Hurley "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Hurley Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
88%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Hurley Hurley International, CEO Bob Hurley (no image)
Bob Hurley
37 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, not a ton of growth opportunity, income discrepancy based on gender(in 4 reviews)

  • "Sometimes would get called into work a shift that got dropped but other than that no cons(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "salary interest review head line"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Product Development 

    I have been working at Hurley full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment given the area

    Cons

    Issues sticking the product calendar

    Hurley2019-10-10
  2. "Used to be an amazing brand to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hurley full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people that I met in my many years at Hurley were by far what kept me around so long. There is so much strong talent in the stores and the former District Manager for Texas/East Coast developed strong leaders and challenged us to succeed, which was such a great working environment. The retail division is so small that all the store managers in the US know eachother, which can make for really awesome opportunities and connections. You feel a part of the brand as the corporate team is very involved in the stores and managers are flown to HQ every year for a conference. The salary and incentives for Store Managers are the best I have seen for any retailer of similar volume. There is also the whole Nike affiliation which comes with nice discounts and benefits.

    Cons

    The last year I was there, everything began to go downhill. The stores and entire retail division were doing extremely well, but they began to scale back in unnecessary ways. The first red flag being that they kept the VP of Retail position vacant for over a year. They also consolidated all US stores to 1 district manager(1 person for 35 stores) and in doing so, lost one of their most valuable employees in the retail field. We were constantly promised the potential of new store openings, which would create opportunities for growth. But we were lucky if they decided to open 1 new store per year, despite the financial success and hard work of the store teams.The politics and cliques are absurd and the corporate team will cover each other’s backs until they have to throw someone under the bus. I truly loved this company for many of my years there, but am saddened to see the way things continue to play out.

    Continue reading
    Hurley2019-05-17
  3. "Cliques, Gossip, and High School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Costa Mesa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Hurley full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Discount/benefits is great - lenient work environment - yearly reviews and bonus (depending on your position)

    Cons

    - consistent gossip and trash talking (make up code names to talk bad about other people in the office) - very clique-ish and not very welcoming - hard to move up or move around the company unless you are friends with the higher ups or have connections - not so easy to move into Nike roles. Apparently Nike isn’t a fan of hurley employees (heard this from an employee who went to work in Oregon)

    Continue reading
    Hurley2019-03-14
  4. "Key Holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate/Key Holder in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hurley for less than a year

    Pros

    The company truly cares about its employees There are many skills you can acquire working here if you're just starting to gain work experience. There are opportunities for advancement and it's a team-working environment.

    Cons

    There are no cons working for this company.

    Hurley2018-10-19
  5. "Hurley Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hurley part-time

    Pros

    Great experience for future sales career Great work environment Friendly team

    Cons

    Low pay 8.75 an hour No commission Quick to promote employees into management that aren't properly trained Limited promotion inside company

    Hurley2018-05-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Political corporate environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Technical Designer in Costa Mesa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hurley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generous in giving out samples to employees.

    Cons

    It is a very political work environment. Permanent hiring rarely ever takes place. People are very good at blaming others when something goes wrong. I worked there for over a year with no raise and made minimum wage. I was never given a clear career path within the company. It takes very long for anything to happen. There was a period of time where I worked full time hours plus overtime, but didn't receive any benefits because I was considered a "part-time over employee." No chance to grow within the company. Only a select few have been given the opportunity to grow.

    Continue reading
    Hurley2017-09-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Fun place to work with little room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hurley full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and work/life balance. Fun place to work overall.

    Cons

    No room for career growth. Very clique-y work environment. Sexist treatment of employees. Very little honest communication from upper management.

    Continue reading
    Hurley2016-07-29
  8. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hurley part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff, laid back work environment.

    Cons

    Not much room for growth.

    Continue reading
    Hurley2016-07-08
  9. "Digital Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hurley

    Pros

    Energetic and positive work environment. Wonderful and educational internship program with weekly guest speakers and lots of free food. Also teach you how to surf!

    Cons

    Not always delegated too so sometimes felt extra or in the way. Not a lot of access to company meetings to just sit in and listen. Took a long time to have consistency among tasks.

    Continue reading
    Hurley2016-05-26
  10. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hurley

    Pros

    Excellent internship. Great, relaxed work environment. Able to learn from all positions.

    Cons

    There are not a lot of job openings which is a bummer because it is such a great company to work for!

    Hurley2016-03-09
Found 12 reviews