IBM Reviews in Boulder, CO | Glassdoor

IBM Boulder Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
45%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
116 Ratings
  1. "Awesome Career Choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Service Delivery Manager in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some awesome reasons working for IBM was they trusted to me to make big decisions with vital internal accounts. Always was on cutting edge technology for AIX & Zos platforms. Working from home was great.

    Cons

    Sometimes would work 80+ hours for issues or major changes with little compensation or acknowledgement. Last few years of down size, was wearing several hats, SME, DPE, BAM, Life Cycle, all to be replaced by cheaper unexpirenced folks hurting only customers satisfaction.

    Advice to Management

    I hope I get another position at IBM So we can use all the skills I learned while there.

    IBM2019-04-12
  2. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Boulder, CO
    Recommends

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Respectful work environment, decent benefits, work from home, many training and continuing ed opportunities.

    Cons

    Constant reorganization, uncertainty, lack of communication and clear direction

    IBM2019-11-26
  3. "Apathetic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Support Representative in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    lack of managers breathing down your neck

    Cons

    There is little to no communication between teams and from managers to employees. if you want to feel like a number. If you want to use outdated monitors and desk equipment There is a general culture of APATHY here. If you want to work where no one cares, work here.

    IBM2019-09-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "IBM SUCKS!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Advisor in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good flexibility and work life balance

    Cons

    Everything, they don't care about their employees at all - especially the ones that have been there the longest.

    IBM2019-10-01
  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Administrator in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for, good CEO and good work environment.

    Cons

    work life balance could be better

    IBM2019-08-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Be careful before joining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security and Risk ID Administrator in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am writing about my experience through Career Connection Incorporated at IBM near Boulder, CO. They had a good cafeteria. Sometimes, they let people work from home if it snowed. They did buy Red Hat Linux and have Watson, so if you get on one of those teams, you may have more security.

    Cons

    Stress and furloughs as a security and risk ID admnistrator. I was also forced to be on convoluted phone meetings which took me away from my actual work. When the best two aspects were the General Foods International Coffee Creamer and that my credit union was on site, it was time to run far and fast.

    Advice to Management

    Pay people more and warn of furloughs before hiring anyone. Hire directly and get rid of lame contracting companies.

    IBM2019-08-29
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Infrastructure & Security Focal in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company looks good on your resume.

    Cons

    This company was terrible to work for. Unrealistic expectations and lack of direction. People are terribly underpaid and being an 'IBMer' doesn't really benefit you as you are more likely to be let go than being a contractor. This really is a starter job for someone looking for a big company name to put on your resume.

    Advice to Management

    IBM is a lost cause, no advice is going to help.

    IBM2019-07-12
  8. "Cost cutting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Architect in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company to start at out of college

    Cons

    After 15 years just want to cut costs and US resources

    Advice to Management

    Colocation is a bad idea

    IBM2019-05-22
  9. "Great if you are foreign"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - IT Contractor in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Can't think of anything good about this company other than a couple of their clients were good

    Cons

    Everything gets outsourced CEO is killing a once great and innovative company slowly as opposed to others like Karly Fiorina that drove theirs into the ground this broad is destroying it one foreign worker at a time

    Advice to Management

    Bring back an innovative American workforce before its too late

    IBM2019-06-01
  10. "Customer Service Rep / Service Desk Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    IBM hires people to work in Service Desk / Customer Service with very little or no experience. It is a decent way to get into tech and get experience working at a large corporation. If you have valuable talents and strive to learn, you will be given many different roles which will give you experience and bullet points on your resume.

    Cons

    The work environment gets very toxic in service desk. If you have talents they will abuse them and you won't get much of any raise or a different title. Leadership doesn't value much of anyone in service desk. If you try to apply elsewhere at IBM, management will often do whatever they can to sabotage your attempt at moving to a better job. They act like slave drivers, don't often listen to feedback given by agents... and talk very unprofessionally about employees behind their back.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If someone has the skills and desire to move elsewhere at IBM, let them.. if you don't they'll just quit and find a company that actually values them. If you want to improve service desk, then try to have trust in the people under you, and believe in them and their success, because their success is the success of all of IBM and the success of IBM's clients.

    IBM2019-05-01
Found 231 reviews