IBM HR Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM HR Reviews

Updated 30 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
70%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
93 Ratings
  1. "6-Month Fall Semester Co-Op at IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Human Resources Professional in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good pay and relocation , discount benefits - Great company culture of movement and advancement - Responsibility for your own career - Great people - Awesome office atmosphere (At Astor Place at least) - WFH and work life balance amazing

    Cons

    - Can be hierarchical sometimes - Need to be forward about projects you want - HUGE company; nobody ever knows the same people

    IBM2019-10-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Many learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Professional in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tons of learning resources. Good manager-employee relationships.

    Cons

    Bureaucratic. Hard to get things down sometimes.

    IBM2019-11-19
  3. "Smart people looking to do the right thing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Professional 
    Recommends

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Working with good people, with very strong ethics and values.

    Cons

    Bit of an hierarchical environment

    IBM2019-10-31
  4. "Big company, lots of bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Generalist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities due to the size of the company and network you can connect with within the company...

    Cons

    Large company comes with a lot of hierarchy and redundancy ...

    IBM2019-09-19
  5. "Best Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global HR-IT Business/Data Analyst in Armonk, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and opportunities to expand to various areas of interest.

    Cons

    Some internal applications are hard to use (but interns are fixing these)!

    Advice to Management

    Encourage your employees to branch out and explore new things.

    IBM2019-08-29
  6. "Need Work On The Long Team View"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Consultant in New Market, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great name, smart people, decent pay.

    Cons

    Focused on products, not solutions, results not a client, titles not contributions

    Advice to Management

    Cut a few layers, stop trying to be Google or Amazon and become IBM, the leader that ensure companies success. Take it a step further and dazzle the clients with something special, not chasing the tail of others.

    IBM2019-03-15
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to Work!

    Cons

    none at this time as a new hire

    Advice to Management

    keep it up

    IBM2019-01-14
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Intern Hire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Armonk, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    IBM is a great company as a whole. That's the main reason I've stayed for over a year after being hired as an intern. I have gotten some great projects and exposure right out of college. There's also an insane amount of free internal learning and it is highly encouraged and mandatory in some cases to learn new things on the job. Work-life balance is great. I can work from home many days. The benefits are excellent.... I have amazing doctors and the actual insurance companies offer many extra resources to IBM employees. 401k matching is also very ideal, I've saved quite a bit in a very short amount of time. There are also other nice perks like being a preferred employer at apartment complexes where I lived. Overall, you're covered if you're at IBM and in truth, they prepare you for a career in- or outside of the company. All of their certifications are transferable skills.

    Show More

    Cons

    I still don't have an official title since my projects are all over the place. Unfortunately as an intern hire, I didn't have the flexibility to negotiate my salary or have a say in what position I wanted to be in. As a result, I am extremely underpaid. Also, I was placed in a team full of managers as entry-level, so that means I didn't have the chance to get a real raise. This is an unfortunately situation since I... don't think I can get the pay jump I need unless I leave the company and then come back.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please consider experience more closely when assigned positions for intern hires. Also, place interns in teams where they can have career growth and with strong managers who work in the same location as them.

    IBM2018-10-26
  9. "great people, lots of processes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in America, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    IBM has many talented people working; it also has strong benefits. currently, there is a lot of flexibility, but in some areas this is changing and that is an issue.

    Cons

    lack of empowerment due to many processes, lay-offs, compensation not competitive

    Advice to Management

    empowerment and compensation

    IBM2018-09-26
  10. Helpful (5)

    "@IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Project Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    big name, lots of opportunities, good platform to learn things co-workers are very nice and ready to help each others cross country work experiences agile environment easy internal job transfer

    Cons

    company is going down, resource action everyday too many meetings- fully booked with meetings everyday many processes, the company does not have a clear picture of its next move

    Advice to Management

    replace current CEO (talks too much does little) to a tech person who has a clear picture of the next movement, cut at least half of the backoffice employees- their existance are to make you busy with processes

    IBM2018-04-25
Found 192 reviews