IBM Contract Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Contracts Manager Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
5 Ratings
  1. "IBM is a solid company with good benefits and competitive pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Contracts Manager in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Flexibility in work location, many employees work remotely.

    Cons

    They say they are committed to work life balance but I did not experience that in action. You are required to be available to work at many times that interfere with off-time and vacations.

    IBM2013-07-25
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Caution: Instability & Layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contracts Manager in Boca Raton, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Internal education is frequent & diverse. Coworkers are some of the brightest & hardest working people in the industry. Great 401k 100% match to 6%

    Cons

    Constant & massive resource actions. Very low morale, everybody is nervous, unattainable sales quotas. Legacy top performing employees with 20+ years of valuable knowledge & experience are being let go with a mere 30 day severance for their decades of loyalty in favor of less skilled & lower salaried young college grads. Too many underwhelming middle & senior managers who should be let go instead. No accountability at...

    Show More
    IBM2017-04-21
  3. "Business Operations Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Commercial Contract Management in Bratislava
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, Team (very subjective though)

    Cons

    Salary, Employee benefits (improving drastically though)

    IBM2018-06-15

    IBM Response

    June 28, 2018Marketing & HR

    Thank you very much for your feedback. We are trying to make salaries more competitive. wish you all the best in your future.

  4. "Avinash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contracts Manager in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, Team Bonding, Career Growth, Brand Name, Infrastructure.

    Cons

    Salary, Processes, Slow Pace, Lack of clarity, Layers of management.

    Advice to Management

    To be more flexible.

    IBM2017-12-13
  5. "General"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contract & Commercial Manager in Bratislava
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexible working environment, HO policies

    Cons

    Low salaries, slow progress, old processes

    IBM2017-10-19

    IBM Response

    May 15, 2018Marketing & HR

    Thank you for the feedback. We are doing our best to make salaries more competetive.

  6. "IBM Costa Rica"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Contracts Manager in San Jose, San Jose
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I am based in Costa Rica

    Cons

    Company does not pay you to make your work but to make projects. Management is not good. Lots of friends get to be managers.

    Advice to Management

    Lots of burocracy.

    IBM2017-06-21
  7. "It is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contract Manager in São Paulo, São Paulo
    Recommends

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    time flexibility (home office) great company culture great people

    Cons

    low salary poor performance assessment process No career plan

    Advice to Management

    review the performance assessment process & bonuses

    IBM2016-06-09
  8. "Nice muticultural company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Manager in Bratislava
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    IBM is a multicultural company, it offers good career opportunities in a wide range of jobs and several benefits. If you are multi-lingual, you will be able to speak all the languages you know! You can learn a job from zero and move to different departments. Great team-buildings, company parties, great people in general. You can work on bank holidays and/or week-ends and get extra holiday or money on your next salary....

    Show More

    Cons

    The salaries are not the highest, but that might be because of the country I am currently working in. At the time I didn't negotiate my salary, which is not high but covers all my expenses and allows me to save some money. Currently over-loaded with work, not enough people as the company is not going through its best moment.

    Advice to Management

    Salary increase would probably motivate the employees to stay. There are too many people coming and going, the team changes too much and every time there is a lack of experienced people.

    IBM2015-11-16

    IBM Response

    May 14, 2018Marketing & HR

    Thank you for your feedback. As we mentioned, we will do our best to make salaries more attractive and higher! :)

  9. Helpful (1)

    "too Blue to be good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contract Manager in Bratislava
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    friendly environment within team, home office possibility!! - really big benefit honestly, flexible working hours, laptop

    Cons

    local micro management - not skilled people (internal educ won't teach you how to lead people), not supportive - talking about challanges, but don't feel challanged at all (it was more fight than challange)

    Advice to Management

    don't be scared to have subordinates that are not afraid to disagree with you and are skilled in other fields than you are - they don't automaticly want your chair..., be focused more on business than your own prospects and visibility

    IBM2015-10-07

    IBM Response

    May 14, 2018Marketing & HR

    Thx for the feedback! We will do our best to improve the work & life balance conditions in IBM teams. If you can give us more specific feedback, we would really appreciate it!

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Too big to be manageable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Manager in Bratislava
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great people work in there. The experience is in overall positive, but it is the kind of job that you cannot do for too long. You have freedom to move to other teams in the country in case you hate your job. They also promote the rotation to try to avoid that people get to confortable on their job.

    Cons

    It varies on every country IBM is in, but in Slovakia you get no overtime paid, in any way. That means that you will stay very late sometimes to support deals you are getting no comission for, for basically no extra money or vacation. You can cope on that for few weeks, but not for long. It is extremely inflexible in many ways. You can start from the bottom, perform perfectly and get a better position, but your salary...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It is difficult to advice anything to managers... I know how my team works, but I don´t know how the same team works in Brazil or in Malasya, so I think that they do what they do for a reason... that I still didnt manage to understand :)

    IBM2014-05-17

    IBM Response

    June 28, 2018Marketing & HR

    Hello, thank you for your feedback. We will be more than happy when you will reach us on our Facebook page-> IBM Slovensko and together we can find a solution.

Found 11 reviews