IBM Lead Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Lead Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 438 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
199 Ratings
  1. "IBM a company with a lot of history, that can be good to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Frontend Developer in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Infinite opportunities. Pays well. Work life balance

    Cons

    Multiple older employees coasting for retirement.

    Advice to Management

    Pushing for continual education and performance goals for older people in the company could help.

    IBM2019-08-09
  2. "End to End AR Process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AR Lead 

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Learning and Great culture

    Cons

    Career Growth is minimal and Compensation revision

    IBM2019-08-02
  3. "OK place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Lead in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible timings , good benefits

    Cons

    not good promotions not proper growth

    IBM2019-07-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Expect to be let go between 50 and 60 yrs old."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resolution Team Lead in Littleton, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The managers I worked for were excellent. Had a voice in proposed changes and improvements. Built a personal brand over a 21 year career.

    Cons

    Agist. Started recieving emails at age 55 asking " Have you considered IBM early retirement Plan" : never responded becaus I had no interest. Three months before my 60th birthday got an email "Why haven't you chosen the IBM early retirement plan?" There was a link were you could explain. I clicked the link and explained that due to a divorce I could not financially afford to retire and I love my job and have no interest...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    NEW COLLAR apparently only applis below the director level. When you cast aside your most experienced and effective people; don't be suprised if you end up in front of Senate hearings because your next gen our millennial staff don't think that privacy or data protection is not all that important.

    IBM2019-07-23
  5. "IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really nice technical work. Very good people.

    Cons

    People leaving, no replacements. Layoff last June.

    IBM2019-07-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Cares about customers over employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stress, illness from stress, heavy workloads while being understaffed

    Cons

    HUGE into trying to maintain a pro-LGBT image, while turning blind eyes to LGBT discrimination. Puts customers WELL before people, actually encourages and teaches customers how to exploit and abuse policies.

    Advice to Management

    CARE ABOUT YOUR EMPLOYEES

    IBM2019-07-24
  7. "Process Lead with automation strategy and Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lead 

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice company with good values and technologies

    Cons

    Not everyone is good - Unfortunately Business has getting changed with the people by forgetting the manager-reportee relationship

    IBM2019-04-26
  8. "Education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Education Flexibility Benefits

    Cons

    Not enough time to get through education and perform job duties required. Not enough communication for lead management.

    Advice to Management

    Allow the same education to all staff.

    IBM2019-05-07
  9. "About being a IBMer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - ETL Tech Lead 

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work culture is pretty nice Pay is competitive

    Cons

    Growth can get stagnant if yo are not up to keep up

    IBM2019-04-21
  10. "Excellent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Developer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    motivated people, work life balance, good salary

    Cons

    micro management in some of the project, other than that, cool.

    IBM2019-03-26
Found 438 reviews