IBM Engagement Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Engagement Manager Reviews

Updated May 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "If you want to learn, travel the world and get paid to do it, start your career at IBM."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engagement Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Over the past 3 years I've had 3 different jobs at IBM. Each with it's own unique challenges and opportunities. The best part about the experience- the people. IBM attracts some of the smartest people on earth and it's a great privileged to work with and learn from them. Second best part is the work life balance. I work from home, as such I have a lot of flexibility to get out for a walk at lunch time or run an errand...

    Show More

    Cons

    Management is hit and miss. We have some amazing managers who execute flawlessly, but at the expense of their employees. Employees get frustrated and either put up with managers who degrade, insult, and overall infuriate them or they leave. A 360 review process that enables employees to review managers would solve this. Some people just weren't meant to manage people- and that's okay, let's just move them into roles where...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's time to "Restlessly Reinvent" of our compensation structure.Why is it that I do the same job as my colleagues and return equal or better outcomes and yet am compensated so much lower (20-30% as per Glassdoor) just because I've been here 2 years instead of 10+. Stop compensating people for the "length of time" they've been at the company. I take on projects that go above and beyond and deliver and yet still am not...

    Show More
    IBM2014-11-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work for 3-5 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engagement Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a plethora of opportunities to work in roles that interest you. Company culture is changing into a more progressive one with an influx of younger workers leading the charge.

    Cons

    There seems to be a lack of genuine relationships among colleagues-- e.g. we're here to get work done, not to be friends type attitude seems to abound in most offices. People are friendly, just don't really make the effort to go much further.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. Let's get that stock price up!

    IBM2014-04-30
  3. "All about bottomline!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engagement Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good laid back culture, growth opportunities, exposure to new technologies and clients from different industries.

    Cons

    Low on salary, very minimal to no bonus, compensation structure sucks after you have been there for a while.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people as assets and invest in their compensation!

    IBM2013-04-24
  4. "Great Company, but Serious Problems at Management level, not Executive Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engagement Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM

    Pros

    IBM is a great company and Executive Management has a great vision.

    Cons

    The problem is that vision get lost in transmission and you end up with chaos, lots of politics, and old folks in management whose only reason being these is to secure retirement. Employee Advancement is not existing, career advancement does not exist, and support for Eduction is null.

    Advice to Management

    Executive Management needs to ensure that their vision is not lost in transmission. They need to focus on career development, and Education opportunities. Caring for employees need to move from lip service, Intranet PR, to actual processes that can be measured. Internal Employee happiness and problems need to be recognized and addressed

    IBM2010-05-16
  5. "Great School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engagement Manager in Hortolândia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to learn

    Cons

    Very low payment, human resource is also not very efficient.

    IBM2019-05-28
  6. "Engagement manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engagement Manager 

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brand value Reimbursement policies Work life balance in general

    Cons

    Too buerocratic Managers are given too much power Non existent hr

    IBM2019-04-19
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engagement Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Open environment, impressive learning opportunities, global opportunities, multicultural environment

    Cons

    Complex environment, constant changes and increasing dynamics

    IBM2018-07-12
  8. "Awesome company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engagement Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I was a graduate so recieved plenty of training, accreditation and shadowing opportunties.

    Cons

    Sometimes they would just move you into a different role usually when the business needs change which can be annoying if your trying to specialise in specific area.

    Advice to Management

    My managers were amazing and really helped me get real world experience for one of the biggest i.t companies in the world

    IBM2017-07-21
  9. "Client Engagement Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Engagement Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Company policies are Managed and Properly organized

    Cons

    You wont feel like to move after joining Honeywell

    IBM2017-05-10
  10. "Engagement Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engagement Manager in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Market business share, New technologies to succeed with Cognitive, Watson etc, Skilled employees

    Cons

    Processes, bureaucratic approach, administrative task, inefficiency

    Advice to Management

    Focus on key initiatives, employee satisfaction

    IBM2016-09-22
Found 11 reviews