Hyland Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Hyland Project Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
49%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Hyland CEO Bill Priemer
Bill Priemer
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Still the BEST place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Westlake, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hyland full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    1. culture 2. people 3. Leadership (at least in my division) 4. Salary (yes, people do actually make money here, contrary to what some are saying). The younger generation should learn that you don't get a raise and promotion during your first year (or 2) just because you show up for work. And if you accept a job with a poor salary, that's your fault, not the fault of the company who hired you.

    Cons

    1. Directors and above want to play chess with the employees. They don't ask what we want, they just make changes. That needs to happen at times but, as a current manager, they should discuss with all of leadership instead of letting the company be managed by 5 people. I'm a manager, let me manage!

    Continue reading
    Hyland2018-12-12

    Hyland Response

    February 19, 2019Hyland HR

    Thank you for your honest review. We know how hard some of the changes have been for everyone. We appreciate your leadership and candid feedback.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (12)

    "Rife with incompetence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Westlake, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hyland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Doctor on site Volleyball Onsite daycare Onsite wellness center Happy hour during the middle of the day Random perks - dry cleaning discount You can apply for any job in the organization and no matter how unqualified, get it if the right people like you

    Cons

    Ineptitude at all levels No adherence to best practices Cult-like culture Most managers and C- level started working there out of college Hyland way or no way (no matter how bad the Hyland way is) Silos - and each department does things differently Not very cutting edge or forward thinking for a software company Low salary compared to average Standard health, 401k, vacation benefits Management doesn't have a breadth of experience as everyone has only worked at Hyland Lots of nepotism Lots of cronyism Org structure is redundant and roles overlap No one seems to actually be in charge Everyone is busy, yet everyone has time to play volleyball in the middle of the day Constantly kids running around the place Inconsistent polices - some people are allowed to work from home while others aren't. No real rhyme or reason outside of manager preference. PMOs and Centers of Excellence in name only

    Continue reading
    Hyland2019-10-22
  3. Helpful (16)

    "Kinda Sad, appears to be progressive but they dislike most people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Westlake, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hyland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unique culture, lunches, friendly to new grads

    Cons

    They dislike veterans. I was forthcoming about my disability and was ridiculed daily about who I was. I eventually quit and I think they threw a party.

    Continue reading
    Hyland2019-02-27
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Good if you like perks versus pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Westlake, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hyland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good energy and bias towards action. Less bureaucracy than other companies. Onsite gyms, walking path and bikes. Massage. Free parking. Casual attire. Spot bonuses for performance.

    Cons

    Low pay. Many experienced employees take pay cuts to join the company hoping for better work life balance - but still work long hours. Flexibility does not exist across the board to work from home. Not many project management opportunities without significant travel. Salaries for internal job openings unknown - so you could apply and be offered a job only to learn that it may be well below the range you are currently at. Perks are nice but they don’t pay the bills and many times you are too busy working to take advantage of them. Open work environment is very loud and distracting. Worse in some areas than others. Hard to focus at times and difficult to find quiet space.

    Continue reading
    Hyland2018-11-02
  5. Helpful (24)

    "Not all it's cracked up to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hyland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The have a relaxed dress code

    Cons

    Pay is dismally low for the work being done, although they say "work-life" balance is important it is expected that you are available at all times if needed for work, the amount of nepotism is disturbing and all employees know it (if you don't have family in management or who has been here for "years" don't bother), they say the have a "flexible" work environment but that is a lie, benefits are pathetic, limited to no opportunity for advancement (management will tell you you are great at your job but then not promote you and not give you a reason for the lack of promotion), constant "re-organization" brings about no change and seems like just a trick to make employees think that things might actually change

    Continue reading
    Hyland2018-01-05
  6. Helpful (29)

    "Can't wait to leave. Stale employment forcast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Westlake, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hyland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Tylenol and Antacid (you are going to need it). All the awful diet soda you can drink. Coffee / Tea provided Leaving this winter for better pastures.

    Cons

    Very expensive healthcare with a high deductible HSA plan with no other choice. A company this large should have better insurance at a better rate. The insurance plan is company funded and Hyland knows every time you visit a doctor and what for, it plan provider also fights most doctor charges and makes you do all the leg work to get it figured out. It's just not worth it. NO SICK TIME!!! Just PTO, So when your co-workers used all their time for vacation they come into work sick as dogs and spread it to everyone, thanks to the open air environment, Cramped work desks and lack of housekeeping i share a small work space (40 Sqft) with 4 other people and when one gets sick, we all get sick. Perks are in place of pay, The fact they have so many perks is because they are paying well below average for the area. It's cheaper to pay for T-shirts then to give out raises. Work-life balance is just a "hook" at Hyland. My department Work-life balance consists of working and no life. I am penalized for using PTO to take care of personal matters, My Manager explained "Personal matters are best handled, outside of company time". Very long work weeks (45 to 55 hours per week mandatory for my department) Weekly reminders that "There is a waiting list for people to work here". Department Policy's change daily, depending on manager's mood. Rules only apply for some and not all. Longevity is no longer considered a good employee. Hyland does not negotiate salary, they tell you or you are free to leave. Hyland's retention rate is dropping faster than beats at a Dr. Dre concert. Hyland also allows you to leave and work for a competitor / customer. They just don't care.

    Continue reading
    Hyland2016-11-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Hyland is a great employee environment friendly company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Calcutta
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hyland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Culture good environment employee engagement is awesome

    Cons

    Need more innovation in product line Need to be more agile

    Continue reading
    Hyland2018-01-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews