KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Huron Consulting Group

Engaged Employer

Huron Consulting Group

Add a Review

Huron Consulting Group Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Oct 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 of over 1,097 reviews

4.1
85%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Huron Consulting Group President, CEO and Director James H. (Jim) Roth
James H. (Jim) Roth
583 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good compensation, work life balance(in 120 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with overall which made the job rewarding(in 57 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Consulting can be challenging when it comes to work/life balance(in 79 reviews)

  • "Upper Management can be a boys club where promotions are given to buddies, not necessarily the folks who deserve them(in 27 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Huron Consulting Group and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Trainwreck of a division

      Jan 9, 2020 - Software Engineer in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Unlimited PTO - Some very fun and enjoyable people working there - Company culture leans more startup-like - Ping pong, great snacks, beer on tap

      Cons

      - HHSG is one of the worst companies I have ever seen in terms of management. They are absolutely abysmal at creating software and managing. - The worst employees are regularly promoted to the top, and once the employees are at the top they are unremovable - Product management is unbelievably inept. They are so inept the entire company is aware of this, yet due to decades of tenure from this team they are unable to removed. I was literally told by upper management to accept that we will never have good product management. - Promotion structure involved giving you the responsibility of the new job with no pay or promotion backing it with "promises" of the pay and promotion in the future - Poor stewards of technology: Their main product and biggest cash cow was neglected, shoved aside, and exploited while the underlying infrastructure of the product crumbled. Quick features and bugfixes to save contracts. Never did they take the time to refactor the product or fix serious infrastructural issues.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Huron Consulting Group Response

      Employee Experience Leadership

      Thank you for your feedback. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further about your experience as it is not aligned with our values or culture, please reach out to hresources@huronconsultinggroup.com

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Challenging work with great clients

      Oct 12, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Travel (pre COVID), great colleagues, interesting work

      Cons

      Upper Management can be a boys club where promotions are given to buddies, not necessarily the folks who deserve them

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      sub par

      Oct 18, 2019 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      pretty much hands off while at client site - which is pro and con! when opportunity allows you to work with other consultants - they are nice and helpful and talented! Some consultant managers are fantastic!

      Cons

      Cut throat competitive. The weaker Managers/Coaches are not invested in their team . Weak managers will throw members of their team under the bus if they feel it will make them look better to upper management. Usually no one has consultant's back and no one cares about your input. Client is always right - consultant is screwed if client doesn't like you or if they change their minds about paying Huron's consultant rates.

      4 people found this review helpful

      Huron Consulting Group Response

      Employee Experience Leadership

      The environment you describe is contrary to our goal of providing a work environment in which one can grow professionally. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further about your experience, please reach out to hresources@huronconsultinggroup.com

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Growing pains

      May 28, 2019 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      unlimited time off, lots of free food and coffee, pay okay for the area.

      Cons

      Upper management has issues because they like to hire their friends. Micro managing, special treatment for friends or ones they are scared of but not others, little growth for analyst and associates. Little rewards if you do a good job at that level. L.ack of privacy at work.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great co-workers, okay work with little room for growth and creativity

      Mar 13, 2013 - Associate Revenue Cycle Consultant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Co-workers are fun and caring. - Some of the work is interesting, and clients do benefit from some of the services. - Good training opportunities

      Cons

      - The way teams approach projects is archaic and leaves little opportunity for innovation or learning, especially if you are on the lower end of the hierarchy. A lot of what you do is detail-oriented work that is dictated to you from above. If you have an idea of how things may work better, don't count on anyone listening. - Lots of travel for most consulting positions; travel every week - Monday 7am through Thursday evening. This gets really old. - Definitely a "good old boys" feel for upper management. The hierarchical feel is very prominent as well-- not lots of open discussion between levels within the organization. - Definitely a stereotypical consultant vibe within the company-- "if you speak the lingo, people will think you know what you're talking about". This wasn't the case for everyone I came across, but was more prevalent that I liked. It made me feel bad to have the client paying for staff that were not prepared and did not provide quality work, but tried to give the impression that they did. - Pay and compensation is low compared to similar companies.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      The IT Department management is bad and they should feel bad.

