Huron Consulting Group Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Huron Consulting Group President, CEO and Director James H. (Jim) Roth
James H. (Jim) Roth
424 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Depending on Project Leader the work life balance can be bad(in 75 reviews)

  • "I was literally told by upper management to accept that we will never have good product management(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Company to work for"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Financial Reporting Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are amazing and the atmosphere is welcoming. Everyone I have encountered has been polite and respectful.

    Cons

    I find nothing wrong with Huron

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    October 4, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback.

  2. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    They truly do care about their employees. CEO is incredible. Benefits are good. Resources within company are outstanding.

    Cons

    Like many places, middle management seems to not be the greatest or follow along with the overall vision of Huron.

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    July 8, 2020Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback.

  3. "Great Learning Opportunity Post-Undergrad"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Analyst, Life Sciences Practice 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    - In Life Sciences, multi-project model gives a wide range of work experience across disease areas, project types (e.g. clinical vs commercial) - Great community

    Cons

    - Professional development depends heavily on which senior team members you work with - Clients = 10% smart people, 90% stupid people. But that is the way with any consulting client, not specific to Huron

  4. "Lots of perks, but overworked"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategy Consultant in New York, NY
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, in-office snacks, dinners comped on late nights

    Cons

    Hours can be grueling, office is quiet, not really a friends-outside-of-work type of culture

  5. "Amazing Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiting Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Huron is an incredible company to work for. A few of my favorite perks were the work life balance, unlimited PTO, summer hours, competitive compensation package, and much more. The people within the company made my experience very enjoyable. Everyone is friendly and willing to help in anyway.

    Cons

    If you are prefer Dunkin over Starbucks, you will have to walk to the corner for your coffee :). Starbucks machines are located on every floor in the building (a major pro for some)!

    Continue reading

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    July 8, 2020Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your positive feedback. Our people are undoubtedly what makes Huron such a special place to work. We are delighted to hear you had an amazing experience working at Huron.

  6. "Ok place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Unlimited days off and decent healthcare

    Cons

    Disconnect with the leadership and lack of direction in career path

    Continue reading

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    July 8, 2020Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. The mentoring and career mobility program is intended to make it easier for employees to navigate their career path.

  7. "Fine, still siloed"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Associate Healthcare Consultant in Raleigh, NC

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Great people who truly care about their clients and each other

    Cons

    Still siloed; hard to expand work experience; some leaders are not trained properly and run teams into the ground

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    July 8, 2020Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. Our people are no doubt the heart of our business. Ongoing development is a continued area of focus as we work to ensure everyone has the resources and support to grow in their careers.

  8. "Good Experience"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunities to get exposure to Higher Ed

    Cons

    Not a very transparent staffing process

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    July 8, 2020Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled that Huron was able to provide you with helpful exposure to Higher Education.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    • you keep all travel benefits • great starting salary • culture promotes growth • tons of training opportunities

    Cons

    • the travel can get exhausting • don’t have much say on which projects you get on

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    May 28, 2020Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on our people and culture. 

  10. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Great work life environment and good company overall

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    May 28, 2020Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. Our people are undoubtedly what makes Huron such a special place to work.

Found 791 reviews