IBM Reviews in Irving, TX | Glassdoor

IBM Irving Reviews

Updated May 21, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
3 Ratings
  1. "TSM Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Consultant in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great learning opportunities / chances for advancement. Great work environment. Team leads were always helpful and willing to work with you.

    Cons

    Chances for remote work sometimes limited. Monthly metrics can sometimes be a problem if managed by contracting supervisor who doesn't fully understand the process.

    IBM2016-03-14
  2. "Software Application Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Developer in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Good work flexibility. 2. Good work culture. 3. Good infrastructure. 4. Good personal-professional balance. 5. Flexibility to express yourself.

    Cons

    1. Resistance to move to new technology. 2. More process , less work. 3. Poor motivation to continue. 4. Work management in the team degrading.

    IBM2018-05-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "IT Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Engineer in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Challenging job. Intelligent people. Flexible hours.

    Cons

    Always have the threat of a random layoff.

    Advice to Management

    none

    IBM2017-05-05
  4. "Management Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, intellectually stimulating environment, good for career

    Cons

    80% Travel, stress, exhaustion, no fun, business like, no engagement from management

    IBM2016-07-20
  5. "Sales Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Security of a large company with benefits. Continuous growth via acquisition. Opportunity to build new muscle across divisions. Strong partner eco system. Former employees rehired at higher salaries. Good culture with reasonable work life balance. Good training programs.

    Cons

    Salaries are lower than industry standard. Multiple layers of management. Advancement political not different from most large companies.

    IBM2016-06-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Many training opportunities. Allowed to work from home a few days each week.

    Cons

    Low salary and frequent lay offs.

    IBM2016-03-05
  7. "above avg rate for deskside support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Desktop Support in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM

    Pros

    This is for what we call Supplementals 12month contract with 6 month extension....read the CON first Now, once you've proven yourself that you can keep scheds, have good feedback from the "lead" on whatever project and also have a few jobs involving subbing for a Deskside person going to vaca, they will ask you if you want a steady 40hr position and be a perm deskside. that's what im doing now, ive completed the...

    Show More

    Cons

    i thought i was going to start doing deskside support right away but nope, you start off doing ad-hoc stuff. installing POS for clients, doing servers, networks (add/move/change). many late nights and early mornings. hours were sort of up and down, one week id be doing 45-50hrs, another 4-8 initially. my very first job was offsite to work with a group of ppl ive never met and install POS. lol i had no exp with POS, but...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You guys aren't bad, i like my manager, everything's gravy, im in my young 20s earning double, triple on what my friends make.

    IBM2011-10-13
  8. "Big Blue hasn't changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits, environment very professional, opportunity for continuing education are abundant, customer is of utmost importance as is the image and reputation of IBM

    Cons

    Egos are plentiful as Type A personalities are abundant. The use of the work I is more common than WE.

    Advice to Management

    Ask yourself why your best Cognos people are gone?

    IBM2010-02-02
Found 8 reviews