KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Hy-Vee

Is this your company?

Hy-Vee

Add a Review

Hy-Vee Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3,209 of over 3,260 reviews

3.6
60%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Hy-Vee Chairman, CEO & President Randy Edeker
Randy Edeker
1,086 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible schedule for college students(in 194 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, can pick up shifts(in 189 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management seemed to not care about the employees(in 114 reviews)

  • "They hire you part time but expect you to work full-time with(in 101 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Hy-Vee and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      A great place to work

      Jul 13, 2021 - Courtesy Clerk 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly environment good people managers that listen

      Cons

      Fast paced environment occasional angry customer

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great first job for high school graduates/college students

      Jul 18, 2021 - Grocery Home Shopper in Rochester, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This was my first job, out of high school, and I honestly could not have asked for a better way to enter the workforce. As a part-time worker, I had flexibility around my personal life and college schedule. I actively pursued a positive relationship with HR during the entirety of my career with Hy-Vee, and this allowed me to gain experience in different departments, switch stores between my college town and hometown, and I was able to quickly gain the trust of management. Great employee perks, even for part-time positions. They wholly believe in giving every person an opportunity, including those who have disabilities.

      Cons

      I will say, the experience workers have in this company will likely come down to who the head managers are, as well as the respective store's owner. I started under great ownership, and left shortly after HR and ownership changed hands.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent place to work

      Jul 30, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Two breaks a shift and good colleagues. Co-workers are good people. Work is not difficult. Access to food for lunch on-site.

      Cons

      Management can be mean and generally bow down to any Karen that comes through. Pay is generally low. Hours can sometimes be less than agreeable

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      An ok cashier job…

      Jul 1, 2021 - Cashier in Savage, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great with honoring requested time-off Cheery environment Some managers were nice and understanding

      Cons

      Sometimes it was apparent that training was lacking -- then you were at fault when you didn't know something that wasn't taught to you. Some managers would scold you for not standing up straight or slightly leaning against a table/desk when you've been standing and moving for four to eight hours. I think that's the most ridiculous part of working at Hy-Vee. If it was brought up to me multiple times I would have left cause it's such a ridiculous request for people who are standing all day. This is definitely something that applies to a lot of cashier jobs in America. (WE ALL WANT CHAIRS) Ok, there was this weird thing at the register where if you wanted to take off items over a certain amount of money (not much) they made you call a manager over to enter their code and approve the removal. This really slowed things down and usually, the customer didn't look happy. On busy days, this seems like something that could be remedied.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Delivered flowers and prescriptions. Would still work there of not for my severe Inflammatory Bowel Disease.

      Jul 19, 2021 - Delivery Driver in Lawrence, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is super kind. All the "veteran" employees who clearly knew the best way to do a job were all great at assisting other, newer employees. Everyone was very understanding and respectful and tried to make new employees feel at home.

      Cons

      Nearly all co-workers and managers were kind and empathetic, however, there was one manager (whose name I just can't recall now), but he seemed to enjoy making things difficult for me and second guessed all I did.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Nice job, but not the most professional

      Jul 22, 2021 - Overnight Baker in Davenport, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good bonuses and benefits, stable hours. Can work your way up to full time and to higher wages fairly easily. Reasonable workloads.

      Cons

      Managers often unwilling to work around illnesses or injuries, step in with problem employees, or communicate clearly. Equipment is sometimes old and broken.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Nice Job

      Jul 26, 2021 - Floral Clerk 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun part time job, always lots of neat things to learn in floral dept. Great management and great company to work for. Nice work/life balance, they do a great job of listening to and accommodating scheduling needs.

      Cons

      Raises are yearly, but you have to remind your manager or HR when you're due for a raise or you probably won't get one.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Corporate Greed & Inner-Store Politics

      Jul 28, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Independence, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Meet some good friends there

      Cons

      Get worked to the bone. Work every holiday. Have no social life. Pick up your Manager's slack while they leave at 2:00pm. Horrible hours.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      Jul 24, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Winona, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good and nice coworkers that are fun to be around. The process is very easy and efficient in regards to hiring and beginning to work right away.

      Cons

      The pay is not the best and you will work if your availability is fairly open. It is very understaffed.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      PT Benefits Poor MGMT

      Jul 27, 2021 - Cashier in Des Moines, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discounted Health, Dental, & Vision plans. Discounts on insurance, phone plans, and loans. 401k with employer matching along with quarterly bonuses, even for part time employees.

      Cons

      Management treats every employee like a number not an asset. Has not been a helpful smile in every aisle for years. The tone from corporate sets the culture of each store, which is, to run a skeleton crew, demand unreasonable metrics, & cut hours and positions when these sweatshop workers cannot meet corporate’s expectations.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,209 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hy-Vee Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hy-Vee? Share Your Experiences

    or