Huron Consulting Group Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Huron Consulting Group Director Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
88%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Huron Consulting Group CEO James H. (Jim) Roth
James H. (Jim) Roth
36 Ratings
  1. "Great Company to Work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of organizational support.

    Cons

    High expectations and fast paced environment may not be for everyone.

    Huron Consulting Group2019-04-30
  2. "Tough Environment, Laggard to Peers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Director in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some interesting work, especially in Academic Medical Centers

    Cons

    Lack of cohesive strategy, litigious, MD comp tied to a poorly performing share price

    Huron Consulting Group2019-10-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Tough on employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel, meet decent clients, education

    Cons

    No support from management, looked only at near term

    Huron Consulting Group2019-08-08
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Siloed and struggles to absorb acquisitions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Collegial atmosphere, less command and control unlike other Consulting firms

    Cons

    Poor collaboration across practice areas. Org Structure perpetuates territorial behavior by MD's. Insufficient investment in methodology and research. Diversity is driven almost entirely by white female and LGBT - very little representation from other ethnicitys.

    Huron Consulting Group2019-03-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Really good culture - Wonderful people - Significant, measurable impact with clients - Great place to grow a career

    Cons

    - Huron is experiencing a considerable growth curve and is having to work hard to stay ahead of resource and capacity needs. Lots of great steps being taking to address...but will take a little time.

    Advice to Management

    The firm has evolved a lot over recent years...to the better. Stay focused on bringing the strategy to life. Will be very interesting to see where we are 3-5 years from now!

    Huron Consulting Group2019-02-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Professional, Smart, Opportunities everywhere, Good Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Huron hires some of the best, most talented recent college graduates in the marketplace. My co-workers were some of the most professional and well respected individuals in the market Base compensation and bonus was very good. There were some down years but overall, we were paid well above average. Benefits and 401k matching are some of the best in the consulting world

    Cons

    They sold my division in 2016 to a Venture Capital firm. Not really a con for Huron just didn't workout for the consulting arm of our group.

    Huron Consulting Group2019-02-21
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - The people that work here are amazing (smart, good people, fun). The culture is tight knit and your co-workers become your best friends. - There is a strong culture of development and coaching. I always felt like leadership had my back and was helping me plan for my next role, promotion, development opportunity, etc. I really felt like I was in control of my career. - I really respect and trust senior... leadership. Leadership is very transparent and available to any level. - Work is challenging, but fun

    Show More

    Cons

    We had a couple of slow years in healthcare. The practice leader at the time seemed slow to make necessary changes to get us back on track. We now have new leadership that is very committed to this and I feel good about where we're going. Travel can be tough, but that's all part of the deal with consulting.

    Huron Consulting Group2018-09-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging work environment Supportive leadership Great Benefits

    Cons

    Lack of a solid work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to your employees

    Huron Consulting Group2018-09-30
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Helping our clients with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've made my career at Huron for a number of reasons, most notably is the people. I've made some of my very best friends at this company, friends that I consider family. I feel very grateful to be surrounded with such passionate, driven, and integrity-filled people each day. I also find the work incredibly challenging and constantly changing. We work in almost every area of hospital/medical group operations so... there is always something new to learn. Additionally, each client brings new challenges - related to functional process improvement or, my favorite, change management and coaching challenges. These challenges keep me motivated and excited to come to work each day. Lastly, it is so rewarding to do good work for a hospital. Knowing that the work I'm doing impacts families at their toughest times or helps to keep hospitals open is much more motivating to me than helping another industry's profit margin.

    Show More

    Cons

    Obviously, the travel can be obnoxious and it can be hard to be away from home so much. There have also been projects I haven't loved - difficult clients or bosses that I wasn't sad to walk away from at the end of the engagement. Luckily those have been infrequent and only temporary.

    Huron Consulting Group2018-09-24
  10. "Solid company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Culture is good for employee alignment

    Cons

    Still in growth stage out of small company to large player.

    Huron Consulting Group2018-06-19
Found 53 reviews