IBM Reviews in Albany, NY | Glassdoor

IBM Albany Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
8 Ratings
  1. "Best Company To Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Albany, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Brand Reputation Learning Resources Positive Culture Meaningful Work

    Cons

    I have none to report

    IBM2019-08-14
  2. "engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Albany, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    work and life balance is good

    Cons

    low salary and poor politics

    IBM2018-09-20
  3. "I enjoy working at IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Staff Member in Albany, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    "Very collaborative and innovative environment

    Cons

    No stock compensation/bonus to reward employee

    IBM2018-07-25
  4. "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Administrative Assistant in Albany, NY

    I have been working at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly and helpful employees

    Cons

    The position will never be perm.

    IBM2018-04-24
  5. "Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer/Scientist in Albany, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Many talented people. Innovative engineering and research. Constant challenge and exposure to cutting edge technology. Very friendly atmosphere and flexible schedule.

    Cons

    The goals and directions are changing too frequently. Lack of focus and the value for the company is often unclear. Resources are tight.

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to technical experts.

    IBM2018-02-22
  6. "IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Albany, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    IBM does not silo, you can learn as much as you can absorb, i.e. drink from a fire hose

    Cons

    big company, transforms itself every 5 to 10 years.. you need to be prepared to adjust

    IBM2017-02-25
  7. "Intern at IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Albany, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good experience to learn new practical industrial experience.

    Cons

    On site food is somewhat expensive.

    IBM2016-09-08
  8. "Electrical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Development Project Manager/Information Architect in Burnt Hills, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent challenging and relaxed work environment. Great colleagues to work with, and a superb manager who always made us feel that we worked with him and not for him.

    Cons

    Projects were terminated by directors before they were completed.

    IBM2015-10-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "IBM is a golden cage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unit Process Engineering Professional in Albany, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    It is a reputed company, and nice to have this brand name on your resume. Salary is competitive if you have other offer. Benefit package is reasonable.

    Cons

    The work/life balance at IBM is horrible. They want to suck all of your time and energy. IBM literally wants your 24/7 devotion (except during your 15 days vacation time). The immediate management always assign tons of work and says you have the flexibility to work from home (which they know it is impossible to finish at office). They always fire lots of people and hire fresh graduates. If you argue little bit with... the management you will be on their red list and when the work-force balance time comes (which is nowadays almost every year) you will definitely get fired. Salary increment is very poor and you always have to chase the time line. IBM always believe once the employee accepts the job offer, they buy the candidate. IBM is a golden cage where you have no freedom.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please try to listen to your employees.

    IBM2015-12-01
  10. "Staff Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Albany, NY

    I have been working at IBM

    Pros

    Good work environment IBM Albany

    Cons

    No specific cons as of now

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    IBM2015-10-26
Found 26 reviews