IBM Reviews in Cary, NC | Glassdoor

IBM Cary Reviews

Updated Mar 9, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "IBM Former"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer, and Systems Development Manager Prior in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    excellent technology company with a recognized brand worldwide. A career where there is endless technology job possibilities for qualified staff. Contact made throughout the IT industry.

    Cons

    IBM is a place that is not for everyone. IBM allows you freedom to fail and freedom to succeed. The choice is yours but be ready when you first start to wear the eight stripe logo

    Advice to Management

    Never settle for anything less that total customer satisfaction, and staff excellence. Leave the political influence to the Sr. Management and not the staff.

    IBM2016-11-22
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, love the people I am working with right now

    Cons

    Managers can be a pain

    IBM2018-03-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good big-company-place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Architect in Cary, NC

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very smart technical people around. Many opportunities to choose from if you want to pursue other endeavors within the company.

    Cons

    Leadership hasn't to have figured out how to reverse the five year trend of declining revenues.

    IBM2017-10-01
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Technical Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Sales Manager in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people, wide variety of roles

    Cons

    Bureacracy, volatility, frequent layoffs, strategy questionable

    IBM2016-12-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Still innovative after all these years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Market Research Analyst in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - High quality colleagues, team rigor for new innovations and emerging business models - Great new Design agency and workshops for offerings - Push employees to stay continually educated on latest technologies and trends, examples: Think Fridays, Cognitive Build contest with far flung teaming opportunities, free Company Online courses

    Cons

    - Still too many layoffs, culling down employee population due to transition - Losing some great people due to some managers that aren't listening

    Advice to Management

    - Don't be tied to old overly conservative metrics for M&As - we lose out on opportunities - Keep investing in future tech, be bold

    IBM2016-08-24
  6. "Not the same IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    IBM offers a pretty good work life balance which is great for parents and families.

    Cons

    Years ago I would have given this company a solid 4 but lately so many positions have been lifted and shifted over seas. Every quarter you find yourself holding your breath hoping not to get "the call" telling you your job is moving to another country.

    Advice to Management

    I would ask for management to be more involved with employees all during the year and not just during PBC time.

    IBM2016-07-06
  7. "IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work from Home opportunities Flexible schedule Multiple locations

    Cons

    Size. Slow to respond to market. Limited opportunity for growth. Moving many jobs outside of North America

    IBM2016-06-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Canned after 35 years - job shipped overseas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Technical Writer in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours, some great people,

    Cons

    nothing is as important as the bottom line. especially the people

    IBM2016-04-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Scrum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no good reasons to work for this company. They are full of bullies who only know this way to be!

    Cons

    Please see comments under under the "Pros" section.

    IBM2016-02-24
  10. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Respect of the individual. Creativity was highly encouraged. Excellent mix of assignments. Incredible people. Fun, positive work environment. Great pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Sold some incredible technology, product lines, and skilled professionals that left some voids that need to be backfilled with new strategic initiatives and alliances. I have no doubt they will bounce back and get the stock value back to the $190-200 per share range.

    Advice to Management

    Fully confident in the management team.

    IBM2015-10-20
Found 13 reviews