      Feb 6, 2014 - Analyst\IT Support in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They emphasize on training and give you options of what training you can take. Generous vacation/PTO days. Very friendly and super nice employees outside of IT.

      Cons

      The IT department is in disarray and divided.There is the network team and then everyone else.The network team is the worst group of people I've ever had the displeasure of working with. If you ask them question or go to them for help you get eye rolls and short, unhelpful answers.That group has a problem of keeping employees. Which I feel is a reflection of poor upper management. Another problem I had when I was working there is that management does not have your back. They will throw you under the bus so fast to make themselves look good to other management. Even the HR person for IT is a waste of office space.The times I went to HR with complaints they were ignored or I was brushed off. It was such a weight of my shoulders when I left Huron and found a place were IT management actually cares about you.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Alot of hype with no real substance / Smoke and Mirrors

      Nov 9, 2012 - HET Manager in Beaverton, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are satisfactory. People in the trenches are excellent

      Cons

      Upper management such as managing directors are so far off the mark on what clients really want that they make poor decisions, relay the marching orders, then blame on site management when the client gets upset. There is no collaboration whatsoever between team members at the management level and no room for creativity and new ideas. There is a very high turnover that is covered up by HR, especially for those individuals who are not willing to give up their integrity and do whatever is asked of them even if is it against the Project Management Code of Ethics. I hate to say this but their upper management level is basically a Whites Only Club. In my 20 years of experience, I never had to deal with discrimination until I worked for Huron. I even tried to express my concerns with HR and my mentor, which led to my termination mainly becuase I refused to commit an unethical act.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      not a good company - revenue cycle

      Oct 14, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - travel perks allow you to keep all the miles and points earned for yourself - unlimited PTO - growth opportunities - smart people

      Cons

      - very hierarchical. Directors and managers don't talk to you. Analysts report to associates and associates will say you may be performing fine to you, then throw you under the bus when anything goes wrong and blame you to managers/directors. Upper management believe them since they don't have any exposure to your work since it is shielded by a middle man (associate) who may twist the story. - horrible hours - low pay per industry standard - they say promotions are based on merit, but really it's luck of the draw. Have to be on the right project with the right opportunities at the right time - there are several young people in the company who are not quite mature enough to have the soft skills required to manage people fairly or adeptly.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great people, highly standardized work, variability in management quality

      Mar 22, 2013 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The analyst and associate levels are full of bright, energetic, genuine people that can become lifelong friends The analytical and project management training you receive is very robust

      Cons

      -Very little abstract thought required in the work -Professionals are discouraged from participating in business development activities -Little entreprenuership in the culture -Good old boy network within upper management with old Arthur Anderson and other Big 4 connections driving much of the hierarchy -The illusion of merit-based advancement is perpetuated by a byzantine performance evaluation process that is prioritized less and less in favor of subjective informal tribal evaluation as you advance -Some managers are invested in the development of their teams, but others see it as a chore -Emotional intelligence is not considered a core competency of management

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      They are all about working 24/7 and getting those numbers. Not people friendly.

      Oct 21, 2013 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary & great benefits - but when you broke it down to the hours I had to work, the salary wasn't worth it.

      Cons

      NO WORK/LIFE BALANCE. They own you. Work grinder environment. If you aren't working on three engagements and not involved in 15 work groups you are not doing enough. 70% of work force is just out of college. They are willing to work 24/7 and prolong their college life, only now they have money and can travel. Not a work environment for the seasoned professional. Huron is not interested in new ideas or improving. They are interested in hitting their numbers and getting "quick hits." Upper management is clueless. They claim to have values but it is simply on paper to prevent law suits.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 27 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Huron Consulting Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Huron Consulting Group? Share Your Experiences

    or