IBM HR Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

IBM HR Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
70%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
97 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    IBM hires the best and the brightest. Teams are packed with talent and expertise. Their in-house curriculum is robust and easily accessible. They're constantly reinventing themselves and capitalizing on their technology strengths (Watson, Cloud, AI, Blockchain, etc..). Highly engaged individuals, who establish strong relationships, thrive in the culture.

    Cons

    Leadership is extremely weak and dysfunctional. Internal processes are mismanaged, disconnected, and inefficient. It's an extremely political environment that rewards cut throat mentality and minimizes collaboration. Transparency is virtually non-existent. They're under constant forecast / revenue /utilization duress which cascades into every aspect of company operations. The compensation is not competitive, and their bonus pay out is highly convoluted with no clear performance ties. Work-Life Balance is non-existant. After many years of top performance, accolades, Blue Point Awards, I opted to resign, for quality of life, and I have discovered there are many healthy, thriving cultures, with exciting opportunities, that not only engage and reward their employees but also collaborate with and empower their teams. Their current state is apparent based on not making any "top employer" lists (Forbes, Fortune, Working Mother, Glassdoor, etc...).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Being "IBM" is not enough. Its culture and leadership practices need to be revamped. Innovation needs to be complimented by engaged, happy, passionate teams who are thriving professionally and personally. Human Resource processes, such as Performance Reviews/Checkpoints, need to be clearly defined, executed, and a priority, with progressive feedback, and not be tabled due to competing priorities. Talent attraction is surviving due to the IBM name, but retention and full performance potential are severely crippled due to the culture.

    Show More
    IBM2017-12-20
  2. Helpful (4)

    "IBM Armonk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Human Resources Manager in Armonk, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    IBM has incredible internal marketing. When working within IBM, you actually start to believe that you are fortunate to work at IBM and that the company is on the brink of a brilliant transformation. The town halls and internal events feel celebratory even when the earnings calls are anything but positive. And even when you're working 16+ hours per day and under pressure to perform miracles.

    Cons

    The stress level at IBM creates a toxic and unhealthy environment. So many colleagues endured stress related health issues and medical leaves that I lost count. It wasn't until I left IBM that I realized that "work life balance" still means something outside of IBM.

    IBM2017-10-30
  3. "Vice President, Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Human Resources 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Deep thinking, All-inclusive, Diverse, Caring, Non-invasive, Understanding, Friendly

    Cons

    Cannot think of many, seriously, but with scale one can feel to be on an island someties

    IBM2017-08-29
  4. Helpful (2)

    "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People work very hard - give up their lives!

    Cons

    Company is failing and not rethinking approaches

    Advice to Management

    Get it together

    IBM2017-09-06
  5. "Great company to grow professional skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Armonk, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Offering Learning in a plethora of topics Fosters mentoring Diversity

    Cons

    Road blocks to transition between job functions Evaluation process is bias and debilitating Promotion of unprepared people managers

    Advice to Management

    Promote people managers that have unequivocally demonstrated the required skills and cultural & organizational readiness.

    IBM2017-05-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing Career Opportunities as You Progress in Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Partner in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    As I progressed through life and my 30 years at IBM, my job interests changed. IBM has so many career opportunities and remains so current, that I was able to move from engineering to project management to consulting to sales and to human resources, each job building on the skills I developed from the previous role. And, I was able to do this within the same IBM family. Leadership development is also a great advantage, allowing me to take on exciting and challenging assignments to prepare for the next phase of my career. I made the right choice.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is too little time in life to be able to experience all the career opportunities that IBM has to offer.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on staying relevant and providing opportunities to those with the ambition to move the company in the right direction.

    IBM2017-04-20
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything is great, even the ability to work from home

    Cons

    There are no cons that I can think of

    IBM2017-04-27
  8. "One of THE Top 5 brands to work for...............globally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Continually re-invents itself to stay relevant to changing times. IBM is 'World Issue' relevant, not just a technology services company - focusing on solving issues such as curing diseases, ensuring that expertise in areas such as healthcare, law, finance is available to ALL, no matter where you live or your socio-economic limitations, etc. IBM has had a focus on equal pay and diversity since long before it became a focus for other organizations. Career development opportunities are second to none, the internal movement of staff to new roles is a constant focus

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes it can be a little bureaucratic and overly 'matrixed' - but with 400,000+ staff its difficult not to have some of that..........pay/benefits are good but not industry leading - real motivation to join comes from the career opportunity presented, the chance for personal and professional growth once in IBM and the thrill of working for an industry leading brand which is taking Watson to the world.

    Advice to Management

    Be a little more willing to take risks and empower your good people - don't get bogged down in process

    IBM2017-04-25
  9. "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Armonk, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work / life flexibility, career paths/opportunities/progression, diversity and inclusion, IBM values, company that continues to transform and make a real difference and impact in the world.

    Cons

    Constant focus on budgets and financials, long hours

    IBM2017-04-19
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Leaders are not role models"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Professional in Armonk, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great values and great vision. The strategy designed for IBM's business growth and culture change is right on point with the needs of the new and changing environment. The management tend not to evaluate you based on hours, but impact and results - and they are advised to also evaluate how you achieve these results (you must live the values).

    Cons

    Our leaders do not do what they preach! IBM lives a constant dichotomy between what we know we need to do and what we're used to do and know the results that come from it. It's natural for any company going through such a big change, but most of the leaders are the ones not acting as the IBMers of the future and still pressuring their team to do the same so they can stay in their comfort zone - this is making a lot of good talent leave IBM.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There's a lot of talk about people refreshment, but are we targeting all the population needed? I feel that we're not being hard enough on our leaders when it comes to behavior - we talk about it, but at the end, we're really just measuring them based on numbers. If they don't change, we won't move forward

    IBM2017-03-28
Found 196 reviews