Hydrofarm Reviews | Glassdoor

Hydrofarm Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Hydrofarm CEO Peter Wardenburg (no image)
Peter Wardenburg
3 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warranty Coordinator in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hydrofarm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work! Clean family friendly environment. Absolutely enjoyed working with everyone...( well most everyone)

    Cons

    Personal reasons: pay was not what I needed to be at, although good pay for the position. Commute was too far.

    Hydrofarm2019-02-18
  2. "Great place to grow in your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hydrofarm full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Staff, team, love the environment top quality products.

    Cons

    i dont have any it is a joy to work here.

    Advice to Management

    stay the course and keep trusting your staff doing a wonderful job.

    Hydrofarm2018-11-02
  3. "Company has traditional management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hydrofarm full-time

    Pros

    Company has bright future outlook due to positive industry growth

    Cons

    Company management is very traditional and doesn't look forward

    Advice to Management

    Open for new talent

    Hydrofarm2018-09-26
  4. "Don't apply here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receiving Technician in Fairless Hills, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Hydrofarm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The water and toilet paper are free.

    Cons

    Many things are not in the budget.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your people what they are worth. Receivers should be paid at least $3-4 more for all the work they do.

    Hydrofarm2018-05-08
  5. "Disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Petaluma, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hydrofarm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great market segment and great people.

    Cons

    Cramped and disorganized. Lack of leadership at every level.

    Advice to Management

    Get managers trained.

    Hydrofarm2018-03-27
  6. "A great little company trying to expand into something bigger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Petaluma, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Hydrofarm full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This company is in an industry that has been experiencing steady growth

    Cons

    The company is going through some growing pains as we attempt to attain our next level of growth, better inter departmental communication is needed, and smoother processes put in place

    Advice to Management

    be more open with information that pertains to the employees. Keeping mum and letting the rumor mills turn is counterproductive, and alienates the work force from management.

    Hydrofarm2018-01-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "hydrofarm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Warehouse Worker in Petaluma, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hydrofarm

    Pros

    Solid expect-able work, and reasonable management

    Cons

    you can be on your feet for long periods of time

    Hydrofarm2017-09-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Distribution Center Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hydrofarm full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic team environment. A pleasure to work for

    Cons

    You must have at least 5 words for cons... but I have nothing negative to say.

    Hydrofarm2017-06-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Retail Shop owner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Retail Store Owner in Clarkston, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hydrofarm

    Pros

    This is probably not the place for this post but I thought I would share what it's like to deal with Hydrofarm from a retail store owners perspective. I have dealt with many large wholesale suppliers and Hydrofarm is by far the easiest to deal with. I receive excellent service from not only my sales rep but everyone I deal with at their company. Being a small business hydro shop owner is not an easy industry now... that recreational growing has taken over. Every time I have had to return products it been very easy with Hydrofarm. unlike other suppliers who won't return products that customers are unsatisfied with due to manufacture errors that the supplier is well aware of and imo just too big to care about not only their shop owners but their end user. If you're ever looking to become a Hydroponic shop owner I would recommend using hydrofarm it will make your life easier than using others I promise. Sincerely the owner of Top Heavy Hydroponics.

    Show More

    Cons

    Everyone could use better pricing in recreational states having to operate at 5% to the 10% above cost is not easy on a small business unless they are moving high volumes of inventory.

    Advice to Management

    I really enjoy everyone that I consider a manager of my account. I deal primarily with the Portland factory.

    Hydrofarm2017-06-17
  10. "My favorite employer to date"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hydrofarm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love working at Hydrofarm as they create a great environment for their people to excel and get things done. If you have a great idea, they give you the runway to execute on it. They are "people people" and work with the strengths of the individuals, to make it work for the company and the employee.

    Cons

    Some of the processes and procedures lack structure and formality, so if you need to follow processes in fine detail, this could be a difficult place for you to work.

    Advice to Management

    You have been consistently growing for 40 years now, and have retained many employees for over 20 years, so keep doing what you are doing.

    Hydrofarm2017-05-19
Found 19 reviews