Hyatt "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Hyatt Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Unexpected shifts and long hours(in 163 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance will always be challenging in the hospitality industry where we offer services 24/7(in 121 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Friendliest place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hyatt full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I've worked and many companies, but this is the friendliest place I've ever worked. Many people at corporate started in the hotels have hospitality in their blood and are a pleasure to work with. The work/life balance was excellent in terms of hours and with work from becoming more and more prevalent.

    Cons

    Just like any other company, Hyatt reorgs every couple of years, but I went through 4 different reorgs and they were bungled every time. The communication about the reorgs was bad or non-existent, reporting lines were still left in question after reorg announcements (sometimes for months), and there was little explanation of why the department was reorging. The pay is decent at Hyatt, but ask for what you want... when you get hired because anything over 4% annual increase was very rare (unless you were promoted). While better opportunities went to high performers, I wouldn't say Hyatt's bonus structure was merit-based. Everyone in the division pretty much got the same percentage of salary bonuses regardless of individual performance.

    Show More
    Hyatt2019-10-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Look here to work with a company that values you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Engineering 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hyatt full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A culture of caring for each an every associate. From the top-down. Successful in creating lasting relationships with associates. Because of that people stay and put many years of dedicated service. Benefits are above average in the industry. Perks are discounted and free room nights. Discounts on Food when staying at other Hyatts. A strong focus on having a good work-life balance. Committed management.

    Cons

    Like all Hospitality careers, can be fast paced. Doing more with less. Always busy and never a dull moment.

    Advice to Management

    be flexible. Opportunities present themselves often and be ready to jump on them at anytime. Doing well in your position gets you far with Hyatt. Many opportunities open up and from one day to another your career can change if you are up to the challenge.

    Hyatt2019-08-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "AMAZING"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Planning Manager in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hyatt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great work life balance. really a "self-manage" job as long as you can get your work done and hit deadlines very easy going on doctor appts and such can use the gym on site can bring your dog to work very supportive management they really do change policies based on employee feedback

    Cons

    some of the clients you have to work with they promote a lot from within but the salary jumps are minimal

    Advice to Management

    keep up the great work

    Hyatt2019-05-08
  4. "Good place to start at entry level."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hyatt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good to start at entry level. Work - life balance is good

    Cons

    Very poor career advancement. You will get bored after a while for doing repetitive tasks on a daily basis.

    Hyatt2019-05-18
  5. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Sales Manager 

    I have been working at Hyatt full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is tough

    Cons

    Good Benefits and Comp Nights

    Hyatt2019-04-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Lack of accountability, very clique-ish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hyatt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good location, major hospitality brand

    Cons

    I felt like there was little room for internal advancement. Managers don't develop their current employees and often decide to hire externally which is very demoralizing. Most of my department left after being told they were not qualified enough despite meeting all the requirements. Managers and above are in cliques. On the off chance an internal hire is selected for a role, this has already been decided among the... "clique" before the job listing is posted. How can there be a healthy culture if directors are badmouthing the very people they work with? There is a nonexistent work-life balance. We were expected to work July 4th, Memorial Day, and Labor day. WHY? Raises here are abyssal and do not keep up with yearly inflation. I hope that eventually they catch on a realize people keep declining offers because their offers are weak. Brace yourself for 2.5% raises on a "good" year. Hyatt does NOT care for people so they can be their best, despite that being the motto. I would possibly recommend other areas of Hyatt, but stay away from Accounting/finance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to and develop your employees. Stop spreading toxic behaviors via gossip and belittling of others.

    Hyatt2019-04-16
  7. "sucks if you're a contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Digital Content Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hyatt

    Pros

    good pay, good work/life balance

    Cons

    A hostile work environment with a lot of gossip. In my experience, they treat contractors as very disposable.

    Hyatt2019-04-17
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hyatt full-time

    Pros

    Excellent work life balance, good culture!

    Cons

    a little bit slow paced

    Hyatt2019-03-22
  9. "Overworked but good company with a fast paced work environment, community feel, and quick promotions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hyatt full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, you can get a lot of experience across numerous departments and be promoted from within quickly.

    Cons

    long hours and little to no work/life balance.

    Hyatt2019-04-02
  10. "Phenomenal Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hyatt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, work/life balance, networking, development opportunities, growth

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    Hyatt2019-02-15
Found 161 reviews