KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

I CAN SCHOOLS

Is this your company?

I CAN SCHOOLS

Add a Review

I CAN SCHOOLS Reviews

Updated Apr 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 of over 43 reviews

1.8
13%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
I CAN SCHOOLS Chief Executive Officer Marshall Emerson III (no image)
Marshall Emerson III
26 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Teacher

    May 15, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hiring process is simple and straight forward questions. Hiring for entire 9th grade.

    Cons

    It's a charter school so they adhere to slightly different standards but they are higher for students than public schools

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Exceptional opportunity & compensation for recent college graduates

    Oct 2, 2014 - Teacher in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Minimum starting teaching salary is $40,000. Recent college graduates make up a majority of the teaching staff at the schools, so the culture is high-energy and encourages professional development. Campuses are safe and secure and students are well-behaved because of the strict behavioral policies. 100 minutes of planning per day, hundreds of hours of professional development each year, and plenty of opportunities for promotion to leadership roles. As a recent grad, I can honestly say the benefits here are far better than anything else I've heard of, and there are always openings.

    Cons

    Working in urban education is never easy, so there are definitely challenges you wouldn't find in a suburban school; sometimes you have to be as much a mentor to the students as you are an educator. Expectations are high and there is a lot of feedback, so you have to be willing to take constructive criticism and you are expected to implement it quickly. Because of turnover in past years (Teach for America) the teachers and leaders are still working on developing stability in school culture.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    I CAN SCHOOLS Response

    Director of Marketing & Communications

    Thank You for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments around the delivery of feedback. We will be using your advice for the betterment of the company/schools.

  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    It's what you make of it, many opportunities are available.

    Jul 15, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked with I CAN SCHOOLS for four years and have been given many opportunities for continued promotional growth by working in different departments. I CAN SCHOOLS has been supportive of my professional development by sending me to conferences and trainings to further my knowledge and expertise in my current department. I have been able to obtain 90 CEU’s and a certification for my current department and can attest that I am not alone in this achievement. It has been extremely rewarding to be a part of a network from its founding year and watch the positive effects we have in each of our communities. I look forward to many more years with the I CAN family and support our mission and vision.

    Cons

    You must be mission fit and extremely driven in order to reach the common goal. I CAN SCHOOLS is not for everyone and that's okay. It's what sets them above the rest.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    I CAN SCHOOLS Response

    Director of Marketing & Communications

    Thank You for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your support!

  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Horrible

    Jan 13, 2015 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I never did find one

    Cons

    This company is based off of a group of successful charter schools. The problem is that there is no warning as to what the environment will be like when taking the job offer until you walk in on your first day. No curriculum, no break during the extremely long school hours (7:30-3:30) including eating your lunch with students. The students are to be in their desks the entire day and do not have recess or gym. There is no curriculum and no books (at least not when I was there in 2013). I would spend 3+ hours a day making lesson plans and researching common core, the "pacing guide" is a joke. Be prepared to have no life if you teach here. Most "teachers" are not licensed teachers. There is no hands on curriculum, the students are expected to do worksheets all day. The behavior expectations are strict, but doable if you don't have 32 students, 4 with an IEP, and 5 unidentified (making up students with a disability a 1/3 of the class). Extremely stressful environment and not what I signed up for when becoming a teacher. If you like boot camp, this is the place for you, If you want to teach, this is not the place for you!

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Unhealthy work environment

    Oct 27, 2014 - Teacher in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are many students who are just jems waiting to be found, unfortunately this is among upwards of 45 students in 1 classroom. There is much support among teachers.

    Cons

    Support does not come from building leadership or upper administration. The co-founders pick their favorites and those are the people who move up the ranks. If you do not plan on going out drinking with and befriending a member of upper administration, don't bother dreaming of a promotion. Additionally, you are expected to be a teaching god, no matter how many students are in your classroom or how little support you get from your administration. Also, do not expect to be treated with any respect for your degree(s), administration treats you like a student, not a professional.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    I CAN SCHOOLS Response

    Director of Marketing & Communications

    Thank You for taking the time to write a review. Unfortunately, we are unable to utilize your response for the betterment of the company/school.

  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not what Teaching is Supposed to be

    Jan 21, 2016 - Teacher in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They pay is pretty reasonable, however they will find any excuse to "pro-rate" (aka cut) your salary. Do not be afraid to demand a full salary, as they are usually hiring out of desperation because of their high turnover. The majority of my fellow teachers were quite wonderful teachers who genuinely cared about the students.

