Huntsville Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Huntsville Hospital Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 183 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Huntsville Hospital CEO David Spillers
David Spillers
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Job security, good benefits for health insurance(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, beautiful campus, progressive technology(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Understaffed, low pay for nurses compared to other hospitals(in 9 reviews)

  • "The unit is short staffed everyday and has a patient turnover of up to %50(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Huntsville Hospital part-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Great people to work with.

      Cons

      Salary needs to be more competitive.

      Huntsville Hospital2019-06-28
    • "Its ok"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Reg Representative 
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Huntsville Hospital full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Its a good starting out job

      Cons

      Management can be vague. Clinval buts blame on non clinical

      Huntsville Hospital2019-07-02
    • "Excellent growth opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Registered Nurse 

        I have been working at Huntsville Hospital full-time

        Pros

        Great opportunities to grow professionally.

        Cons

        Low base pay for starting nurses

        Huntsville Hospital2019-06-18
      • "The reason I work at Huntsville Hospital"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Staff Nurse in Huntsville, AL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Huntsville Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        The pay is great for my education level. I love the patient care.

        Cons

        Oftentimes cliquish on the units. Sometimes it seems promotions made based on how much you are liked.

        Advice to Management

        Treat all shifts like they matter, not just day shift.

        Huntsville Hospital2019-06-27
      • Helpful (1)

        "RN"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - R N in Huntsville, AL
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Huntsville Hospital full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Job security, good benefits for health insurance

          Cons

          Doesn’t care about staff, a warm body is good enough, very poor pay and budget cutting to spare a cheap computer system, overworked and understaffed, management is as burned out as the nurses

          Advice to Management

          Pay more if you want higher expectations

          Huntsville Hospital2019-06-18
        • "Okay for Experience"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Central Processing Technician in Huntsville, AL

          I worked at Huntsville Hospital

          Pros

          Gain experience in a lab

          Cons

          Bad hours Pay isn’t great

          Huntsville Hospital2019-06-12
        • Helpful (1)

          "Just a number"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Commercial Follow Up Representative in Huntsville, AL
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Huntsville Hospital full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Nothing nothing nothing nothing nothing at all. Horrible

          Cons

          Every thing nothing was good horrible

          Advice to Management

          Invest in your employees

          Huntsville Hospital2019-05-30
        • "Good place to work!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Biomedical Equipment Technician in Huntsville, AL
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Huntsville Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

          Pros

          Great people to work with. Always work to do. A variety of opportunities. They are willing to send you to plenty of schools for training.

          Cons

          Pay not where is should be for the employees. Need to raise the biomeds pay.

          Advice to Management

          If you pay your employees what they deserve then they will stay and work harder.

          Huntsville Hospital2019-04-28
        • "Awesome company to work with and for."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntsville, AL
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Huntsville Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

          Pros

          I love the benefits. The system is a great place of business. Now that there's so much expansion there's always more room for growth and development.

          Cons

          The only downside I can thing of would be the point system with the attendance policy. I completely understand why it's implemented; however, life circumstances sometimes effect an individual's schedule.

          Huntsville Hospital2019-04-25
        • "Per diem"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Huntsville Hospital part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          More control of your schedule

          Cons

          Understaffed; very rarely have enough staff on weekends

          Advice to Management

          More incentives

          Huntsville Hospital2019-04-03
        Found 183 reviews