IBM Reviews in Charlotte, NC | Glassdoor

IBM Charlotte Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 86 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
37 Ratings
  1. "Scrum Master"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scrum Master in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities to learn. Very process oriented. Definitely a class above the other Service based IT firms.

    Cons

    Not many Scrum Master opportunities. Role gets diluted, end up taking multiple roles in hybrid environments.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    IBM2015-01-10
  2. "It was a pretty good experience, i learned alot about the mortgage industry however there was a lack of growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Loan Administrator in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The income and earning potential was better than most job markets these days and the schedules provided a work life balance.

    Cons

    The instruction provided by upper management was not consistent and the direction of the company was not clear.

    Advice to Management

    Provide clear instruction to the employees and have all methods of communication be provided within a reasonable timeframe.

    IBM2014-12-24
  3. "Momentum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Area Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Solid growth opportunities allow ambitious employees to advance their career. Always a new project to move to each year.

    Cons

    High pressure and stressful environment often lead to burn out or work/life imbalance. Sr. Mgt often viewed as paper pushers rather than the experts. Micromanagement common in some divisions.

    Advice to Management

    Don't shaft employees just because they want work-life balance.

    IBM2014-07-08
  4. "I am happy at IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IT Specialist in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are fantastic. Great hearts and minds. Working from home, training opportunities, interesting projects, good compensation

    Cons

    Disconnect between sales and project delivery teams. Too many opportunities, and this leaves my head spinning. Must direct your own career and carve out time to do so. I am always too busy to do that!

    IBM2014-06-28
  5. "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intel Server Support in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Direct hires got to work from home but I was a contractor. If we needed assets and tools, we got it. Great pay.

    Cons

    Being a contractor I was treated like a 2nd class citizen. No benefits, excluded from meetings and not allowed to work from home. However, they had a need for someone to join the on-call rotation, contractors weren't supposed to be eligible but I did it anyway. Employees are often treated like a number and not a person. Constant layoffs and relocations. Client we worked for was hostile towards us (some of the managers...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees like people, not numbers. Employee morale can do wonders for productivity and your bottom line. You could learn something from companies like Google.

    IBM2014-06-28
  6. "One of the best companies I have ever worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ProtecTIER FTSS in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I only worked for IBM for 18 months and was then laid off. However during that time I found them open and honest with employees and customers alike. I would not hesitate to work for them again. the work was exciting and you never stopped learning.

    Cons

    So big they tend to trip over their own feet at times

    Advice to Management

    You may want to keep some manufacturing in the US rather than china otherwise you may lose the federal government as a customer

    IBM2014-05-19
  7. "Pretty Standard Consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel all around the country. See different business models and industries.

    Cons

    Utilization does not take into account vacation so you are actually penalized for using vacation.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your people in line with other management consulting companies.

    IBM2014-05-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Watched the slide from good to horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Engineer in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Experience. IBM will let you try something you want to do even if you have no idea whats going on.

    Cons

    promotions, pay, leadership, job security are all non-existent.

    Advice to Management

    Your products are not nearly as good as you think they are.

    IBM2014-04-20
  9. "Support Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Level II in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM

    Pros

    Wonderful company to work at

    Cons

    none that I could think of at this time.

    IBM2014-02-19
  10. "Senior IT Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IT Architect in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work from home, good people to work with

    Cons

    On-going resource cuts and cost cutting

    Advice to Management

    Less process more creativity

    IBM2014-02-11
Found 86 reviews