Hyundai Motor America Reviews

Updated Apr 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Hyundai Motor America COO Jose Munoz
Jose Munoz
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance and good package(in 10 reviews)

  • "Good Benefits, central location in orange county, fun product(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It is hard for change or new ideas to be passed since everything must be approved by the HQ in Korea(in 9 reviews)

  • "long hours and sort supply on vehicles(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      There's no PERFECT company. Hyundai Motor America comes very close!

      Feb 27, 2021 - Senior Manager in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with some of the best and most talented people. A real team spirit. Well treated and good benefits.

      Cons

      Like most companies with HQ on the other side of the world, communication can be slow and sometimes the message is lost in translation.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      I left once, only to come back two years later...

      Apr 12, 2021 - District Sales Manager in Jamesburg, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The corporate culture in America is changing with COVID and Hyundai has been proactive in recognizing that. Work/Life balance is a constant topic of conversation.

      Cons

      Nothing negative at this time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Double Standardized

      Apr 11, 2021 - Senior Associate in Fountain Valley, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good on site gym, company car lease, good benefits, good location

      Cons

      The rules don’t apply for all. Those who are liked get away with a lot more. Exceptions, raises, promotions. Hardly anymore goes from non management to management. You see management get promoted all the time. Then they hire from outside to fill the old management positions. Either people say forever or leave within a few years. Departments don’t get along at all. Morale is department based. Some people have it great while others hate their job. The Korean/American dynamic is the root cause of the double standardized. Also the heavy subcontractor usage creates an awkward dynamic within teams. People doing the same things but not getting the same benefits and probably pay. Also, the imputed income tax on the lease is real shady. Paying tax on a vehicle I legally don’t own?

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Most toxic and emotionally taxing place I’ve ever worked.

      Mar 29, 2021 - Marketing in Tustin, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working from home for now until they decide it’s safe enough upon their subjective opinion

      Cons

      Let me begin by stating that they warned me before I started. They say “don’t take anything personally.” But put up with toxic behavior. Basically they can say “you’re stupid and don’t get anything - but don’t take it personally” one person, she said to me “ i’m a professional so I don’t have any time to be polite”. Another manager was trying to poorly explain a simple time sheet to me and since we were remote, there was a learning curve. And when he asked if I know excel I said yes I do and he said to me “well I’m telling you you know nothing about excel”. I have evidence of this mistreatment and verbal abuse except they have my address and I’m afraid that they may harm me. I walked away and didn’t complain to higher management because my main manager seems unhinged. I also had personal family matters that one manager shared with the entire team without my permission. Incredibly unprofessional for such a global brand. It doesn’t matter if you’ve been at the company for 20 years, maybe think about why you have to keep refilling my position. The day I stopped working there was the happiest day for me.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I'm sorry but no amount of great benefits nor pay is worth your mental health to work here

      Feb 9, 2021 - Anonymous in Orange, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incredible benefits; Good pay; Bonus opportunities; Great and nice people at the working level and some execs; Quality products; Nice office; You will learn a lot

      Cons

      Impossible and continually changing expectations from management; Micromanaging leadership has created a culture of fear; Endless pointless and inefficient meetings that are up to 8 hours long; New leaders are brought in all the time but working-level people have teams that are too small; Expectations are always unclear and you have to redo work constantly; Old-school automotive sales driven good ole boy mentality; Even senior level managers do menial busy work often, so you cannot grow and develop. If you are someone who wants to actually achieve something and be in a transparent, collaborative work envrionment, look elsewhere.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      5 Star Rating

      Apr 7, 2021 - Senior District Parts and Service Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best Company I've had the pleasure of working for.

      Cons

      Living in one place and having to travel several hundred miles to the District either by driving or flying.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      If you're young and looking for growth, go elsewhere.

      Mar 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Certain teams are great and work collaborative with each other. Benefits are nice and the work life balance is really hard to give up.

      Cons

      Promotions are far and few in between, management are completely oblivious to their team day to day yet expect everyone to meet objectives that are beyond the resources provided. Management use "promotion" as a way to get more work out of their people but never follow through, and there's always some excuses. Nothing is provided on merit, hiring is always from outside and internal candidates are often bypassed with little explanation. They don't promote from within, so there's no point in staying and waiting it out. You will have to write your own promotion justification and try to beg your case to be promoted. Some people have been there for 30+ years and never made it to Director. All the VPs are from the outside hire, no internal candidates have been made VP. Younger employees typically leave within 2-3 years. No cross functional training provided and the new CEO keeps hiring his friends into random newly created positions and pushing out long term people. The current longest serving VP is less than 4 years in, that's gotta tell you something. If you want to get anywhere you have to be a "Yes Man" and play politics. The Purchasing dept controls everything in the company. HR personnel are the most useless group of people and are hindrance to everything that needs to be done. They hold up the simplest process and never answer their emails when an employee actually need some sort of answer from them. The only way an employee can get a complaint heard is through suing the company. No point in talking to HR because there will be no help or support provided. Genesis dept is a joke and is imploding, take a look at your CEO and the people he chooses to hire because he's getting some side benefits from them.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Hyundai Motor America Response

      Hyundai Motor America

      Thank you for providing your candid feedback -- we take all of our employees’ opinions seriously as such feedback is critical to our ongoing efforts to strengthen and improve our organization. We readily acknowledge there has been a lot of change in the company in the past few years. Whenever an organization makes significant changes, i.e. brings in a new CEO and other executive leaders, it can be unsettling and it is unfortunate that you had a negative experience. However, we are extremely proud of the talented, innovative, and diverse executive team we have built, which has led to a strong and successful business performance even in these uniquely challenging times. We can assure you that Hyundai and Genesis remain focused on developing internal talent and increasing upward mobility for our employees. Across the organization, in the past 3 years, we have been able to fill nearly half of our open positions with internal talent. Our team of HR professionals function as a support system for employees, with HR Business Partners assisting and supporting our business groups during change and transition. We also invest in employee and management development programs to support growth and advancement of our talent. We will continue to work collaboratively with one another to find new and creative solutions to strengthen our organization’s ability to navigate current and future changes and challenges. Thank you again for your feedback and we wish you success in your future endeavors.

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Back to Quality

      Mar 23, 2021 - Team Member in Montgomery, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is decent, not great when comparing to other Auto makers but In Monntgomery, it's one of the higher paying jobs.

      Cons

      Long hours. In some departments it's 8 hours a day, 5 days a week but lately some depts. have mandated 10 hours days and sometimes 6 days. This year some have even worked 7 days straight.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Learn and grow at a fast pace

      Jan 20, 2021 - Manager, Digital Marketing in Fountain Valley, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I believe Hyundai is a great company to work for. What I've enjoyed most about my time at Hyundai is I have learned so much during my time here, I've worked with a lot of great people and I've gotten to be a part of some amazing experiences. This company has been so good to me and I am proud to work here.

      Cons

      Yes, it is very fast pace but if you are passionate about what you do and are always in the pursuit of being better, then Hyundai is great for you.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to work

      Mar 4, 2021 - Internship in California City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you love working with cars, this is the heaven place to be.

      Cons

      If you like to socialize, this proving ground is so far way from everything.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 149 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hyundai Motor America Job Seekers

    Senior Group Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    District Parts & Service Manager
    Learn About the Job
    Specialist - Human Resources
    Learn About the Job
    Assistant Manager, Financial Planning & Analysis
    Learn About the Job
    Senior Manager, Sales Operations
    Learn About the Job
    Senior Manager, Field Operations
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Hyundai Motor America? Share Your Experiences

    Hyundai Motor America logo
    or