IBM Reviews in Columbia, SC | Glassdoor

IBM Columbia Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
7 Ratings
  1. "Loved It!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - User Experience Designer in Columbia, SC
    Recommends

    I worked at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    I had a great team that I worked with and a great boss. We were really making a difference in the tech industry.

    Cons

    I wanted someone to give me more guidance as an intern.

    IBM2019-02-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Don't stay too long."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Delivery Manager in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Lots of variety and opportunities to grow. Good benefits package.

    Cons

    Such a big company, it is hard to get to the new opportunities, and it is a slow process. 401k matching is only at year end, downfall if you exit before December.

    Advice to Management

    Actually treat your employees as you boast that you do.

    IBM2019-03-07
  3. "TSM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, SC
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    great depth in offering Massive exenditire in R&D

    Cons

    bureaucratic the BU have conflicting view of he business

    IBM2018-08-17
  4. "Peoplesoft Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Peoplesoft Consultant in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance and good clientage.

    Cons

    The salaries are not up to the market level

    IBM2018-04-27
  5. "Beware of working for them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Solutions Architect in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than 2 years

    Pros

    They treat people like crap

    Cons

    They are 90% H1B and they mistreat them and expect everyone else to follow along. The H1b workers are all from 1 corner of India and they discriminate and harass anyone who isn't from their corner. The upside is you can be a poor performer and will never be caught if you are a quiet yes man.

    Advice to Management

    H1b taking American workers place is outright theft.

    IBM2018-04-02
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Senior IT Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior IT Specialist in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Free training, good benefits, opportunity to learn and plenty of work.

    Cons

    Management replacing US workers with H1B workers to save money. Unrealistic hours of overtime including having to make up time for vacations and holidays. Management not interested in quality work just warm bodies. IBM famous for laying off people.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on quality and not cheap labor. Communication issues frustrate the customer and hurt the project. Stop trying to cheat the employees. Stop lying to customer.

    IBM2016-09-20
  7. "Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior IT Architect in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM

    Pros

    Pay, people, benefits, advancement and work/life

    Cons

    Globalization, management is mostly by numbers as with most large companies now

    IBM2015-08-26
  8. "Client Technical Storage Sales Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Technical Enterprise Storage Sales Specialist in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great pay, Smart people, wonder environment

    Cons

    Once a year the have resource actions

    Advice to Management

    help keep your loyal employees from losing there jobs

    IBM2015-08-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not your father's IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    I worked for IBM for 26 years, now retired. Over the years I was well compensated and had many opportunties to advance. Had several job changes over the years, last being a software engineer for the Information Management of the Software Group. This was the best job I had. Worked from home 100%, had very competent co-workers and mostly good managers.

    Cons

    Over the years, benefits were slowly taken away, to the point where they seemed to be squeezing ever last thing they could take from the employees. Just one example, workers at home were compensated for internet access when I stated, but the last year I worked, they stopped. Their reasoning was everyone would have their own internet anyway so why should IBM compensate, they gave us the option to go to a work site, but...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees as people rather then resources.

    IBM2013-07-20
Found 9 reviews