IBM Reviews in Endicott, NY | Glassdoor

IBM Endicott Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
1%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
6 Ratings
  1. "IBM provides opportunities - at a cost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Endicott, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    As a major multinational company with many lines of business, you can easily move from job to job within IBM and develop a rewarding career.

    Cons

    Being very large, IBM can sometimes be frustrating because it takes a lot to break the mold.

    Advice to Management

    Stop thinking that you are saving money by hiring off shore. It's hurting your capacity, capabilities, and quality.

    IBM2014-07-30
  2. "Project Manager/Solution Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Endicott, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Stayed busy. Never a dull moment. Latest computer equipment. I was promoted twice in 2 years.

    Cons

    It's 24 hours a day. Working with other countries on the same project. Just not on the same time zone.

    IBM2018-12-23
  3. "Patent Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Endicott, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great work environment with exceptional training and work experience.

    Cons

    Location is not suited for young professionals.

    Advice to Management

    Relocate office to a more upcoming/ modern city.

    IBM2017-10-16
  4. "electronic technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Endicott, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    great 401k match great health benefits

    Cons

    no pension plan no training

    Advice to Management

    none

    IBM2017-05-25
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Company can't sustain itself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Endicott, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Large, noisy agile work spaces with shared phones and inadequate quiet space. Managers will provide constant feedback on every thing you do wrong. Expect high attrition through RA and rebalancing efforts.

    Cons

    There is no "work from home" or "work life balancing" programs. Current rebalancing efforts target older workers by moving the positions to other cities without adequate relocation benefits. Stay away unless you are from India, China or Philippines. No growth in any other country.

    Advice to Management

    Eliminate the CEO. She has done nothing good and by firing everybody, you have no talent left.

    IBM2017-04-03
  6. "Senior Systems Engineer (Retired-Disabled)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Endicott, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at IBM

    Pros

    Family oriented, I had a Cerebral Anuerysm(stroke) in 1993 and they are still helping me to a small degree.

    Cons

    The job pressure is what gave me my stroke in the first place (IBM was down-sizing).

    Advice to Management

    Make sure your employees keep up their physical health and do not push themselves too hard.

    IBM2016-12-02
  7. "Sweatshop!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transition Project Manager in Endicott, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    High caliber clients and experiences

    Cons

    Low pay; low increases; extensive hours and travel requirements

    IBM2015-10-16
  8. "Not the same company it was a decade ago. Benefits shrinking, pay stagnant, no perks whatsoever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisory Software Engineer (Band 8) in Endicott, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Somewhat flexible hours...but that flexibility is shrinking each year. Peers are considerate and want to help one another but management is self serving. IBM lacks likable managers who actually care about their employees.

    Cons

    Do more with less people corporate mentality. Inconsistent rating system....rated average one year and received 1% raise....rated above average the next year and received 1% raise. That demotivates employees.

    Advice to Management

    People are your greatest resources; invest in them.

    IBM2015-10-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Consulting IT specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting IT Specialist in Endicott, NY

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    My area is flexible and works for my family. I am a work at home employee and this is a huge help. Benefits are average at best. There are career opportunities if you are able and willing to travel/work at client site.

    Cons

    Untilization targets are high as you give back all earned time off. Resource actions seem to happen every quarter so I am always on pins and needles. Rating system is unfair. Variable pay, and raises are anemic at best and reward only the top few.

    Advice to Management

    Value your long term employees as they are the ones that, time and again, save the day. Reward them appropriately.

    IBM2015-08-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "At BIG BLUE..You're just a number!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transition Project Manager in Endicott, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM

    Pros

    Many employees, including me, are able to work from home. This is a huge benefit - saving on gas, commute time, enables work-life balance (to some extent). Good benefits and looks good on resume to have worked for this technology giant.

    Cons

    I worked for IBM for 10 years and recently let go due to a massive 'reorg' effort. Which really translates into...IBM needs to meet the quarterly budget forecast. Working from home for IBM really means: "You will work 24x7!" You are basically expected to be 'on call' and join any conference call that's required to troubleshoot and/or support problem resolution every day, and any hour of the day. During major project...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This is futile, but IBM needs to recognize and appreciate individual employee contributions and loyalty. They need to invest in employees and build their skills. Without a solid, committed employee foundation, what do you really have?

    IBM2015-03-02
Found 16 reviews