Hydrogen Group plc Reviews in London, England | Glassdoor

Hydrogen Group plc London Reviews

Updated August 16, 2017
71 reviews

Filter

Filter

London, England (UK)

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Hydrogen Group plc Chief Executive Officer Ian Temple
Ian Temple
26 Ratings

71 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Commission structure isn't great (in 8 reviews)

  • Very immature working environment from 'Digital Researchers' to the 'Senior Management' (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "You can't polish a turd!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hydrogen Group plc full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A few good people but they are drowned out by the ruthless nature of the aggressive and politically motivated ones.

    Cons

    This is a prime example of high volume/low value recruitment. If you want to be part of something that is below average then this is your place.
    They are living off crumbs of past success and the future does not look bright!

    Advice to Management

    Sharkish behaviour amongst yourselves sets the precedent.
    Incompetent COO of Sales. Only collaboration he's been involved in is backhanders to his Rec 2 Rec mates.


  2. "My time at Hydrogen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hydrogen Group plc full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Really good group of people to work with. All focused on success and are also up for a laugh.

    A good place to grow and develop.

    Cons

    none that I can think of. So far so good!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing and keep improving with the values of Hydrogen

    Hydrogen Group plc Response

    Jul 31, 2017 – CEO

    Many thanks for your review. Really pleased to hear it! All the best - Ian

  3. "Fantastic employer. Absolutely the right choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hydrogen Group plc full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Forward thinking, strategic risk takers and well educated across multiple functions. Great bunch of employees, all entrepreneurial, commercially astute and intelligent with high values.

    Cons

    Recommend some more focus on working on more team work when it comes to delivery. Entrepreneurial spirit is important, but shouldn't become our employees' purpose and therefore the company's by-proxy.

    Advice to Management

    As above

    Hydrogen Group plc Response

    Jul 3, 2017 – CEO

    Thanks for your review! All the best - Ian.


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent Management and Great Incentives!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Researcher in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Digital Researcher in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    - Great motivational schemes with loads of incentives for different people.
    - Listen to employee concerns and make changes to see if new office ideas might work
    - Fantastic bonus structure
    - Regular catch ups making promotion and career progression feasible and within reach within 18 months.
    - Interaction with CEO and staff who are at the top of the hierarchy

    Cons

    - If you don't like sales this environment is not for you
    - If you are entering as a digital reseracher some people find this a boring task but within 3 months you can be sitting with management on a sales desk

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the great incentives!
    Bonus strucutre seems to be working!
    Dont stop investing in your employees!

    Hydrogen Group plc Response

    Jun 22, 2017 – CEO

    Many thanks for your comments and feedback.
    All the best for the future.
    Ian


  5. Helpful (1)

    "All to play for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hydrogen Group plc full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible working. 9-5 is unheard of in recruitment, and if you bill enough you can get away with it with minimal fuss.
    Transparent commission structure
    Incentives on the rise - free breakfast, corporate discount cards and discounted gym, dress down fridays (based on targets) etc.
    The Operations team proves that we've made the shift from old boy's club to meritocracy, internally promoting the Head of IT to COO was a great shout - someone who knows and actually cares about the business.
    Payroll team are great, run by a cracking manager who is always willing to help (and has numerous sweet treats at her desk).
    Social aspect - I doubt i'd have stayed this long if I didn't have a laugh with the people I work with. If you're not a recluse or social outcast you'll make some good mates. That goes for a few of the Seniors as well, who balance the professional / joker line quite well. Particular shoutout to the Director of Bus Tran.
    No KPIs.

    Cons

    MPAs are re-branded KPIs.
    Stats can sometimes take precedent at the expense of real work - but that's life.
    Occasionally have to stay a little past 5pm and get a slightly later train.

    Advice to Management

    "all to play for"
    "all to play for"
    "all to play for"
    "all to play for"
    "all to play for"

    Hydrogen Group plc Response

    Jun 22, 2017 – CEO

    Thanks for leaving such a lovely review about your time here at Hydrogen.
    I completely agree that’s it’s the people here who really make the difference! Our staff truly are the heart and soul of... More


  6. Helpful (6)

    "Great people - real up and coming place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hydrogen Group plc (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Approachable senior management
    - Great people - enjoyable place to work with good socials
    - Great benefits such as 50% gym membership, discount card, in-house massages and free breakfast
    - Flexible working
    - Use of advanced tech (everyone gets tablets to promote flexi working)
    - Global offices with good city locations

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Hydrogen Group plc Response

    Aug 16, 2017 – CEO

    Thanks for your review! Really pleased to hear such great feedback.
    Regards
    Ian


  7. Helpful (8)

    "At least purple is a nice enough colour"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hydrogen Group plc full-time

    Pros

    - Training used to be good (but then the decent trainer left.)
    - Purple is a nice colour.
    - The location is an excellent city location.
    - I've heard other practices are better run.
    - CEO seems well meaning.
    - They don't have KPIs.....just another fancy name for KPI's.

