Hyland Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Hyland Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Hyland CEO Bill Priemer
Bill Priemer
20 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Westlake, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hyland full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of creative people and a great corporate atmosphere, excellent software product

    Cons

    Up to the employee to develop a career path, no real standard paths exist

    Continue reading
    Hyland2015-12-04
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great for headquarter staff, disconnected for remote staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Relations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hyland full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, work/life balance, good overall culture

    Cons

    Inconsistent and sudden changes in commission plans, quotas. Remote staff do not have nearly the same access to resources and management support as those at headquarters.

    Hyland2020-01-14
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Rife with incompetence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Westlake, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hyland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Doctor on site Volleyball Onsite daycare Onsite wellness center Happy hour during the middle of the day Random perks - dry cleaning discount You can apply for any job in the organization and no matter how unqualified, get it if the right people like you

    Cons

    Ineptitude at all levels No adherence to best practices Cult-like culture Most managers and C- level started working there out of college Hyland way or no way (no matter how bad the Hyland way is) Silos - and each department does things differently Not very cutting edge or forward thinking for a software company Low salary compared to average Standard health, 401k, vacation benefits Management doesn't have a breadth of experience as everyone has only worked at Hyland Lots of nepotism Lots of cronyism Org structure is redundant and roles overlap No one seems to actually be in charge Everyone is busy, yet everyone has time to play volleyball in the middle of the day Constantly kids running around the place Inconsistent polices - some people are allowed to work from home while others aren't. No real rhyme or reason outside of manager preference. PMOs and Centers of Excellence in name only

    Continue reading
    Hyland2019-10-22
  4. Helpful (21)

    "Not safe at any speed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Westlake, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hyland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is exceptional Bill Priemer is an exceptional CEO

    Cons

    Recognition, raises and promotions are not merit based but based on who you know or who you are related to Firing/demotions is far too often related to what kind of day Brenda Kirk had or the need to cover up a bad decision by strategy Providing honest feedback is not just unwelcome but dangerous.

    Continue reading
    Hyland2019-04-18
  5. Helpful (16)

    "Kinda Sad, appears to be progressive but they dislike most people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Westlake, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hyland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unique culture, lunches, friendly to new grads

    Cons

    They dislike veterans. I was forthcoming about my disability and was ridiculed daily about who I was. I eventually quit and I think they threw a party.

    Continue reading
    Hyland2019-02-27
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Still the BEST place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Westlake, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hyland full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    1. culture 2. people 3. Leadership (at least in my division) 4. Salary (yes, people do actually make money here, contrary to what some are saying). The younger generation should learn that you don't get a raise and promotion during your first year (or 2) just because you show up for work. And if you accept a job with a poor salary, that's your fault, not the fault of the company who hired you.

    Cons

    1. Directors and above want to play chess with the employees. They don't ask what we want, they just make changes. That needs to happen at times but, as a current manager, they should discuss with all of leadership instead of letting the company be managed by 5 people. I'm a manager, let me manage!

    Continue reading
    Hyland2018-12-12

    Hyland Response

    February 19, 2019Hyland HR

    Thank you for your honest review. We know how hard some of the changes have been for everyone. We appreciate your leadership and candid feedback.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (39)

    "What Happened?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Westlake, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hyland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    For the most part, the company's culture is honest and respected among individual teams. I have worked with some amazing, talented, and driven people. Immediate managers--in my experience--do care about your work-life balance and developing your career (at least up to the glass celling). Some of the fringe benefits are also nice. Easy access to support, on-site Gym, scattered other events from time-to-time. Also, while I know not common sentiment on Glassdoor about Hyland, I have found the compensation to be quite fair for an Ohio-based market. It does, in fact, pay *much lower* than market rate, but market rate includes Silicon Valley stalwarts. The fact is, Hyland is not a FAANG company and will likely never pay that rate. So I don't see this as a con.

