IBM Reviews in Charlotte, NC | Glassdoor

IBM Charlotte Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 86 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
19%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
37 Ratings
  1. "This isn't your dad's IBM."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Cloud Technologist in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been working with IBM for 22 years now. IBM has given me the opportunity to work with so many different technologies as well as interact with amazing people. Of course there are difficult times, but the strength of being a IBMer pulls us all together to solve a client's challenge. There is not a day which goes by, we as a team look for a better way to solve a problem. I love that. I am a #ProudIBMer.

    Cons

    Keeping up with so many new advancements in Cloud, Analytic, Mobile, Social & Security (CAMSS).

    Advice to Management

    Allow the freedom of your teams to reach outside of their responsibility. You will be amazed at how new knowledge will improve your team's goals.

    IBM2015-10-28
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Applications Developer in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed working at IBM. Freedom of technology.

    Cons

    Job depends on the client and department. Significant outsourcing.

    IBM2015-09-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Watson Healthcare Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer/Consultant in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging and rewarding work, great managers and environment.

    Cons

    Geographic location, can't think of much else.

    IBM2015-08-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Ibm - Long term supplement employee ( Contract)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Long Term Supplement Employee in Charlotte, NC

    I have been working at IBM

    Pros

    Benefits as per with IBM employees. Support for benefit is great. Other than that , I have got nothing.

    Cons

    Corruption. When I got selected by client , the recruitment coordinator for IBM contacted me through common friend ( small Indian community in CLT) to lure me to join to his bro-in-law's company- which is a vendor to IBM. When I complained to someone in the the Partner level , he sent the recruitment coordinator to India for couple of months - and now , after 2 and half , he is back with the same position same place...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Restore the value system.

    IBM2015-07-15
  5. "Good firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM

    Pros

    Good people and culture Pay was good

    Cons

    bottle necks long time for decisions to be made

    IBM2015-06-11
  6. "Data Privacy & Security Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Privacy & Wireless Consultant in Indian Trail, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent opportunities to gain a Top Secret Clearance. Traveling to different states.

    Cons

    Top Secret Clearamce was not utilized very often. Most people would end up loosing them because they the company did not use them often enough to keep them secret.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage your employees to get their certificates, ie CISSP, CISA, AND CISM

    IBM2015-06-08
  7. "Don't get lost in the shuffle!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Instant brand recognition with customers - easy to get in the door A wealth of support, development, and management resources available Clearly defined career paths - management encouraged to help with this

    Cons

    It is easy to get lost in such a massive organization Yearly review process is setup so that somebody on the team must get a low mark, regardless of work output Very difficult to get raises - negotiate a salary you'll be happy with for a while

    Advice to Management

    Try to spend time at least on a monthly basis coaching employees about career goals and paths to achieve these Create clearly defined work objectives that can be attained and used to measure performance Seek to have at least bi-weekly team meetings to encourage a sense of "ibm family" for remote workers

    IBM2015-04-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Used to be a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Program Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They support work-life balance by allowing working from home, some of the technology is amazing. They support some of the biggest global companies in the world.

    Cons

    Continuous cutting of people makes getting anything done very difficult. There has been brain drain for years loosing people with valuable experience. The former priority of "respect for the individual" is gone. It seems the only focus of the company is to try to delivery to the stockholders by lowering costs, but the customers are not receiving the support they need from the skeleton crew remaining.

    Advice to Management

    Rediscover that people make the company work, not stockholders.

    IBM2015-03-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Unstable environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisory IT Specialist in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM

    Pros

    The flexibility and autonomy are great !

    Cons

    The corporate environment is unstable. First Line Manager has no power. You could let go anytime, not based on your performance.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with PBC rating or else get rid of it.

    IBM2015-01-29
  10. "Overall satisfied of my time there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management, opportunities to move, staff

    Cons

    Traveling, pay, structure, training, communication

    Advice to Management

    Invest in employees more

    IBM2015-01-13
Found 86 reviews