IBM Information Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Information Specialist Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Challanged and Intense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Technology Specialist in Portsmouth, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Consulting for IBM was great if you have a project. I worked with some of the smartest people in the field. The problems facing any firm are unique but some were truly challenging and I enjoyed that. IBM is successful due to there are solid business relationships built 99% of the time. You are always working with a goal in view. The work place is never idle and the stress is high so as a workaholic its a great environment...

    Show More

    Cons

    As in any consulting firm after completion of your project you must find of create other projects to stay off the bench. It is always expected to work long hours so work family balance is almost nonexistent. You are responsible for all of your own administrative issues rather then having a Human Resources department. Layoffs are common. I was laid off due to company realignment, and that's just the way the cookie crumbles.

    Advice to Management

    As an former employee of IBM I can say the approach to business consultation is spot on. Some managers need to conduct more research on their employees projects. Deadlines for administrative paperwork are sometimes impossible to meet due to project challenges.

    IBM2015-09-02
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Bizarre Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Technology Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of pressure on self-improvement.

    Cons

    You can go from a top-tier manager to a complete idiot in .04 seconds flat.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better managers.

    IBM2017-05-05
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Not what it used to be..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Information Security Specialist in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pros... Work/life balance, flexible work schedule, generally good management direction, little to no micromanagement, ability to work independently, professional atmosphere.

    Cons

    Cons... Overall salary / compensation package is generally below average when compared to other companies. Internal movement is limited. Career advancement is limited. Continuing education and job training is subpar.

    Advice to Management

    Good place to start out, but don't expect to retire here. Put in a few years and move on out to the real world. The company has changed for the worse over the past 10 years.

    IBM2015-05-30
  4. "Information Technology, Desktop Support Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Technology, Desktop Support Specialist in Southbury, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    IBM. If you have to start somewhere ...

    Cons

    Your job WILL be taken away from you someday.

    Advice to Management

    No matter what's said, it's better to talk to the wall.

    IBM2015-05-17
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Interesting people and work, but employees are not valued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Information Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    IBM has lots of resources to devote to any problem, and there are still a lot of really talented folks working here. Flexible work options are great, if you don't let it take over your life.

    Cons

    Corporate culture is pretty bad - employees and long term planning definitely take a back seat to quarterly earnings and the immediate term. Work-life balance can be hard to maintain.

    IBM2014-05-20
  6. "One of the best compaines to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM

    Pros

    The work is always different, and the oppuritunity to work across multiple disciplines. The availablity of information, from marketing talking points to low-level technical details is excellent. An extraordinary amount of freedom to solve customer problems

    Cons

    Travel is required at times, in the present air travel 'experience' this is a bit of a hassle.

    Advice to Management

    I work too darn low in the food chain to be able to even think of any advice to give to Senior Management. As long as they do not interfere with my ability to do the work I am a happy camper.

    IBM2008-06-11
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Security Specialist in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good working life balance and Wfh facility

    Cons

    Good in terms of employee policies and benefits

    Advice to Management

    No such

    IBM2018-09-17
  8. "IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Security Specialist in Brno

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to gain experience, nice people, home offices

    Cons

    low salaries, not organized environment

    IBM2018-06-17
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Security Specialist in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of learning in IBM

    Cons

    Lots of politics. Appraisal very less.

    Advice to Management

    Do less Politics.

    IBM2018-04-11
  10. "Good place to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Security Specialist in Bangalore

    I have been working at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, Friendly, Reach all over the world

    Cons

    Mid management bias, Nothing much to learn

    IBM2018-03-06
Found 13 reviews