    Cons

    - Flexible working doesn't mean flexible, management make a lot of noise about various initiatives but it's amazing how many of them are just for show.
    - Incentives have been cut. Cost cutting means that most of the 'perks' of working in recruitment have been severely diminished i.e. top billers lunches etc. They even got rid of the coffee machines.
    - Waste of time coming into the business as an inexperienced first jobber. They now make you start on a really low basic salary (anything under 20k is criminal in London), and insist that you work your way up a very long ladder to even have the privilege of calling yourself a Consultant.
    - Very immature working environment from 'Digital Researchers' to the 'Senior Management'. Shocking behaviour and language is tolerated.
    - Senior Management, TL's etc will put themselves first over their team. Meaning a lot of people leave.
    - They don't seem to have a HR department just a series of very incompetent grumpy temps (?), contractors (?), who knows.

    Advice to Management

    Get management that want to develop staff not tread on them to make money. Start cracking down on abysmal behaviour and shoddy recruitment practices. Just put KPI's in place - so much more transparent. Also stop reporting reviews that are less than favourable in order to get them removed - shambles.

    Hydrogen Group plc Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – CEO

    Thanks for your feedback – it’s important to us.

    I must point out that a number of your statements are completely inaccurate. We have increased our budget for staff incentives and now even more... More

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Approach with caution."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hydrogen Group plc full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Location (two minutes from Monument station)
    Opportunities to change roles internally (sometimes, if it's cheaper for the company)
    Opportunities to work remotely (sometimes, depending on role)

    Cons

    Unprofessional behaviour (displayed both inside and outside of the office)
    Lack of career progression
    Hard to ignore favouritism
    Lack of bonuses, compensation and minor salary increases (almost non existent for operations staff)

    Advice to Management

    I would recommend spending more time on treating staff better rather than spouting all these deceitful messages about how great it is to work for Hydrogen. If you could retain talent then maybe people would take more notice and you wouldn't now be in the situation you are in.

    Hydrogen Group plc Response

    Jan 16, 2017 – CEO

    Thanks for the feedback and for your work over eight years. As a business we have had low turnover of staff in operations and sometimes moving on is the best thing to get progression. I do hope in... More


  9. Helpful (5)

    "Hydrogen have a clear focus - entrepreneurial spirit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Team Leader in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hydrogen Group plc full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I recently joined Hydrogen Group to set up a new business. Hydrogen have a clear vision and strategy and I have found most people within the organisation to be highly collaborative and supportive. They are keen to support hard working, mature and entrepreneurial people. Looking to start your own recruitment business without the financial risk then Hydrogen is a great place to do this. Hydrogen's delivery teams are some of the best i have worked with in the last 20 years in recruitment. Hydrogen are actively promoting flexible working, so no need to be chained to your desk for extended hours. Do what is required and it is a very mature environment.

    Cons

    As with any recruitment company there can sometimes be less collaborative people, however the majority are.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure that the vision, values we stand for are managed down successfully through the business. Maximising opportunity through internal collaboration is key.


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Started off as a great place to work and ended up being somewhere I wouldn't recommend even to the most desperate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hydrogen Group plc full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good culture, sociable place to work
    Hours of work were not too bad, what you would expect from recruitment
    Good location

    Cons

    Management are completely uninterested in supporting or developing individuals within their team, everything is about making themselves look good. There are an awful lot of unnecessary staff with people who are in roles that clearly shouldn't be. It's a company with no loyalty, no interest in what you're doing daily and a place that seems to be going downhill rather quickly! The HR team are also laughable, quite often patronising and do not seem to know what to do next in order to help improve things, constant restructuring! Training needs to be massively improved! Just generally not a good place to work and would not recommend at all.

    Hydrogen Group plc Response

    Nov 23, 2016 – marketing coordinator

    Thank you for the feedback. We are committed to creating a transparent and collaborative environment for all our employees, so I am disappointed to hear about your experience.

    We value and... More


Showing 71 of 128 reviews
Reset Filters