IBM Consulting Senior Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Consulting Senior Manager

IBM Senior Managing Consultant Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
126 Ratings
  1. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Managing Consultant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time

    Pros

    work from home, flexibility, bonus

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    IBM2019-08-30
  2. "Great place to work. Highly recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Managing Consultant in New York, NY

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Highly recommend

    Cons

    disorganized structure at this company

    IBM2019-07-06
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Managing Consultant in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's big, so it pays on time.

    Cons

    1. Leadership is negative. I have personally heard VPs yell/scream/use profanity at their direct reports in front of 50+people on a call. 2. A large percentage of your colleagues are incompetent. So many times, I had to chase people to do their jobs. Though, for IBM, hiring incompetent people seems like a great way to create manager jobs. 3. Upper management (at least HR) tries to 'inspire' through fear-mongering,... and this trickles down to the lower levels. Employees are afraid to ask for simple, reasonable requests in fear of backlash from managers. I've also heard them directly mock their employees in front of others like a child on a playground. - Like other service companies, IBM offers a wide variety of industries for your interest. However, management appears to 'block' most movement. Some of my colleagues were patient enough and waited 5 years for a change. Others gave up and left the company for a higher pay position in the industry they were looking for. 4. The individual target bonuses are high, but the company is leaking money, so rewards are low. On my last year, I received the highest rating possible, and received a formal IBM pdf stating my bonus was $0. What a slap in the face... 5. Disorganized - IBM has become so large that it is nearly impossible to really work 'as a team'. Like many consulting firms, IBM has resources in other countries (mainly India) due to cost. Unlike other consulting firms, the travel 'legislators' do not work well; they are not flexible. On an internal deployment, IBM travel refused to grant approval to even APPLY for a visa for my Indian colleagues because the IBM criteria of X days was not met. 6. Too much time is spent on administrivia. Things which should be simple like time cards, expenses, booking travel require so many hoops, IBM has pages-long documentation on how to get one travel request. Just think of how much time is spent for each new project manager reading through this documentation just so they can do their actual jobs.

    Show More
    IBM2019-07-26
  4. "Not for Business Consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Managing Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary was within acceptable range Best for junior consultants with little experience

    Cons

    Poorly contracted and scoped consulting engagements Dysfunctional behavior and lack of cross-practice collaboration Sales pitches and RFPs that claim technologies that are vaporware Culture favors mediocre, the curious and creative go elsewhere No bonus program to speak of

    IBM2019-04-15
  5. "GBS Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Managing Consultant in Raleigh, NC

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, competitive compensation, challenging projects and ability to gain new skills

    Cons

    Long hours and even less recognition.

    IBM2019-03-21
  6. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Managing Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic people to work with and tons of growth potential

    Cons

    Lots of internal processes, etc.

    IBM2019-02-27
  7. "Lovely company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Managing Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Appreciation for talent and skill No to less Politics Very flexible

    Cons

    Travel - due to consulting model Pay - Not good

    IBM2019-02-21
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Sr Managing Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Managing Consultant in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have some interesting projects and have enjoyed traveling with my work.

    Cons

    Unethical practices by executives. Employees are at risk of age discrimination.

    Advice to Management

    Find your "Why". A truly successful company needs more than a single-minded focus on revenue generation. Having a successful company goes beyond competitive differentiators and catchy corporate mission statements. It takes passion, and commitment that resonates throughout your organization. IBM is lacking in knowing their "Why".

    IBM2018-10-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great team, not the best pay or benefits anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Managing Consultant in Somers, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Learning experience is great. The team i worked with was excellent and we had a great manager

    Cons

    The benefits and business practices are what makes IBM a challenge. Company is penny pinching on things that generate a burden on employees.

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of the people. Profits are not the only important thing in the world

    IBM2018-08-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Managing Consultant - IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Managing Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good opportunity to learn the functional and technical aspects of dominant software technologies.

    Cons

    The company turns a blind eye to incompetent managers.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the deadwood.

    IBM2018-06-27
Found 286 reviews