    Cons

    Where to begin? The work day is quite long (7:00 - 4:00) with only a half hour lunch break. You are expected to work all weekend long preparing 15 lesson plans that are due by 7am every Monday. The classrooms are over-crowded (no joke, I had one class with 42 students in it). The administration only cares about looks. Your room needs to be decorated with a "clear and cohesive theme" or else you will be written up. The worst thing about the job though, is the treatment of students. Students are barked at and sometimes downright verbally abused as they walk the halls "silently and in single file." Administration, and even a select few teachers, do not view students as humans with needs and feelings, but rather view them as a show-pony that should be whipped and paraded around. I was constantly being scolded by administration for not yelling at students enough.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    75+ Hour weeks, Disrespectful, Dishonest

    Apr 15, 2014 - Elementary Teacher in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They will hire virtually anybody, so if you're looking for a fast track to licensure and don't have an education degree, this may be the place for you. While I worked at I CAN, some teachers had no education degree, license, or (in some cases) even bachelor's degree.

    Cons

    Here is a quick and easy way to understand how bad turnover is at I CAN schools. Go to any job site and search in any city within 100 miles of Cleveland, Ohio. Type in the name of I CAN SCHOOLS, and search. You will find numerous job postings. The school I taught at required over 75 hours a week of work. The administration does not respect teachers as people or as professionals. They do not understand work/life balance, the culture is terrible, the morale is low, and they have probably a 25% retention rate of teachers from year to year. Unfortunately, if you don't believe me and accept a position at this school system, you will see what I'm talking about within a few weeks and need no more convincing. The school is also regularly dishonest with parents. During the school year I taught here, one classroom had 45 students in it at the start of the year. This is not the exception, but the rule at I CAN. Teachers who work here can expect no curriculum or fund for materials.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Run Away- Worst Teaching Job I ever had

    Nov 29, 2016 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    very little pros other than good teachers who cares about their students

    Cons

    I can go on forever about how bad this school is. I am amazed any teacher stays longer than a year. There is not one positive thing to say about this school. When you compare this school to any public school it falls way short. Pay is terrible (well below a public school), you could be a nanny and make more than you would here. Administration is a joke, the founders are pathetic and don't know crap about education or retaining teachers, they only care about the $ coming in. I was told by several other teachers turnover rates are between 40-60% throughout all their schools, that should tell you something right away. You work longer hours than any other school, and the expect/require more out of you (lesson plans, syllabus, bunch of other crap you have to turn in weekly). I couldn't get out fast enough, best decision I made was quitting this God awful job. Do yourself a favor and teach at any school besides this or you will deeply regret it!!!

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee

    I CAN'T SCHOOLS

    Sep 6, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hiring process is easy, painless, straightforward.

    Cons

    So much time and effort focusing on things that don't directly effect learning. Treated like one of the students Made to illegally cavas public areas to recruit students No work/life balance - weekly syllabus and lesson plans Training was useless PD's are a joke - every friday after early dismissal Kids are verbally abused and pubilically embarrassed The dean constantly touts "This school does not have a social component... we need more demerits!" Disconnection between culture and academics Overcrowded classrooms Lack of resources, outlets and support Don't have sign in/log-in info six weeks after first day of classess Being strict is taken to another level - too much emphasis on walking the lines in the hallway, not moving nor speaking in lines, class, lunch, breakfast Students are coerced into following directions under threat of detentions, suspensions, expulsions I could definately go on... Not sure at all how this school is college preparatory.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Run Far Away

    May 16, 2016 - Teacher in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The kids are the only reason why people want to come to work. Which is good until you read the cons.

    Cons

    This place is a joke. Can't wait to be leaving at the end of the year for a regular public school job. I made about $38,000 this year with a masters degree. Don't let them fool you. You can look up Ohio Teacher Contracts and see what the pay scale is for other schools. And this is LOW. Especially when you're working 9 hours a day with barely a break. It's not about pay though. It's about the poor working conditions. Two of the schools were sued by the national labor board. Google I CAN Schools and see all the news stories about horrible conditions for kids and teachers. Also look up the court documents and see how many people have filed personal lawsuits. Want to work somewhere with high teacher turn over, low pay, no curriculum and dumb people above you? Well work here. Kids are not their top priority. Money is. Love people teaching kids that aren't licensed? The work here. It's a joke that people are in front of kids and aren't qualified. Get the theme? A joke.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 40 Reviews

Popular Careers with I CAN SCHOOLS Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at I CAN SCHOOLS? Share Your Experiences

I CAN SCHOOLS logo
or