IBM Business Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Business Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 636 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
292 Ratings
  1. "Amazing company with an amazing team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Consultant in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Everything was out of the ordinary, and they had a tech team to back it all up as well. Had a great informative time

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    IBM2019-03-08
  2. "IBM offers many opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Large company offering a lot of training and opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Very large company, the overall size of IBM can be overwhelming, if you can get past that, you will love it.

    IBM2019-05-22
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Business Analyst 

      I have been working at IBM full-time

      Pros

      Plenty of training offered General feeling of being part of something bigger

      Cons

      Next step is not always clear

      IBM2019-05-14
    • "Awesome place to have multiple careers in one company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Business Unit Executive in Atlanta, GA

        I worked at IBM full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        IBM is 12 different companies. Everything to basic manufacturing, R&D, sales, marketing, etc. The actual breadth of the products make this such a great place to work for 35 years

        Cons

        IBM has lost some of its internal glue. They are not as loyal to their employees, which make the employees less loyal to IBM.

        IBM2019-05-08
      • Helpful (1)

        "Would rate 3.5 if I could"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Business Operations Manager 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        Flexible on job location (i.e. remote work), and setting your own hours. Plenty of opportunities to work abroad. There are training/education/certification opportunities, but all are virtual and self study. The company is large enough where lateral moves can be easy to find, and offer new career challenges.

        Cons

        Finance runs the company, and they will frequently (and suddenly) put in place strict spending cuts. To the point where it is nearly impossible to do any non-customer travel. For group training, conferences, team meetings, etc. There are people with whom I have worked for 10+ years, and have never met face to face. Management puts little effort into career guidance. There are some exceptions to that rule, but not...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Take a longer-term view of the business, and of your employees. IBM has operated in a short-term mode for the better part of a decade, with mixed results.

        IBM2019-04-11
      • "Great Place to Learn and Develop a Career"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Business Development Intern in Cambridge, MA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at IBM for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Lots of opportunities. Simple promotion systems.

        Cons

        Lack of information on operations. Teams are very divided.

        IBM2019-04-08
      • "Business Analyst"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Dallas, TX

        I have been working at IBM full-time

        Pros

        • Experience in Business Process Management, Business Analysis, System Analysis, Scope Documents. • Extensive experience in requirements gathering. • Strong experience in GAP analysis to identify system restrictions and potentials, and creating AS-IS and TO-BE documents and Process Maps.

        Cons

        hard work, DEDICATION, INTELLIGENCE, MOTIVATIONAL, focus

        IBM2019-04-05
      • "If you’re lucky a great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Business Transformation Consultant in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great for your professional development and resume

        Cons

        Getting on a project isn’t always a guarantee for incoming CBDers

        IBM2019-04-03
      • "Great start, terrible as time went on"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Business Transformation Consultant in New York, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at IBM full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Decent compensation, smart coworkers and good mentors

        Cons

        Absolutely abysmal leadership has inability to sell projects, leading to long bench times, leading to bureaucratic managers giving poor performance reviews Management first judged me alongside more senior employees, leading to a poor first year review, then bench time got me placed on PIP late december. I left to join another firm in mid January. Useless required trainings and hoops to jump through for promotion.

        Advice to Management

        Honestly, sell projects and don't place the blame on junior employees.

        IBM2019-04-11
      • "Decent entry level position if you are placed into the right practice"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Business Transformation Consultant in Chicago, IL

          I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          - Good pay and benefits - Lots of online resources available to learn new skills or information

          Cons

          - Many entry-level consultants are not placed into a practice that initially matches their skill set or interest

          Advice to Management

          - Be more transparent during interview process about possible practices that people will be placed into, should not be marketed as management consulting

          IBM2019-03-27
        Found 636 reviews