IBM Reviews in Louisiana | Glassdoor

IBM Louisiana Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 81 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
19%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
29 Ratings
  1. "A truly large company that can be easy to get lost in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Applications Development Intern in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Resources, Opportunities, Coworkers, Stability, Travel

    Cons

    Corporation, Work-Life Balance, Small fish

    IBM2017-08-01
  2. "Solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mobile Developer in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Educational opportunities, great people, cutting edge technology, good community involvement. Regular reviews, continuous improvement, focus on the client, good advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Salaries are a bit soft, hours can be long depending on the projects

    IBM2017-06-22
  3. "App Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer in Baton Rouge, LA

    I have been working at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to learn a lot of skills

    Cons

    Long wait for your start date

    Advice to Management

    Give start date with offer letter

    IBM2017-06-07

    IBM Response

    June 8, 2017Program Consultant - IBMer Engagement

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We are committed to helping our employees develop and grow their professional skills. We recently launched Your Learning, IBM’s personalized learning experience.

  4. "SAP Fi-CO Functional Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SAP Fi-CO Functional Analyst in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Its a great company to work where fellow workers and seniors utilizes technique of collaboration to solve complex business solutions and successfully implement in projects.

    Cons

    The cons are that balancing the project with different expertise level can be challenging sometimes, other than that management do a wonderful job at placement and finding projects.

    Advice to Management

    Balancing the project with different expertise level can be challenging sometimes, other than that management do a wonderful job at placement and finding projects

    IBM2017-05-31
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Application Programmer Development Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of resources on training and learning new technologies. They send you to work with the end user which helps in developing communication and understand the problem solution. Good for gaining good experience.

    Cons

    Rigid policies and want you to co locate to the work location. No provision of getting transfers to other location based on personal commitments. Pay less than industry standards. Minimal hike in salary even if you work very hard.

    Advice to Management

    Be more flexible and listen to the employees.

    IBM2017-05-15
  6. Helpful (7)

    "IBM Baton Rouge Sucks !!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Name recognition. Learning. Some training.

    Cons

    Low salary, managers, long hours. You are treated like a billable number. Clients are #1, employees are #2. Finding projects are difficult. If you don't get on projects, you can get fired. New grads (CBDers) get paid way more, do less work, and are more privileged. Young co-workers act like babies and report everything to HR.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging and treating people like kids.

    IBM2017-02-18
  7. "Not much for a big company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer in Monroe, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very less work if that is what you like, not strict in my experience at all

    Cons

    No real work to progress in work. Very little training to make sure employee is proficient.

    Advice to Management

    Get some work, seriously

    IBM2017-01-24
  8. ".NET Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    .NET Developer in Monroe, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    IBM offers a lot of training to help you ready for your position. If you are having a hard time, there is always someone that you can reach out to for help.

    Cons

    The progression process is only available once a year, and the base salaries are low which makes it frustrating to gain a better salary.

    IBM2017-01-06
  9. "SAP specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SAP Specialist in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and work with clients around the world. It's good experience and if you don't mind traveling all the time then it is perfect for you

    Cons

    My opinion only: Lots of travel and not a big work life balance if you are looking for it. Was told that I wouldn't travel at all but ended up being 100 %.

    Advice to Management

    Stay true to contract and percent of travel

    IBM2016-10-24
  10. Helpful (6)

    "IBM is great. Baton Rouge IBM is awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Core IBM is a great company. As a whole, IBMers are probably the nicest group of people I have ever worked with. Everyone in Core IBM has a lot of integrity and excellent work ethic. Health care benefits are very good. Baton Rouge IBM is a great place to start, if you're fresh out of college. Major resume boost, and you really do learn a lot on projects.

    Cons

    The Baton Rouge CIC is quite possibly the worst part of IBM. Most managers are unable or unwillingly to do their jobs. The pay is shockingly low, and "promotions" are insultingly small. I received a "promotion" and it was only a $3000/yr increase... I spend a lot of weekends working, and I usually don't get home until 9pm. I calculated my hourly rate: it's $14/hr. Before taxes. Baton Rouge CIC is a great place... to start but not a place to stay. Get in, get your experience, get out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Practice managers could really benefit from some training. Employee Retention Plan (if you have one) needs an upgrade.

    IBM2016-10-03
Found 81 reviews