    Cons

    For my first two years, this list would have been small. My last three years have been some of the frustrating experiences of my life. The first problem was scaling and growth. The company grew considerably since I was hired and I do not believe senior management was prepared for such quick growth. Moreover, when Hyland acquired Lexmark's Perceptive (which felt much more like a merger) the true cronyism of Hyland's management structure came out. It turns out that for most employees, there is no growth beyond title changes, with little change in day-to-day work unless you become well-loved by several senior managers or VPs. With the growth came coasting. Hyland simply could not maintain the culture I was used to with so many people. I noticed employee engagement drop, people caring less about outcomes, and general apathy among my peers. I believe this also came from senior management shutting down any ideas or feedback that they didn't come up with. I also saw this from first-tier management who really *wanted* to and *tried* to help their team, with no help from senior management. The product does not scale. The architecture is *very* monolithic and inflexible. While the company is trying to fix this, they are failing left and right. Recently products that were in development for over two years were simply canceled and people layed off! There isn't a clear direction for the future and efforts to modernize the software have been totally muddied: every senior manager has a different idea that changes week to week. We have wasted many weeks spinning our wheels while we move from one technology to another, accomplishing nothing.

    Continue reading
    Hyland2018-11-21
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Good if you like perks versus pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Westlake, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hyland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good energy and bias towards action. Less bureaucracy than other companies. Onsite gyms, walking path and bikes. Massage. Free parking. Casual attire. Spot bonuses for performance.

    Cons

    Low pay. Many experienced employees take pay cuts to join the company hoping for better work life balance - but still work long hours. Flexibility does not exist across the board to work from home. Not many project management opportunities without significant travel. Salaries for internal job openings unknown - so you could apply and be offered a job only to learn that it may be well below the range you are currently at. Perks are nice but they don’t pay the bills and many times you are too busy working to take advantage of them. Open work environment is very loud and distracting. Worse in some areas than others. Hard to focus at times and difficult to find quiet space.

    Continue reading
    Hyland2018-11-02
  9. Helpful (3)

    "You have to put the work in.. but pay still needs work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - R&D Manager in Westlake, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hyland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is a lot of opportunity to grow into a role that you want to do. However you cannot wait for someone to put you in that role you really need to grind it out and keep pushing yourself to achieve more.

    Cons

    Sometimes leadership reacts on assumption rather than fact.

    Continue reading
    Hyland2018-10-10
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Still love it after all of these years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Westlake, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hyland full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I’ve been with Hyland for 10+ years. I can honestly say you won’t find another company like this one. Any company you work for is going to have its pros and cons, but the pros at Hyland outweigh the cons. You feel like you’re part of something special here. Yes people will complain that it’s not that small company feel that we had when we started out, but that’s the reality of becoming successful. We are growing at a rapid pace and everyone is experiencing growing pains right now. It’s a company that “still” cares about its employees and really does try and promote the work life balance. The problem is most employees (especially) those that have been with Hyland 10+ years are very dedicated to the company and feel that the success of the company rides on our shoulders. Still wouldn’t want to be anywhere else. They give you every opportunity to get involved and to provide your feedback and they actually listen. Great place for those with small children. Hyland gets it and they are very flexible when you have Dr apptointments, school activities, sick kids at home etc. Family always comes first, and your coworkers and managers support you. When you read negative reviews about Hyland, it’s typically individuals that start at Hyland and think it’s all fun and games, it’s a fun place to be, but don’t be mistaken, there’s a LOT of hard work that goes into the success of the company.

    Cons

    Rapid growth has forced the need for some promotions into management of individuals that probably shouldn’t be. The skill of emotional intelligence that was once a focus has been thrown to the wayside, which is an issue. Management takes on a lot of stress and responsibility, and it feels like somewhat of a thankless job. Not a lot of incentive to be in management. Some non technical departments live under a tremendous amount of daily high stress, which is fine and understandable at times, but it’s becoming a normal part of the job. The stress all has to to with the growth and constant push to close business and schedule services without adding additional resources. This may cause some turnover, if not addressed.

    Continue reading
    Hyland2018-04-22
Found 27 reviews