Huron Consulting Group "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Huron Consulting Group Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Oct 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Huron Consulting Group President, CEO and Director James H. (Jim) Roth
James H. (Jim) Roth
428 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance hard to maintain to meet deadlines(in 74 reviews)

  • "I was literally told by upper management to accept that we will never have good product management(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing company culture. Great people - smart, accountable, knowledgeable. A work hard, play hard environment with clients needs and satisfaction at the forefront of all the work we do.

    Cons

    Recent softness in the healthcare market has left the platform feeling a bit unsteady. However; Huron is not the only company experiencing this. Work/life balance is not always prioritized.

    Advice to Management

    Consider retention bonuses to keep your strong performers engaged and around to get through the hurdles.

    Huron Consulting Group2017-04-11
  2. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, very talented and hard working.

    Cons

    Different culture across LOBs - some groups are much more autonomous than others

    Advice to Management

    Retain the good talent

    Huron Consulting Group2019-10-29
  3. "Great people, tedious work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people who have high EQs, lots of upward mobility at low levels

    Cons

    work is dreary in healthcare

    Huron Consulting Group2019-07-11
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Trending Down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ES Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/life balance is decent for consulting (think, 10-12 hr workdays M-R, easy Fridays) Great people Youthful culture

    Cons

    Noncompetitive pay (mgmt insists it is not an issue, despite constant complaints and the fact that we are hemorrhaging analysts and associates) Highly political Understaffed (can't keep any good experienced hires for 6+ months)

    Advice to Management

    Bring pay at least up to market - it's unreasonable to expect people to see their peers at other firms dramatically widening the pay gap and stick around just because they like the culture. Nice coworkers don't pay our mortgages.

    Huron Consulting Group2019-02-27
  5. "Good Honest Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Great people all around. Challenging work aplenty. Flexible management.

    Cons

    Some of the software products are a little long in the tooth. Newer product development feels a little rocky with mixed confidence levels, but with good intentions at least.

    Advice to Management

    Some Senior Management members are a little unpredictable and hard to read. Leadership for the most part wants to do well.

    Huron Consulting Group2019-01-03
  6. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Great People to work with, and great network

    Cons

    Culture is spoken but not implemented or enforced. Some areas do abide by it, but generally it's a ton of double speak.

    Huron Consulting Group2018-10-25
  7. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, and big opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Full time travel, haphazard corporate management

    Huron Consulting Group2018-02-28
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Experienced Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Great people- Everyone I've interacted with is extremely kind, open to help, and genuinely care. This truly makes Huron stand apart from other firms that tend to be competitive and cut-throat. Input from day 1- I was included in the conversation on analysis for my project on day 1. My thoughts were heard, discussed, and integrated into the final deliverable. It is rare to find a company that makes you feel valued. Flexible- You can work from home or other locations when it doesn't interfere with client work. Unlimited PTO is a great bonus. Requests for PTO must be approved by your project manager, but I haven't had any issues. Feedback- You should get and give feedback during and at the conclusion of each project. Feedback has always been phrased constructively and professionally. Additionally, everyone has a peer mentor and a coach to go to for advice. Overall, Huron stands by its core values and has been an amazing opportunity.

    Show More

    Cons

    Tools- 99.9% of work is done in excel. Huron makes it very difficult for people who have experience in other tools to get them. There is a desire to keep pushing to improve (a great pro), but there is a lack of willingness to invest in the tools needed to do so. Too many websites/portals- There are about 10 different sites/tools/systems/etc.. It is extremely confusing when you start out and far too complicated.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in the skills your people have by giving them the tools they need. this will lead to innovation, better output, additional capabilities, and ultimately more revenue.

    Huron Consulting Group2017-12-22
  9. "Average place but little vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Strong culture, good benefits, great people

    Cons

    Does not respond to market changes quickly

    Huron Consulting Group2017-11-13
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Poor Management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people depending on which projects you're assigned too.

    Cons

    Little to no input on the projects you're staffed on. Poor life balance. I was told by a manager to expect 1-1.5 hours of free time each night but I should be working after work until I go to bed. Mass layoffs for the past year leading to understaffing and bringing on new hires who have no idea what they're doing, while letting go of some of the highest performing consultants. Promotions are managed like a boys club. If you know the right managers, you'll get the promotion - regardless of tenure or qualifications.

    Show More
    Huron Consulting Group2017-09-24
Found 52 reviews