existent, survival mode management only. As with most large organizations, personal reputation management far exceeds management of the business.

    Advice to Management

    Refinancing is important but it is too often the major corporate highlight. The business horizon has to be longer than 18 months. Focus on driving a dynamic vision through middle management to the rock face.

    Huntsman Corp2011-06-07
Found 9 reviews