Hydro One Reviews | Glassdoor

Hydro One Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 163 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Hydro One CEO Carmine Marcello
Carmine Marcello
56 Ratings
  1. "Co-op for ADET"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ADET in Ontario, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My first Co-op, it was a great experience. Good pay, lots of opportunities to learn and grow, friendly work environment, helpful co-workers. Good inter-departmental synergy. Frequent CPR refresher courses. Staff at my location were flexible and supportive of my desire to learn a job that was different than what I was hired for. Not one crappy day over my 4-month Co-op.

    Cons

    Safety training is typically elearn-based. Not much interaction between management and workers, typical of a large corporation. A bit boring at the beginning because office supervisor made good use of the fact that I was good at organizing information and producing reports, updating trackers, etc. As one of my professors told me: "You'll be filling spreadsheets all summer", that was true at the beginning but thankfully...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Connect with junior staff more often. It will improve morale and company culture.

    Hydro One2018-11-27
  2. "Amazing workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GIS Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hydro One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great compensation and benefits, great workplace

    Cons

    Often requires travel around Ontario

    Hydro One2019-07-16
  3. "Good Place to Work - no rush and relax environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, and not as fast-paced as consulting

    Cons

    Too relaxed for some people, but was okay with me

    Hydro One2019-06-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to "Work""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Worker in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Hydro One full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really nice hard wood floors in the lobby

    Cons

    The kitchen tiles could use a refresh

    Hydro One2019-06-20
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hydro One full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of interesting work around. Big company

    Cons

    Politics on steroids. So keep that in mind

    Hydro One2019-05-10
  6. "Working for the utilities company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician 

    I worked at Hydro One full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits can learn a lot

    Cons

    Sometimes slow, hard to actually do new things once set in one position

    Hydro One2019-05-02
  7. Helpful (2)

    ""The failure of a team has been and will always be the fault of leadership""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Security Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Just to name something in this section; salary.

    Cons

    Mid-level management is inexperienced and incompetent. If you get stuck reporting into someone of that nature, they can make or break your life. - If you are an entry level/junior employee, do not go in expecting any coaching or mentoring. There is no development plan to give employees to give any kind of career projection or guidance. There are tools in place, but not being utilized or enforced. - I had all the faith...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The resources you hire are incredibly talented and valuable start being more mature and stop backstabbing your new hire in front of other teams to show off your knowledge.

    Hydro One2019-05-14
  8. "coop engg asisstant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was great! I recommend it

    Cons

    Not a bad place to work

    Hydro One2019-03-27
  9. Helpful (4)

    "coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Hydro One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good benefits, I have a good direct manager

    Cons

    salary progression and career progression are hard. neptism is obvious -i.e. external postings going to wives/husbands/nieces etc. OFFICE POLITICS non-flexible work office. I regularly get asked where I was when gone from my assigned seat for more then 40minutes.

    Advice to Management

    people in positions of authority are not above entry level employees. There is an attitude of say, not helping or checking in at events/meetings and whoever the lowest on the ladder is just gets stuck doing everything with little communication.

    Hydro One2019-04-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "LCSC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LCSC in Greater Sudbury, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Amazing benefits and pension packages. Vacation started at two weeks and increased fairly quickly. Great group of coworkers in multiple departments.

    Cons

    A lot of change in management. Took a long time to backfill positions, which made it pretty stressful working understaffed.

    Advice to Management

    Conduct reviews of staff performance more often. Also, ensure that all staff members have balanced work loads.

    Hydro One2019-03-18
Found 163 reviews